We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pelham House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were fortunate enough to be able to spend a week in Lunenburg, and even more fortunate to have landed on the doorstep of Fay Paul and her wonderful B&B. We had the ground-floor room, which is a very large room at the back of the house with a private deck (which we had requested). A comfortable sitting area in the bedroom, and the bed was huge (king? queen?) and immensely comfortable. The bathroom was also very large and bright. As we were there for a week, and we're very "low maintenance", we decided that we would look after ourselves, so we tidied, made the bed, etc. ourselves. The offer of laundry was there, but we didn't take advantage of it. The breakfasts each morning were excellent and varied. One day fluffy pancakes, another day bacon and eggs, etc. and always with an enormous fresh fruit salad. Endless tea and coffee were there for the taking, and there's a little fridge in the dining room where guests can keep their own supplies if they wish (in our case, beer). You really must like housepets, as we were joined most mornings by Ben (one of the cats) while we had coffee in our room, and Drum, the most gorgeous, friendly old retriever, who sat by our table at breakfast. The house itself is beautiful, and very comfortably furnished. Great location for everything Lunenburg has to offer. Fay herself is a delight and a fount of knowledge about Lunenburg and the area. She loaned us a great map, gave us some tickets for a ferry (cheaper for locals) and always pointed us in the right direction. We look forward to going back sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, request the ground floor room. It also have a private terrace abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

My decision to stay at Pelham House came at the end of a lot of research. I had read about the 'in town' noise at night and all of the tourists from all of the inns located there and the lacking of parking (or parking at meters). However, I discovered that the lovely Pelham House was just outside of the hustle and bustle at the end of the very small town (5 minute walk), and we were able to park right outside the door! I was glad for my choice, especially after seeing all of the tourists in town! Fay and her team of hosts (the cats and dog) made us feel at home in our ample accommodations. For a reasonable price, we were able to take the 2-room unit, which comfortably fit the 4 of us and Fay's cat Ben (who came to visit us in the morning and pop on the bed with us, just like my cats do!). Even though the House does not boast a water view like ALL of the other inns claim to have, we could actually see the harbor from our bathroom window. Breakfast was tasty and enjoyable, and Fay allowed us to stayed parked outside and even used the bathroom again even though we had checked out hours earlier. This was a terrific choice at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose the 2-room unit for even more space. The bathroom is a good size too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulalois99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The owner, Fay, provided stellar service for our stay. We stayed in the "Blue Room". Her breakfasts were scrumptious and very filling. We made good use of the living room area with friends (who were not as lucky as us and stayed elsewhere) and were made to feel like it was home. The location is perfect. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The house is beautifully decorated, has a warm and comfortable energy about it and we're so pleased to have had the chance to stay at Pelham House. We're stay there again in a heartbeat anytime we're in Lunenburg. Just a short drive from Halifax and well worth it! : )

Room Tip: The Blue Room with the king sized bed is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamArcherGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Pelham House is beautiful and we felt so welcome by our hostess. Our room was beautiful and breakfast was fantastic!! The greeters Drum, Bill, and Ben were a HUGE added bonus!! I would highly recommend staying at the Pelham House when in Lunenburg.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaNativeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pelham House B&B for two nights. Our host Fay is a wonderful host. The B&B is lovely, very homy, decorated in an English style, very nicely. I loved the architecture of this home and the decor, especially the beautiful lace curtains in the windows, and the cozyness of the room and the lounge and dining room. In addition to delighting us with her collection of tea pots, interesting books left on coffee tables, Fay offered healthy fruity breakfasts and she charmed us with her outgoing personality, and her willingness to share with us details about Lunemburg, and places to visit. Thanks Fay, you made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

One night stay but wished we could have stayed longer! Within walking distance of Blue Nose II reconstruction site (tour available), shops and restaurants. Our room was very spacious, well decorated and spotless. Breakfast was fantastic and the company was every bit the same. Fay was a terrific hostess and her animal friends were a treat.
Rob & Bev Schiefele
Flin Flon, Manitoba

Room Tip: Traffic not an issue so I would sugggest upstairs front left corner room. Only drawback is no en su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Pelham House is a wonderful place to stay while vacationing in Lunenburg. My husband and I recently spent 7 days in this spotless charming house decorated with flair. Our hostess Fay was very pleasant, she made us feel at home and every morning she prepared scrumptious breakfasts that included a variety of fresh fruits. This house is ideally located within walking distance to excellent restaurants and shops/galleries. And lets not forget the amazing animals Drum, Ben, Bill and Queeny: they made our stay extra special. F. and D.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Souazic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
264 reviews
0 mi away
Water Sprite Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kaulbach House
Kaulbach House
#8 of 26 in Lunenburg
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 224 Pelham St., Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £56 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham House Bed & Breakfast is a comfortable home away from home for travellers who want to explore the beautiful South Shore of Nova Scotia. There are four generous rooms including two queen rooms, a family suite that can take four people, and for people who have difficulty with stairs, there is a ground floor room. All rooms have en suite bathrooms. Breakfast is made using fresh, locally sourced produce and fairly traded coffee. Enjoy along with free WiFi and parking, close proximity to "downtown" Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelham House Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing