We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but lacking character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Pleasant but lacking character”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is centrally located with adequate parking, restaurant and spa. It has lovely amenities but somehow manages to feel more like a run-of-the-mill motel. The town has such wonderful character and history and so it was disappointing not to see this reflected in such a prominent Hotel. I do wish that town planners look beyond revenue when approving development.

We stayed in the nicest room offered but discovered the view was meager. The view was blocked by buildings between the Hotel and the waterfront. All of these buildings felt a little creepy given that they have good access to seeing into the Hotel rooms - despite the fact that all the windows are covered and the buildings appear to be abandoned.

We stayed in the largest room available but felt that the room was cramped. It felt like they designed this hotel on the basis of squeezing another room or two into the layout and imposing another structure on the already crowded waterfront.

I understand that this is not a hotel offering valet service or help with our luggage. I was surprised, however, to not find any kitchen staff when I went for their boring buffet breakfast. It was a depressing space that I decided to avoid and decided to take some food back to the room.

The spa is nice, so nice that even locals use it - unlike the rest of the facility.

Room Tip: A travel tip - if you are a light sleeper and if it is a foggy night then stay away from this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelhoundIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    96
    37
    10
    3
See reviews for
34
187
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife & I arrived on a Sunday for a two night stay & was disappointed to be given a small room with a small bed overlooking Pelham Street. The restaurant was closed during our stay. Parking was across Pelham Street so at least we could keep an eye on our auto!! The hotel was not busy & thought we might have been offered an upgrade. As a matter of interest our next stop was a small motel near Sheet Harbour overlooking the ocean and at half the price & much more comfortable.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room facing the harbour
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were visiting for a surprise birthday party. The rooms were already arranged for us. Very centrally located to walk the town. They were full or we would have traded up to a room that was bigger. Included in the room was a nice continental breakfast. I would stay here again but upgrade to a bigger room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had the pleasure with another couple of staying at this facility for a weekend getaway, in the historic Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, the facility was just excellent, rooms well appointed, comfortable, and clean, great view if facing the Harbour. Never got to try the restaurant, but I am sure it is every bit as good as the rest of the facility. The staff were just so friendly and ready to assist you with everything, parking is great, only drawback was the televisions, quite dated, but who was there to watch television. Location great to,tour downtown area of town.
Will definitely be back for another weekend stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Harbour view,king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonctonMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel doesn't have great curb appeal; however, it's very nicely updated and maintained on the inside. We recently stayed here in a deluxe harbour-view room. It was a good size, with king size bed, fridge, and one comfortable chair. Wifi was very good. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included in the room price, however the continental offerings were quite limited. A greater variety such as sweet rolls, croissants, fruit salad would enhance it.

There is an attached dining room (Risser's Social House) which had excellent service and food.

Free parking is in a lot across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is well located and rooms are clean with comfortable beds. The staff seemed absent and there was always a sign at the front desk stating that reception was away. Disappointing that as a resident we could not get an appointment at the Spa; you need to book ahead before arriving.Breakfast was very average.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, cooperative staff, our room for 2 nights was large, clean, and the view was great. I would request a room with a harbor view just in case it is available. Great town. Very nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayL5534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunenburg Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Arms Hotel

Property: Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Address: 94 Pelham Street | Box 1378, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lunenburg Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lunenburg Arms provides an experience rich in history and culture. It’s the perfect get away, retreat or corporate meeting place, located in the heart of Lunenburg, a Unesco World Heritage Site. Twenty-four graciously appointed guestrooms many of which overlook Lunenburg Harbour and the famous schooner Bluenose II (when in port) are available to our guests. Enjoy our plush allergy-friendly duvets, soft guest robes, complimentary wireless Internet, expanded cable television, room-controlled air-conditioning and beautiful Aveda soaps and shampoos. And hardwood floors allow us to be pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lunenburg Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunenburg Arms Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing