We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavour That Explodes in your Mouth”

Ironworks Distillery
Ranked #4 of 38 things to do in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ironworks Distillery opened its doors to the public in June 2010. Situated in the old town of Lunenburg and residing in the building that used to be the old marine blacksmith shop, we create small batches of artisan spirits using produce from the Maritimes. We make vodka and brandy using Annapolis Valley apples, Pear Eau-de-vie, Rum, Gin and several delicious fruit liqueurs. Tastings are free. Tours are available.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Do you ever have tasting experiences that bring out memories of your life long ago? That is what will happen if you taste the cranberry liqueur that is produced at Ironworks from locally-grown Terra Beatta cranberries. And as part of their licence, Ironworks is allowed to give you a taste of their wares before you buy. This particular one is also great when added to sparkling wine as a 'kir royale'. They also have several other liqueurs and eau de vie as well as vodka made from apples and the required Lunenburg rum. For a special gift, you can buy a wooden box containing a bottle of pear eau de vie that has a full-sized pear inside the bottle. The dedicated owners go to the Annapolis Valley orchards every spring and mount bottles over the budding pears. Tied carefully to the tree to avoid wind damage, the bottles act as a greenhouse for the developing pears. The bottles are then harvested in the fall to begin their lives as a conversation piece.
Another benefit of visiting this in-town distillery (only a five-minute walk from the harbour front) is finding out its history as an iron works that supplied equipment to the hundreds of fishing vessels that sailed out of Lunenburg in the early part of the 20th century. The forge is still there and the wooden floor is the original, with all the burn marks from years of work. The wood-fired copper still, which operates in full view of the sales floor, is itself a work of art, imported from Europe.

Thank Compuvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I stopped in while we were visiting Lunenburg. Ironworks distillery is in a 120 year old building, it is gorgeous! We loved the way that the floors and most of the interior looked old as well. We enjoyed the tastings. The woman that served us and explained how they make the rums and liqueurs was great and so friendly. We ended up buying the Raspberry liqueur, Blueberry liqueur and a big bottle of the Bluenose Rum. Their products are made from local herbs and fruits which is fantastic. They have a washroom on the premises as well which is convenient.

What we also loved is that we had our dog with us and they allowed him to come in! So friendly. We will definitely tell all our friends and family who travel out East to go to Ironworks Distillery.

Thank Chrissyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronworksDistillery, Owner at Ironworks Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thanks so much for your kind comments and we're tickled that you enjoyed your experience here. We have always loved the look of our old shop and when we renovated tried very hard to maintain its heritage appearance. It's so wonderful when others notice it too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Visiting from Quebec. Loved the tour and the samples. Our suitcases are 8 bottles heavier.. Genvieve was great.

Thank Bdelightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

The distillery is in a beautifully restored forge, right on the Main Street. The liqueurs are well above the ordinary, made from local fruits and herbs. Lunenburg can be painted up for the summer visitors, with colored houses and gifts shops all over the place. But Ironworks is a real, thriving 21st century business and deserves a visit. I didn't try the vodka - but the Pear Eau de Vie was delicious.

Thank MrsRehoboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronworksDistillery, Owner at Ironworks Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

We're immensely flattered that you so enjoyed visiting our establishment. Especially since you loved the building as much as we do! It has been a pleasure bringing a new craft into a building with such a noble history and in doing so to bring new visitors and life to the working side of the old town. You'll have to return to try the vodka I guess! (Though I do admit the Pear Eau de Vie is my personal favourite!). Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a lovely tour of the distillery. My first adventure into distillery tours, won't be my last! The lady was great to describe the process and answer questions. Tasted lots of the products, the Bluenose Rum and Raspberry Liqueur were my favs!! Will be included in my Nova Scotia tasting night we host!

Thank Luvsyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronworksDistillery, Owner at Ironworks Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your tour of our micro-distillery. This is the first year we have offered a formal peek behind the scenes of our operation and with every set of guests we learn new things and improve our performance. Thanks for the positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironworks Distillery also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Ironworks Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing