We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lennox Inn 1791

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lennox Inn 1791
Ranked #21 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Very special”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Lennox Inn on June 9th, 2014. It was wonderful! If you want a Jacuzzi in your room and smelly soaps in the bathroom, stay somewhere else. There are lots of those. If you want to experience an accurately restored house from the late 1700's in Canada (probably only find it in Lunenburg or maybe somewhere in Quebec) then this is the place for you. There may be creaky floors and steep stairs, but that`s just the way it is (was). Each room is large, with pencil beds and the room`s own large fireplace. The furniture is period.

The only place I have seen like this was the Pilgrim`s Inn in Deer Isle Maine. The host, Robert Cram, will be pleased to educate you about the old ways that are so beautifully displayed in the house. We heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra001234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Lennox Tavern Inn in Lunenburg, N.S. is a restored old Tavern/Inn. Don't let the plain outside deter you, as it is just a big square building. But, the inside is charming - (not a typical B&B) - but great for travelers who want to experience something different. Some rooms have private bathrooms, others have shared ones. Nothing fancy, but one of my favorite places on our trip around N.S. Robert, the owner, has been restoring the building for 7-8 years now with historical accuracy. Very comfy beds and great breakfast. In the evening we were able to sit in "the tavern" and drink our wine. The Lennox Tavern Inn is worth the experience!

Room Tip: The only decision is to share or not to share a bathroom. The property is very small. Our room (wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieMoWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We loved the Lennox Inn. It really is like traveling back in time, with all the rooms painstakingly restored as they might have appeared in the 1790s, down to the paint colors and the cool cage bar in the old tavern room (now breakfast room). But this isn't a kitschy "theme" inn or something; everything is done with really good, really simple, New England-ish taste. (Obviously, some people don't "get" that, or don't like that kinda thing. Some people want Italian shampoos in the bathroom and Toblerones in a mini-bar. If that's what you're looking for, this isn't for you.) We had a weekend at the Lennox Inn with our two small kids (ages 2 and 5), and the owner was very kind and patient when they got a bit overexcited and noisy while eating their morning waffles. Many inns, especially places with antiques, don't allow children, and it was very friendly of the owner to take us in stride. The location is perfect, right in the heart of historic Luneburg.

Room Tip: Some rooms have en suite bath; one or two have a shared bath in hall. Make sure to ask which you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaRipCurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I spent a lovely night at this wonderfully restored period property. Reading the owner's story was really inspiring. He has put so much work and love into the resoration project. The B&B is walking distance from everything in Lunenburg. The breakfast was delicious too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyjane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The Lennox Inn is a verby special place and you have to realize that when choosing to go there. You might set aside having a private bath for the wonderful historical reality of the place. Go, but have breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aktion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

It was the first of October when Robert Crum answered the door to his B&B - the oldest continuously run inn in Canada (established 1791). Our Cornwallis Room was spacious with a four poster bed, ancient fireplace (one of four in the house) at the top of the stairs with a separate, but modern, bathroom next door.

Our hearty breakfast was served in what was the old tavern room - complete with candlelight. A step back in time - I felt like I was back in the 1800's.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I came to Lunenberg at the end of August without a reservation. We looked at a few waterfront properties, but we were disappointed by the lack of character in the rooms we saw. They were more motel type rooms than B&B's. Then we came to the Lennox Inn and immediately knew we had found the place we wanted to stay. It has a lot of character and its amazing how much work went into renovating the Inn to its roots. Something the guidebook doesn't mention is that the breakfast is amazing!! My husband and I are still thinking about the banana waffles a month later...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonataek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rooms @ theLinc
Rooms @ theLinc
#11 of 25 in Lunenburg
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sail Inn B&B
Sail Inn B&B
#12 of 25 in Lunenburg
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lennox Inn 1791? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lennox Inn 1791

Property: Lennox Inn 1791
Address: 69 Fox Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canada's oldest inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lennox Inn 1791 Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing