We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccomended”
Review of Lennox Inn 1791

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lennox Inn 1791
Ranked #22 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly reccomended”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This is probably the nicest B&B we stayed during our canadian trip. The historical building is unique, perfectly restored, genuine without frills. The overall experience was very good. The room (we had the double bed one) was large and confortable. Breakfast was good, fresh with very good homemade muffins and eggs. We did not try the porridge because we don't like it. At any rate, breakfast is secondary with such a nice setup, breakfast room (especially the floor) is something.
We were quite surprised by reading some of the posts regarding this place. We found plenty of soap (of different kinds) in the bathroom. Still, it is puzzling that one can base a review on the presence or absence of kleenex: this is a historical place offering a unique experience, you should not expect a standard hotel. It is highly recommended for the curious traveller.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kudepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We were really looking forward to the Lennox Inn, primarily based on the description of the restoration on the inn's website. It is great when somebody rescues a significant historic building, and this one is noteworthy. But that is pretty much where it stops. We aren't the kind of people who expect luxurious amenities or over-the-top service. However it would have been much nicer to deal with an owner who doesn't seem tired of the whole thing and more pleasant to have a breakfast that's not reminiscent of the worst in college dorm dining. Bottom line, an interesting place to look at but not a great place to stay. And do bring your own bath soap and shampoo. Might be best for the owner to hire an innkeeper and continue restoring buildings that deserve to be saved.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wotanleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2009

The reason I say this is because when you stay at The Lennox Tavern Inn you can be assured that, if you are interested in history at all, that the restoration of this Inn was done with historically authentic detail. I would not consider staying anywhere else while in Lunenburg.
Before you go make a point to go the the Inn's web site and do a bit of reading about the restoration. And when you go, make notice of the details that you may have otherwise missed.
We stayed only one night, but in hindsight, wish I would have stayed longer. I felt totally at home, and would go back with no hesitation. A great sleep, very quiet, and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynisTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We wish we had reviewed this place prior to booking. The only positive about this place is the historical aspect. The rooms were musty and there's no soap or shampoo for your shower. I see the breakfast has not changed since past reviews as we had cold scrambled eggs, solidified porridge, supposedly fresh baked muffins but they weren't any good. I must say although the cantaloupe was dried up from being in the fridge overnight, it was the best part of breakfast. Let's just say we couldn't wait to leave and after having lunch at the LeHave bakery, we considered bringing our own breakfast for the second morning. We should've in hindsight as breakfast the next day showed even more flaws. The butter I avoided the first day because it had a been previously used, returned to the table the second morning in the same condition. The brown sugar bowl we had emptied the first morning returned to the table in the same form with an unwashed spoon. If you're interested in the historical aspect of the tavern, I'd stay one night and get out of this place as soon as you can! Robert is antisocial, avoids face time with clients and I felt as if I was tresspassing. The only positive thing about this place is we met some hospitable neighbours who rescued us!!! I definitely DO NOT recommend this place!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VMC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We stayed at the Lennox Inn a couple of years back, and it is true that it wasn't a five-star establishment with a gourmet breakfast and high-end toiletries. But I found everything to be adequate, especially considering the price. And some things, such as the shared bathroom and exposed pipes and the like are to be expected, given the extreme age of the building.

What made me really enjoy my stay was the house itself. I found it amazing to sleep in a house so very old, which had seen so much history and so many people pass through it. And the restoration work the owner has done is wonderful.

The night before, we had stayed in a chain hotel in Dartmouth, a HoJo I think. The room was brown and charmless and smelled unpleasant, and we were next to a room with a bunch of noisy partying dart players in town for a tournament. So it was pretty cool when we got inside the Lennox the next evening and saw the stenciled floors and fireplaces and all the antiques. And, as my boyfriend pointed out, it was the same price as the HoJo, but no tax, and we even got breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmacMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

While the reconstruction of this 1700s inn is exemplary and the attention to period detail worth noting (including sparse furnishings, and a similar lack of other adornments), several basic features are missing. For example: no soap, just an old Ivory dispenser filled with some yellow liquid (we asked for, and eventually were given, a bar of Ivory Soap); no hairdryer; no Kleenex (the owner said it cut into his profits). The porridge and scrambled eggs (the only breakfast offered) on the first day were obviously prepared at 7:30 a.m. and served an hour later when we came down; the small slice of canteloupe was rock hard; the homemade muffins and two bacon strips, however, were good. The second morning the porridge was cold and cement-like again but the eggs were freshly made. However, there was neither canteloupe nor bacon until we requested them: the canteloupe, when it came, was ripe but cut to a sliver, and the two bacon strips appeared well after breakfast was over, and was almost raw. The third day we were offered everything, all nicely prepared.

More worrying was the fact that the battery in our smoke detector didn't work. When we pointed this out to the owner, he took one out of an adjoining room.

One last note: there is no sitting room for rainy days or a bit of reading, just one large room with breakfast tables and a bench.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank stanbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We stayed at the Lennox Inn in August 2007 and it hasn't changed since the last reviewer's visit in August 2006. First, the room was very quiet and peaceful. We slept well and felt very relaxed and rested in the morning. However, the breakfast left a lot to be desired. It could best be described as simple, yet tasteless. The scrambled eggs had no seasoning at all and the salt shaker was so clogged with brown crystals that it was impossible to rescue the eggs from their blandness. Since we enjoy over-romanticizing history, we had to assume that the salt shaker was original and had been excavated during the building's renovation and perhaps had even been used by Benjamin Franklin if he passed through Lunenburg enroute to Europe. The muffins were equally well prepared, each with a soggy surprise in the middle -- mine looked like half a strawberry! The chef is the same unenthused teenager as the last reviewer's. She put the food on another guest's table and we were left waiting until we figured out that we were supposed to go get it from them. The coffee was OK and gave us the energy to make it to an early lunch. The owner was never there and we assume he was avoiding the breakfast, too. The Lennox Inn B&B needs to remove one "B" from the name, or add one before the second B for "Bad" Breakfast. We couldn't wait to leave.

  • Liked — The quiet room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CATraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dockside Inn & Restaurant
The Dockside Inn & Restaurant
#25 of 25 in Lunenburg
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sail Inn B&B
Sail Inn B&B
#10 of 25 in Lunenburg
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#15 of 25 in Lunenburg
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lennox Inn 1791? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lennox Inn 1791

Property: Lennox Inn 1791
Address: 69 Fox Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canada's oldest inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lennox Inn 1791 Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing