We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the list!”
Review of Lunenburg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lunenburg Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our two night stay here was top notch! If you are in Lunenburg. and this B&B is available, look no further. The room was exceptionally clean, and Donna and Deryl are warm and gracious people. Donna knows all the best restaurants and is willing to share stories about the area. A short ten minute walk to all shops and eats. Don't miss this one!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAB532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Lunenburg Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a beautiful Victorian home with history and character. Thank you Donna and Deryl for your sincere hospitality; it was great to feel at "home" after being on the road for two months so a BIG thanks for that! Breakfast was delicious and the extra amenities were a nice touch. Your B&B will surely be our first destination to stay again in Lunenburg.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Donna and Deryl's Inn is a Old Victorian home with tons of character. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and felt like we were right at home. Breakfast was fantastic with great choices and the place was spotless! Donna was a great resource for sites to see and places to eat. She even gave us some good history as well. Would definitely come back and visit again. My husband would come back just for Donna's baked goods at the front door. Thanks for a great stay and the company was a PLUS!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the house have a balcony which is a nice appeal.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this spotless spot. Could have been a tad warmer but perhaps Nova Scotians are hardier? Nice breakfast. Would stay again. That's all! Thanks. Good bye why does this have to be 200 characters?!?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brand123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This was our second stay at the Lunenburg Inn, and once again we were blown away by the service and hospitality. We will be going back!

The first time we stayed at the Inn it was just my spouse and me. We were so impressed with the Inn and the service (LOVE DONNA AND DERYL) that we decided to have our staff party there.
I approached Donna with the idea of having our staff party/murder mystery at the Inn and within a few days she got back to me with the pricing to rent the entire Inn. Not only did she give us an amazing deal to rent the whole Inn for the weekend, she and Deryl took care of us like we were family. They really are the best innkeepers that I have ever met.

We (8 of us) arrived on a Friday, and from the moment we got there, we felt at home. Hugs and salutations were exchanged, and as always Donna was all set and ready to go. We were checked in, in our rooms and settling into our weekend adventures within minutes. Not only did Donna and Deryl ensure that the Inn was ready for us, Donna took care of all of our reservations for our dining as well as our ghost tours. Top notch, that’s for sure. No stone unturned, no question or request overlooked.

Friday evening we relaxed with wine on one of the balconies, enjoyed a meat and cheese platter that Donna and Deryl made for us, at our request, took in a ghost tour, and then returned to the hotel. Since the Inn does not serve supper, Donna arranged to have food delivered to the Inn so it would be hot and waiting for us when we got back from the tour. The food was amazing, the timing was perfect, and it was a fantastic evening.

On Saturday we started with an amazing breakfast made by Deryl. It was awesome, as usual. Normally Donna sets breakfast hours, but since we rented the entire Inn, she was very flexible with the breakfast time, and just asked us to let her know when we wanted to eat. We even ate breakfast in our PJ’s and slippers.

Later that day we dressed up for our murder mystery party, and we had a ball. Once again, Donna and Deryl had placed a nice snack spread for us, and allowed us to have the gathering in their living room/parlor and dining area. We were all in costumes, laughing and having an amazing time. During the course of our murder mystery madness, Donna popped in a few times to make sure that we had enough food, wine and anything else that we needed. She even came out to help judge for best costume.

Sunday we departed and as it was the first time we stayed there, it was like leaving family after a short visit. Donna and Deryl came out to see us to our cars and to say goodbye. We thanked them again for letting take over their Inn for the weekend, and for the amazing hospitality. We all had an amazing time, and our staff commented how thrilled they were with the experience and how they would be returning to the Inn again, as well.

It is apparent that Donna and Deryl love what they do. They are extremely accommodating to all of their guests, and they will do their best to ensure that your stay is as complete and pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjlalumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We visited this summer with my parents - one of whom can be difficult. Donna was so gratious and enthusiastic it became impossible to complain about anything. The place is imaculate, the location fantastic (short walk to everything but easy to find and park right on the edge of downtown), and we can't say enough about the owners. I have read the few reviews with negative comments and just don't see it. Anyone complaining about another visitor who wears too much perfume or the tables being a little too close together in the dining room is really stretching for something to complain about. We spent a week in Nova Scotia and this is the best Inn we found anywhere. Donna even made us cocktails and served them on the roof for us so my elderly parents wouldn't have to go down the stairs again. This place could charge $50 per night more and we'd still go there without hesitation. If you can't be happy here you won't be happy anywhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

There is not one negative thing that can be said about the Lunenburg Inn. From the moment that we entered through the Inn’s ancient doors, we were greeted by name, by Donna, one of the Inn’s owners. The warm and friendly atmosphere was felt immediately, made even more amazing by the plate of fresh-baked cookies at the check in desk, and within minutes we no longer feel as if we were strangers staying at a hotel; more like relatives staying with close family. Donna and Deryl Rideout were the most gracious of hosts—humorous and passionate—and they were extremely helpful and complete with assisting us with our questions and needs. The building is quaint, the furnishings comfortable and well tended to, and the Inn is kept spotless. If this was not already the perfect place to stay, the morning meal was spectacular. Donna entertains and serves while Deryl is hard at work in the kitchen. The meals are made to order, and the food could not be more fresh or delicious. One thing that I really enjoyed as an added bonus was that—while I love the coziness of staying at a B&B—when I sit down to eat I prefer a private table to that of sharing a table with people with whom I am not acquainted. There are five two-person tables in the dining room, which made this Inn a perfect fit for us. We are social people, and the tables are close enough to have quiet conversation between guests if desired while still allowing for a quiet meal. Coupled with the morning meal Donna and Deryl keep the bar stocked well, and the living room and dining areas are a great place to sit and relax after a day of walking and site seeing.
There are seven well-equipped rooms in at the Lunenburg Inn. Room 7 is on the main floor off the entrance, but far enough away from traffic for that not to be an issue. Rooms 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, are on the quiet and well-decorated second floor and suite 6 is on the third and top floor. For this trip, we stayed on the in Suite 6 on the third floor. It was very clean, specious, unique, and very quiet. Complete with a little kitchenette, basic kitchen tools, and appliances, the suite is perfect for a small family or guests who like to keep beverages and prepare small meals in their rooms. We are thrilled that we chose the Lunenburg Inn as our place to stay for our first trip to Lunenburg.
We will be going back, without a doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjlalumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#5 of 26 in Lunenburg
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunenburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Inn

Address: 26 Dufferin Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lunenburg Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lunenburg Inn is a Registered Heritage Bed & Breakfast Inn. We offer guests the comforts of home on their vacation. Full breakfast served each morning with home-made afternoon cookies during season. Sun decks, common areas and easy access to walking trails and the waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lunenburg Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing