We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta love this place”
Review of Lunenburg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lunenburg Inn
Ranked #11 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Wow! What a beautiful building! And the inside is just as impressive.

We had a great stay at this B&B. It's close to everything in Lunenburg.

Donna is a friendly, gregarious innkeeper and makes you feel welcome from the get go. Freshly baked cookies on the front desk when we arrived was a pretty good indicator of the welcome. Breakfast was delicious. And, unlike many B&Bs that we've been to, this place can sell beer and wine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed one night in early September and enjoyed the Lunenburg Inn immensely. Very well run, nicely appointed and an easy walk from the waterfront. Room was great and Donna is a terrific innkeeper. We had to leave early Sunday and she even opened the kitchen early so we could get breakfast. Highly recommended; we will be going back, no question.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Lunenburg Inn is a large, well-maintained older building in a good location within walking distance of town and almost next door to The Knot Pub -- one of the best places to eat in Lunenburg. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and air-conditioned, but the best thing about staying here is the truly gracious and warm welcome from innkeeper Donna. She has the perfect personality for this type of work. We've stayed at many B&Bs over the years, and she's one of the best hosts we've had. Also, she and her husband serve a terrific breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My mom and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming Victorian home, just a quick walk to all shops and restaurants in lovely Lunenburg. Our only regrets were that the weather was awful and that we could only stay one night! Donna is nothing short of amazing; the perfect hostess, providing delicious home-baked cookies when you walk thru the door, a fantastic dinner recommendation, and a cozy room with every amenity. Breakfast is similarly amazing, beginning with more of Donna's fresh baking and consisting of her husband Deryl's delicious yet healthy creations, all served in a cheery, comfortable dining room. Donna somehow remembers all her guests names and is very warm and genuine, attending to her guests' every need with a smile. If I ever make it back this way, I know where I am staying,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebFex07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

An extremely warm greeting and fresh baked cookies topped off by an immaculate and classy Victorian B&B. What a welcome!

The breakfast was excellent...cooked to order blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit and bacon not to mention a special blend of hot, fresh coffee. Our room was very comfortable, according to other reviews, it appears we got the only soft mattress in the inn, definitely could have been more firm.

Good location, easy to get to and within walking distance of the Lunenburg waterfront. The road noise level can be a little uncomfortable especially if you’re a light sleeper. The night we stayed a couple of stragglers from The Pub (restaurant within a chip shot of the Lunenburg Inn) continued their reveling until shortly after 1:30AM. My wife didn’t hear a thing but I’m a light sleeper so it was a little annoying.

Enjoy you’re stay, Donna is great...she’s warm, welcoming, helpful and very familiar with the area. Amazing how she remembers everyone’s name. Didn't meet Deryl but the breakfast he prepared was fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax14fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a great place, with beautiful Victorian decoration and a detailed history of the house on display. Donna did a great job of making sure our every need was taken care of. Breakfast was delicious, and the library had many nice choices. Our stay was enjoyable, comfortable and the rooms were spotless. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whirlwind777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great B&B in a great vacation spot. My family and I stayed in the top suite for a week and it was fantastic. The firm beds were very comfortable and every morning we woke up to a delicious breakfast. Donna is a great hostess and she made my two little girls feel very welcome. The location at the edge of town is steps from The Knot Pub and from there a short walk onto the waterfront. Nova Scotia is meant for outdoor activities - hiking, boating, etc. The Lunenburg Inn was a great home base for us and we always looked forward to coming back in the evening. A beautiful, comfortable, and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 582StephenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#2 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaulbach House
Kaulbach House
#8 of 26 in Lunenburg
123 reviews
0 mi away
Bluenose Lodge
Bluenose Lodge
#19 of 26 in Lunenburg
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunenburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Inn

Address: 26 Dufferin Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lunenburg Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lunenburg Inn is a Registered Heritage Bed & Breakfast Inn. We offer guests the comforts of home on their vacation. Full breakfast served each morning with home-made afternoon cookies during season. Sun decks, common areas and easy access to walking trails and the waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lunenburg Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing