We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed one night at this lovely B and B in August. The room was beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic. We enjoyed sitting around chatting with other travelers. Everything was lovely until the hostess said something derogatory about the US and knowing we are Americans! That made me a tad uncomfortable. Other than that the stay was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punkinlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

We were winding down from our 12 day vacation in Nova Scotia and Lunenburg was our last stop. Having visited Lunenburg before, we just relaxed, read and enjoyed Suzie and Barry's backyard and porch for some of the time. Our room was cozy, comfortable and quiet with plenty of space and a nice sized bathroom. Breakfast were delicious and Suzie and Barry are great hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Great location in town.....Suzie & Barry were great hosts. Breakfast was good....

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We just happened upon this cozy b&b in the beautiful town of Lunenburg. We needed all 3 rooms on their first floor - each one was charming, with its own bathroom. The hosts were gracious and well versed in the area. Sitting on the porch, overlooking the water scene would have been lovely, had we more time to linger there. A full breakfast the next morning was a treat, especially after several days of "continental breakfasts" in various hotels. All five of us who stayed there would not hesitate to return when in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My mother and I stayed for three days at this wonderful B&B. We were in Lunenburg for the 90th birthday party of my mother’s friend, and the MapleBird House came highly recommended by a local resident. Hosts Susie and Barry are gracious, accommodating and interesting (the rooms of the house are filled with books) – each morning we very much enjoyed our conversations with them and other guests around the breakfast table. We both found the breakfasts simply amazing! Every morning we were presented with a different & delicious principal dish accompanied by cereals, fruit, and either a fresh muffin, scone or croissant. The B&B, which is an 1826 heritage house, is ideally situated in Lunenburg for seeing the sites. My mother, who has reduced mobility, found MapleBird House comfortable and Lunenburg’s steep streets not too difficult to explore, and we had an excellent trip.(I had not brought my laptop, but found easy internet access across the street at Lunenburg Public Library.)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_travelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stumbled across this B&B and were certainly very impressed with the welcoming smile from Susie and the very comfortable accommodation. Susie and Barry were excellent hosts and the breakfast was nothing less than delicious. We would highly recommend 1826 Maplebird House as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoslynBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed at Susie and Barry's lovely, old, character house on the first leg of our trip around the Maritimes. The weather was hot and muggy when we arrived and it was a joy to jump into their swimming pool. Our room was a good size with a very comfy bed and the bathroom had a great shower with lots of water pressure and fluffy towels. Susie and Barry were excellent hosts and we enjoyed the conversations around the dining table with them and the other guests. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Maplebird House is very convenient to the harbour and the town. The Old Fish House is an excellent place to eat and we enjoyed a celdih, a hilarious show about Lunenburg, and the fishing musuem all in the same big building. I would highly recommend Susie and Barry's Maplebird House B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Limejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#14 of 26 in Lunenburg
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 36 Pelham Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia BOJ 2CO, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £55 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored heritage home (circa 1826), once used as a dairy farm, sits in a large garden with swimming pool, patio and verandah overlooking Lunenburg harbour and golf course. Within Lunenburg's Old Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. 4 queen rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Fireplace, high speed wireless internet access, TV/DVD/CD, books and games in guests' living room. Full breakfast. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing