We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love stopping here for coffee and tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shop on the Corner

Shop on the Corner
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: A unique cafe and specialty shop. On site coffee roasting by Laughing Whale Coffee Roasters makes for the freshest coffee in Lunenburg. Pastries and simple lunches served in our attractive cafe. Specialty foods, fresh olive oils and balsamic vinegars from our tasting bar along with colourful Mexican ceramics, kitchenware, Lug travel accessories and much more make visiting our Shop an experience!
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love stopping here for coffee and tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We pick up a copy of the Weekly Telegraph here every week, and my husband and I enjoy a coffee or tea while we read. Cosy spot to stop a bit, good tea and coffee and a limited but lovely selection of housewares make this a great place to sit awhile! Haven't tried the food, but it looks good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
629 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Great Tea Slection, Poor Food Selection”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

They have a great variety of hot drinks to choose from, but the food menu is very limited. We tried the iced tea as it was a hot day, and didn't enjoy them at all.

There is a shop there to wonder around and enjoy while you sip your drink. There are a few chairs to sit in as well. No air conditioning, which seems to be pair for the course in Lunenburg.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yes they do coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

They may sell coffee beans but they also make good coffee. Doesn't immediately appear so from the outside but do go in.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neiljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Shopping Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great lunches, great coffee and a good selection of teas. Wonderful selection of baking.

Staff are wonderfully sweet and friendly.

There are lots of goodies in the Shop worth browsing and shopping for. High end culinary items abound. A really fun store to shop at.

I wish they had more space for tables and chairs - perhaps a banquet across the window stretching along the length of the shop would work. I have been there often and really enjoy it except for the space problems. There are only 3 or 4 tables to work with. There are lots of outdoor tables and chairs if the weather co-operates.

Hope Lunenburg has this Shop on Lincoln Street for a years to come. A wonderful concept store.

Not open in the evenings which would be welcome in the summer months for tourists.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atlanticbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoy going into the Shop On The Corner.
They have really nice kitchen gadgets, spices, novelties and they have a liquid gold tasting bar that is well worth doing, they have lovely oils and vinegars for sale.
Their lunch special is usually only 1 item but that 1 item is really good. Their baked goods are fresh and tasty. The service good.
The coffee is not my favourite, it's locally roasted, it's just not to my taste.

Helpful?
Thank Islanderabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shop on the Corner also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Shop on the Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing