We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We spent Canada Day 2011 in Luinenburg and stayed one night at the Smuggler Cove Inn. It was a great experience, the Inn staff were excellent and helped us with everything and anything that we needed. The hotel was located downtown near all the exictment of this historic town opf Lunenburg. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I highly recommned this Inn to anyone who wants a famulous experinence.

Charlie

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles_and_Candace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed for 1 night at Smugglers Cove Inn, very nice room and a very comfortable bed. Highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review at Tripadvisor. We are always trying to meet our guests recommondations and bringing in efforts to be on top of it. Thank you again, we appreciate you comment. Hope to see you again. Eva Ziegler, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed one night in town for a conference the next day.
The stay was great and the service was freindly and went above and beyond helpful.
We stupidly left our laptop behind in the room. The cleaning staff gave it to the front desk.
When we eventually realized we didn't have the laptop, we called and were happy that they were holding it for us. Since we were not returning to lunenburg, the owner Eva took our laptop and couriered it to halifax where we were able to pick it up later that night before our flight home the next day. Thank you to everyone at the Smuggler's Cove Inn - we know where to stay whenever we are in Lunenburg.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinjones99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Smuggler's Cove Inn. The hotel is located in the centre of town, along the busiest thoroughfare, so it is very well located for those who want to explore Lunenburg on foot. Notwithstanding this central location, we heard no noise from the street in our room at night. The only drawback, location-wise, is that they have limited parking -- only a handful of spots for those who book far in advance. There is free overnight street-parking nearby, which worked well for us, but could present an issue for anyone with mobility issues, heavy luggage, small children, etc.

Front desk staff were friendly. We were initially given the key to the wrong room, but the front desk staff member was very apologetic when the mistake was discovered. I don't expect staff to be perfect, but simply gracious and helpful when there is a problem, and here their conduct was great.

Our room was lovely - on the top floor of the main building, with a balcony overlooking the thoroughfare. We really enjoyed the view. The bed was very comfortable, with nice linens, and the bathroom was clean and modern (shower stall, no tub). My one caveat -- the room decor had me scratching my head (for example, a poster-store reproduction of Warhol's Marilyn Monroe portrait), but that was a minor nit in an otherwise excellent stay.

Just a note about the restaurant. The restaurant downstairs is a great breakfast and lunch spot, with very friendly waitstaff, but it is not open in the evening. So I would imagine there is no room service in the evening for those who like that sort of thing.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skeezixtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Your front desk staff were exceptional! Sheila went out of her way when we accidently left some hand luggage behind dealing with the situation immediately and made sure all the details were taken care of . Kevin, from the restaurant, was a great ambassador for Lunenburg and helped us locate a number of stores that we needed, restaurants, etc. Marion was great helping us out with a little problem. We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tera626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Hotel is centrally located. Parking was a problem as there is no inn parking lot. Street parking is the only option. Front desk very friendly and accommodating. Rooms clean and comfortable. No fridge in room. Breakfast option a bit disappointing - only a $3 off coupon pp at the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed on a Saturday night in late July 2010. The room was very beautiful, and clean too. The bathroom was nice. The one problem I had was that their reservation computer had an error when booking the room - that's fine, people (and things) make mistakes. However, the staff were very rude when explaining it to me, and when presenting options of which other rooms were available. It almost seemed like they were trying to make it look like my fault. Other than this, I had a great stay, and the staff were nice on all other occasions. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotth38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Center - Bridgewater
10 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range: £63 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing