We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2006

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The Addington is charming, very comfortable, and conveniently located.
Chris and Dan were the perfect hosts- they could not have been nicer. Chris had some great tips about very scenic drives, restaurants, sites to see. Dan's breakfasts were a real gourmet treat. I would highly recommend the Addington.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank I_be__travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
188
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
columbia, md
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2006

We recently spent one evening at the Addington Arms in Lunenberg, Nova Scotia. This was our first stop of a 10-day visit to the Province. What a wonderful introduction to such a beautiful place! Our hosts Chris and Dan were friendly and gracious. Chris offered a great suggestion for a late evening meal. The Inn is within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do. Off street parking was convenient.
We had reserved the "Flying Jib Room", after seeing pictures of it on the web. It was even lovlier than we had anticipated. The room was tastefully and thoughtfully decorated. The bed and other furniture was extremely comfortable. Amenities such as aroma therapy and a steam bath were exquisite treats.
The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and the quality of the bedding and towels was top notch.
We were offered our choice of time for breakfast within a two hour window. Dan's culinary skill also met all our expectations.
Chris and Dan's dog, Beau, truly seems like part of the family and made us feel very welcome during our stay. He even came downstairs to see us off when we were leaving the next morning. Beau also made sure that he was included in the photos that we were taking.
Our only regret was that we were not staying longer. We will definitely be back to the Addington Arms for another visit.

  • Liked — ambience
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank c2andd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2006

Christine and Dan are such wonderful hosts-- about the finest we've ever met ,and we are big travellers. Dan's amazing cooking, truly a gourmet chef with top level experience from some of Canada's finest hotels; Chris' incredible warmth,humor and her graciousness... we had the very large suite named TopSail ...it was perfect with it's 4-poster bed and pretty linens.

They are the most generous a host can be. Each day, the breakfast was different and delicious. One day was lemon -ricotta pancakes with homeade jam or syrup ; another was a delicious omelet with carmelized onions, green peppers, cheese, and tomato inside; another day was blueberry pancakes. each time you had your choice of terrific breakfast meats, juices,and your choice of fresh fruit ,topping yogurt of choice...Basically a 3 course breakfast. All served with delicious coffee , piping hot. If you're a foodie and if you love the romance of a beautiful and quaint fishing village with all the great shops and with good restaurants, stay here with Chris and Dan. You'll love Lunenburg. We stayed 4 nights and are considering buying property there.

Julie and John Williams
Arlington,Virginia

  • Liked — the hosts and the quaint home itself
  • Disliked — i liked everything about it
  • Tips/Secrets — Go sooner than you planned; you'll fall in love with it...
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank windrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2006

We spent a night at Addington Arms in August and can tell you that Chris and Dan have done a wonderful job of renovating this inn. We found our accommodation to be amazingly spacious, very clean and the smoked salmon and egg breakfast presentation was very tasty. The inn is ideally located, right in the center of this quaint little waterfront town.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — no negatives
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank angeliclovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2006

A lovely inn, wonderfully restored and maintained. The rooms are not cluttered with aging pieces; decorated nicely but not over the top. The bathrooms all new with a wonderful steam shower. The Heritage Suite, our room, was large with a spectacular view of the bay; although the bed was quite soft (not our preferrence). The room faces a busy street, therefore, the thoughtfully provided sound machine comes in handy if you like to sleep with the windows wide open (as we do). The pictures and descriptions on the website are accurate. Breakfast was always well prepared, hearty and good. Chris is very knowledgeable and helpful, always pointing us in the right direction. Again, really a lovely inn.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ANGshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2006

We stayed at the Addington Arms B & B for two nights last week. What a wonderful place! The rooms are enormous, clean, and filled with helpful guides and menus to nearby restaurants. We stayed in the Top Sail suite, and were very impressed by the size of the bright bathroom with double steam shower. Chris and Dan were great hosts, and the breakfasts were wonderful (mushroom omelets one day, lemon ricotta pancakes the next). We found it to be probably the nicest place we stayed on our entire honeymoon, and are looking forward to going back! Thanks Chris and Dan! Lunenburg is also a lovely city to walk around in - we ate at Magnolia's and Fleur-de-sel with great results.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelbug56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2005

We stayed Sept 18-05 for 3 nights. It was a wonderful experience. Great bed, nice linens, excellent breakfast. The owners Chris and Dan were really helpful and nice. We would definitely stay there again

Helpful?
5 Thank SharonFaithRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast

Property: Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Cornwallis Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Addington Arms B&B sits atop 2 fine art galleries and atop the six square block historic district of this UNESCO world heritage site, affording ocean views from all of our suites and room. Shopping, dining and exploring are all just steps outside your front door. We are not your typical B&B but more akin to a boutique hotel, with stocked mini fridges, TV's and en-suite steam-rooms with aroma therapy or an air-jet tub in very spacious surroundings. On-site parking is available as street parking is problematic in the summer months. Our breakfasts are as memorable as the town of Lunenburg itself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Addington Arms Bed And Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing