We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They thought of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I am not a huge fan of charming Bed and Breakfast inns. Atlantic Sojourn may have changed my mind. The two ladies that run this place have literally thought of everything. My wife and I stayed in the Magnolia room, which is on the back side and has a very large bathroom. It was quiet. No AC, but that was not an issue, even in July. Things I liked: plenty of places to hang out and read. Spotlessly clean. Good pillows. Terrific coffee machine with various types and favors. Huge assortment of books and guides. Walking distance to town. Good breakfasts. Expert advice on places to eat and visit. Very friendly, but tuned to whether you are the chatty type or not. Terrific service all around , but never cloying. These ladies totally know how to read the guest, and are a delight.

Room Tip: The magnolia room in back is very quiet. Front rooms might be noisier during the day, but the road t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blakerunner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Lunenburg thanks to hosts Sebelle (from Mississippi) and Susan (from Massuchussetts). They provided wonderful breakfasts, great company, and excellent advice on where to dine and sightsee not only in Lunenburg but throughout Nova Scotia. They let us switch to another room after one night at no extra charge (from a room with two twin beds to one with a queen bed). We felt very much at home, and they made it hard to leave. If we come back to Lunenburg we won't bother looking anywhere else - we'll definitely come back here.
A tip: the restaurants along the harbour are good but expensive. Our favourite meals came from the Knot Pub, where the locals eat, just a 5-minute walk down the street. Also try the Salt Shaker Diner.
Another tip: if you're a runner, I left directions for the perfect 10km run.

Room Tip: There is quite a bit of street noise in the mornings in this quiet town. The quietest room is the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnhale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this lovely, well kept, heritage home. Sebelle and Susan made us feel so very welcome. they were very knowledgable about Lunenburg and were more than willing to give us some tips on what to see and where to eat. Easily within walking distance of all amenities. Our room was very clean and the bed so comfortable. Lovely bath products and body lotions, very nice added touch. Downstairs there were freshly baked cookies and coffee or tea. In the morning we had a fabulous breakfast including a lovely fresh fruit salad. I would certainly recommend the Atlantic Sojourn to my friends and family, and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: We had room on the front facing the street, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beverley654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I enjoyed two days at this clean and comfortable B&B in a very nice room, with very high quality bath products. Susan and Sebelle, the two inn keepers are wonderful.. their aim is to make you feel at home... breakfast super, different types of hot beverage and homemade cookies offered and available in the living room every moment of the day and night!!! i 100% recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The property has been restored and furnished with the best of taste. The two hostesses bent over backward to help us feel comfortable, well-fed and pampered. They helped with dinner recommendations and reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Looks like a candy, wrapped in a pretty shiny paper, but the taste is sour. All the notes and comments from the two owners are referring to keeping the property in tip top shape. "Don't wear shoes", "don't smoke in the yard", "don't leave the light on..." They didn't ask to turn the TV off in the room though (did I mention no TV in the room?).
The floor in the bathroom is at angle, I had to balance myself while sitting, my friends who had the other room, said that the bathroom was tiny, so we figured out, our bathroom was a room that could not be used as a guest-room anymore and was converted.
Breakfast was ok, but we had to choose what we eat before we went to bed. (I had the same experience when I was in the army)
The entrance to the house has no sidewalk, you go through the wet grass, or come from the back like a 1800's servant.
When my friend asked where he could smoke, they sent him to a public park, they said there is no place outside for that, even though they have a bench next to the unmaintained little fish pond. Overall, the fake smile of the owners did not make up for smothering of the guests. Look for another B&B, this one is my last choice. Clean, maintained but not welcoming.
We came up with the title that reflects it all: They care for the property not for the guests.

Room Tip: If you don't like camping, take it as your last option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The two lovely inn keepers Susan and Sebelle do only have one goal: to make you feel like home, even when you're far away from home. The house is beautifully decorated and in the common area Susan and Sebelle offer everything you need to relax: hot beverages and cookies as well as books, music, ... We got helpful dinner recommendations and the home-made breakfast was very delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlen_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaulbach House
Kaulbach House
#8 of 26 in Lunenburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 56 Victoria Road | P.O. Box 864, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada (Formerly The Commander's Inn)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £78 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the charming architecture and furnishings of our historic, Edwardian-era home, built in 1905 by W.C. Smith, sea captain and prominent local businessman. Our 4 1/2 star B&B offers free WiFi, off-street parking, cable TV in the parlour, an antique upright piano (for our musically-inclined guests!), a guest veranda, brochures for local restaurants & attractions, and more. Start each morning with a hearty home-cooked breakfast in our elegant dining room (from 8:30 to 9:30 a.m.), and enjoy 24-hour self-serve coffee, tea, and cookies. Our house is in "New Town", only a 10 minute stroll from the Old Town Lunenburg UNESCO World Heritage site. Use our B&B as a home base from which you can explore other local highlights such as Peggy's Cove, scenic Mahone Bay, the Halifax waterfront and Citadel, and the Annapolis Valley vineyards. Before you head out each day, we'd be happy to offer tips on where to go, what to do, and where to eat, to make your visit unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing