We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pelham House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed only one night.. but wished we stayed longer. Town and area are wonderful and the B&B is very conveniently located to all the restaurants and shops. Room was very spacious and nicely decorated. We didnt get to have breakfast as we left early but we had such a good rest after a long day driving. The pets were such a lovely addition and we really enjoyed their company. The lady inn keeper was super nice and made some great dinner recommendations! Will try our best to come back for a return stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megafunnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamhouse, Owner at Pelham House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for the review. Don't you just love early mornings?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Fay treated my mom and I with such an open and welcoming nature, it was a relief after a day of traveling and driving to wind down the roads to Lunenburg to enjoy this lovely home and be greeted by such friendly pets. Our sleep was fantastic, followed by a wonderful breakfast!

Thank you for having us Fay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennefarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamhouse, Owner at Pelham House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thanks Jenny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay! My husband and I, and our 5 year-old daughter and 11-month old baby stayed in room #1. There was lots of room for all of us in this L-shaped room and the bathroom was large too, and had a tub and a shower. The fridge, freezer and water cooler in the dining room were very useful to us, as was the use of the microwave in the main kitchen. Fay was a very great hostess and my daughters loved the pets! Great location, too, and very clean! Also enjoyed th Lunenburg history books in the living room that were there for guests to read. Thank you, Fay!

Room Tip: L-shaped room #1 perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamhouse, Owner at Pelham House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thanks Beth. I really enjoyed having your lovely family stay with me. By the way, you left a beach towel behind which I will mail home for you. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Fay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We looked forward to our stay at Pelham House based largely on the reviews we read here on Trip Advisor. While the breakfast was good and the pets were lovely, our overall stay was definitely not a positive experience. We had a sleepless night with the chiming of the clock a short distance from our bedroom door (we are sound sleepers). We thought we would mention it to Faye when we were ready to leave, so that she might want to consider the location of it for future guests. However, we never got the chance to tell her. While eating breakfast, Faye joined us. We were delighted to tell her about our travels so far. Things then took a turn for the worse. Faye asked us what we did for a living. Her demeanor changed when my husband spoke of his proud 32 year career. The rudeness & disrespect shown to us at that point was completely unacceptable. Not the behaviour one expects from a hospitality host. We work hard all year and look forward to a relaxing holiday. What we received instead at Pelham House was terrible stress and a very angry rant & condemnation for a chosen career path.

Room Tip: Guests might want to consider taking a room upstairs away from the downstairs chiming clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamhouse, Owner at Pelham House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Oh dear. I am so sorry that whatever I was ranting about was taken personally. That would never be my intention and I certainly would not wish to diminish anybody's achievement of a longstanding career.

I have also noted the comment about the clock. It is easily stopped if requested.

Abject apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here for a week while our daughter was finishing off her work, having arrived in on the Tall Ship Sorlandet. We chose it because of its proximity to the docks, but soon made this wonderful place our home away from home. The breakfasts were great, as was the company of Fay and her lovely pets. Not be ignored was the ability to leave the car here safely while we explored the town, and went out for dinner close by. Definitely to be recommended to anyone looking for a friendly B&B experience. The rooms were all large and we were able to have our daughter stay with us for a few days in the 2 room unit.

Room Tip: Room #4 has a small deck and Room # 1 has 2 rooms for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamhouse, Owner at Pelham House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thanks. Glad to see that you are home again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spent the weekend at the Pelham House and enjoyed Faye's friendly nature, excellent breakfasts and the ubiquitous Ben (cat) who was most friendly along with brother Billy and dog Drum. Although the weather was dreary and most of the Town was still not open for the season we were able to see a folk concert at the theatre, and a live band at the local tavern.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgrant912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamhouse, Owner at Pelham House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Pelham House Bed & Breakfast for a (sadly) brief visit in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia for a business meeting in early November. Faye and her friendly pets, Drum, Ben, and Bill greeted us warmly at the door and it was 'friends at first sight' for all of us. The home is a lovely Victorian with all the beauty of this period including the architecture and antique furnishings. It was wonderful to have coffee ready to go early the next morning as we had to leave and miss what we are sure would have been a fabulous breakfast due to our business meeting. Thank you Faye and 'family' for everything!

Room Tip: We stayed in the large downstairs bedroom with a comfortable king sized bed and ensuite bath; the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nova1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#14 of 26 in Lunenburg
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0 mi away
Water Sprite Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Kaulbach House
Kaulbach House
#8 of 26 in Lunenburg
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 224 Pelham St., Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £58 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham House Bed & Breakfast is a comfortable home away from home for travellers who want to explore the beautiful South Shore of Nova Scotia. There are four generous rooms including two queen rooms, a family suite that can take four people, and for people who have difficulty with stairs, there is a ground floor room. All rooms have en suite bathrooms. Breakfast is made using fresh, locally sourced produce and fairly traded coffee. Enjoy along with free WiFi and parking, close proximity to "downtown" Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelham House Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing