We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for over three weeks on a business trip. Made to feel very welcome by the all the staff. The front desk team of Connie, Ann and Karen were very professional in their approach while remaining friendly. Would recommend the hotel to anyone and I will stay again if I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    118
    27
    9
    0
See reviews for
66
156
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
halifax,nova scotia canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here over night . It is close to the water and all the "excitement" of downtown Lunenburg. All tourist sites in walking distance.Lovely store and restaurant on ground level to see. The rooms were a little dated, could use some different decorations and bedding but overall was very clean.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are nice but the view is limited and the street out front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Smugglers Cove Inn is clean and well situated in downtown Lunenburg. The front desk person was very friendly. You can walk most places from the Inn. We only stayed for one night, but were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water. We didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillSweeney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a short trip to Lunenburg. We stayed the entire time at Smugglers Cove Inn. The Inn was in a great location, within walking distance to everything, clean and comfortable. I am very picky about hotel beds and usually have a hard time sleeping away from home, but that wasn't the case here. True, the furnishings are a little outdated but I am more concerned with cleanliness and comfort than modern decor. Everything in our room worked just fine: the AC unit, TV, lights, etc. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. We asked a ton of questions since my husband and I had never visited Canada before, and they were always very helpful and attentive. You receive coupons for breakfast next door, at Scuttlebutt Restaurant, which is very convenient. The food was very good there, but service was pretty slow. However, they took a whole meal off of our bill, including the coupons, so they made up for the wait without us even asking or complaining!
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Splurge for larger rooms and rooms with a view of the water or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMF5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Area is the Inn is in a good central location. Rooms are clean but nothing special for the daily rate - felt it is over priced. Air conditioner was very loud. Not comfortable with there being no staff on site during the night and front door of the Inn is left unlocked. Beds are okay and decor is dated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Small historic town. The Inn is on the best street for shopping and restaurants and water views are available. Inn has an elevator and a restaurant for convenience. Good staff. Pleasant rooms. Nice choice for exploring neighboring towns and sights. Gold course across the bay. Try The Knot pub for a real pub experience a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Water view rooms give you a view of the harbor and the bay. Third floor rooms are accessible with el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_to_travel_4752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here in late June 2014. The hotel is in a central location, close to the water and sites of this town. The hotel was super clean but in need of an update. Older style rooms and furnishings. The a/c was ancient, loud and the one in our room didn't work. When we told the woman about this at checkout, she showed no concern, no sorry for the inconvenience....nothing. So because of this I would probably stay elsewhere next time. We happened to meet the owners of the Boscawen Inn while we were in town and they were so friendly and nice. I would probably stay there next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Property: Smugglers Cove Inn
Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing