We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding View”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I spent a night in Lunenburg while touring the southern shore of Nova Scotia. A wonderful town with a lot of quaintness. We enjoyed our stay at Lunenburg Arms and our room (404) offered a gem of a view of the harbour front. Although our room was a little small, we enjoyed the stay and would book this Inn and room again. The breakfast offered was adequate and I was offered gluten free bread when I asked for an alternative to wheat. The staff were friendly and helpful. They offer parking across the street from the Inn, although small, was very convenient for downtown Lunenburg.

This Inn is within walking distance of the harbour front, restaurants and local attractions. A very pleasant stay and we hope to return this fall.

Room Tip: Top floor with view of harbour a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJP695rue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    100
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
191
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
291 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

With a location facing the harbour and the Bluenose 2, location cannot be beat. And overall, pleasant enough - but to advertise itself as a 4.5 star property is misleading advertising.

We paid more for a harbour view (you need to be on the fourth floor to get one) and although the view was excellent, the room was tiny with basic furnishings and finishes, as was the bathroom. No shelves for storing toiletries was an annoying deficiency. Cleanliness could not be faulted, although walls everywhere need a fresh coat of paint.

A continental breakfast is included - not worth it - a sad, basic offering of commercial cereals, toast and a few hard boiled eggs. No fruit, and not even the offering of a few cheeses or even some cold meats and/or smoked salmon as you would expect on the coast. This was a "Comfort Inn" level breakfast. And the few staff there were obviously there to clean and bus the tables - not a friendly group of people who ignored customers to the extent that they did not even acknowledge or respond to several "good morning" greetings. Hardly Maritime hospitality!

Overall, a 3 star experience. I will look for a different place next visit.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the harbour, opt for the top (4th) floor. Other rooms look into buildings betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lunenberg is a wonderful touristy stop for most folks visiting Nova Scotia and the Lunenberg Arms is right in the middle of town with its own parking lot across the street. But it really isn't all its is cracked up to be in the guidebooks. Our room (#303) was the size of a postage stamp with the smallest bed we've seen in a hotel in many years. The breakfast was was,at best, very basic. The heralded spa to which hotel guests supposedly have partially free access? Closed most times when tourists might want to use it. On the plus side are the friendly staff and the overall cleanliness.

Room Tip: Rooms vary considerably. Be very clear about what you are getting when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemere, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is very clean as the breakfast lounge.
The rooms permitting the view to bay front are the best but as you can imagine, you will pay more . Room #303, where we stayed (2 persons) is on my advice, not recommended for the price asked. This room does not reflect the standing of this hotel. To have more details, see my comments on Tip to help next travelers.(ref. to bad mattress and cramped)

Room Tip: Avoid if possible the room #303. Double bed has a bad mattress.This mattress is absolutely due for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights here and were blown away by the hotel and the staff. Room was beautiful (nice mix between modern decor and more traditional). Had all of the little touches such as robes, soaps, wi-fi, tv, fridge, etc that you always hope for in a hotel without feeling as if you're paying for it. Location was incredible and they even have their own free parking lot across the street which made things convenient. Staff was really friendly and helpful as well. Will definitely stay here next time we're in town. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Get a room with views of the harbor for about $20 more-definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I absolutely loved the room, and the view, we were on the 4th floor with a perfect view of the harbor, and a huge bathtub. Our suit included a bedroom on the upper level... huge room! We also enjoyed the continental Breakfast, and the room it was hosted in was lovely.

The only thing that could have been better was there had been water damage around the windows and the ceiling in this room, which I think should have been fixed and painted to keep with the caliber of the hotel. And parking with a large vehicle was also tricky as the parking lot is quite tight, and at max capacity.

Room Tip: Upper room with a water view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtbikegirltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

During our tour of Nova Scotia, we spent a very enjoyable night here in July. The hotel is perfectly situated, close to many restaurants and shops, and the beautiful harbour. We occupied a smallish room with hardwood floors that had a perfect harbour view. The staff were polite and helpful.
This hotel is a sister hotel to the Dundee Arms in Charlottetown. I would hardily recommend it.

Room Tip: Harbour view room recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnoldoftoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#5 of 25 in Lunenburg
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunenburg Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Arms Hotel

Property: Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Address: 94 Pelham Street | Box 1378, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lunenburg Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lunenburg Arms provides an experience rich in history and culture. It’s the perfect get away, retreat or corporate meeting place, located in the heart of Lunenburg, a Unesco World Heritage Site. Twenty-four graciously appointed guestrooms many of which overlook Lunenburg Harbour and the famous schooner Bluenose II (when in port) are available to our guests. Enjoy our plush allergy-friendly duvets, soft guest robes, complimentary wireless Internet, expanded cable television, room-controlled air-conditioning and beautiful Aveda soaps and shampoos. And hardwood floors allow us to be pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lunenburg Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunenburg Arms Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing