We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, friendly staff”
Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Large room, friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were in a second floor room that was very large, with a full kitchen and a deck. It wasn't one of the front rooms, so there wasn't any view (except by going outside onto the deck), and from the floor plan it appears to be larger than most of the rooms. The furniture was just ok, but the bed was comfortable - not the furnishings you'd expect in a luxury hotel, but they don't advertise themselves as such, either. The staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Parking is only on the street, but there was plenty available, so it wasn't really an issue (it does make loading and unloading a bit of a hassle if you have much stuff, but that's the only problem).

Room Tip: Best views are from the rooms on the Montague Street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    121
    28
    9
    0
See reviews for
69
162
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The room was $200 for a night it was a king bed but way too soft The view was not much of one. There is no desk person there at night, they only provide you with a telephone number to call. The shower in the morning was cold. Not impressed at all!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SlmbMrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOURCOICE, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so sorry for your restless night. Our guests frequently compliment us on our high end mattresses. Preference of soft/firm is very individualized. We have recently upgraded our hot water heating system. Hot water is never longer than a 10 minute wait when the Inn is at full capacity. As most Inns in the area we do not staff the front desk 24/7 but do provide a telephone number for after hours to be of immediate assistance. For example one call and we could have informed you about the hot water. Once again please accept our sincere apology.
Connie
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Inn is clean and the service is nice. You need to find metered parking and feed the meter every two hours though, which is a hassle. The interior is a bit worn and they don't provide the extras you might like to see like complimentary breakfast or coffee in the lobby.
The location, however, is great!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. Unfortunately, the parking situation in Lunenburg, which is a World UNESCO site has no public parking in town, and therefore, it is not what we can influence. We do not advertise with free coffee in the lobby but we provide free coffee in the room. We also provide a $3.00 off coupon per person for breakfast in our attached Cafe/bistro.This is our version of a complimentary breakfast. We are very sorry for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great location and such friendly people. They were so helpful concerning restaurant information and Lunenburg in general. We were so comfortable in our room we picked up food at the Salt Shaker deli across the street and stayed in for the evening after our long drive. The room was fresh and clean and lots of room. Wonderful find!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaGump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked the day we needed to be there on a busy weekend - our room 309 had a view of the Wharf - a queen size bed, chair, fridge and coffee maker (buy bottled water), bathroom with shower - all very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful - happy to give us local knowledge and advice.
Rates are "room only" so we were given $3 vouchers for their restaurant, which has a good menu. Parking voucher for off road parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzonB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden Dunes
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time while visiting friends in Lunenburg - Extremely clean rooms, comfortable beds and with great views. The staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is located near the wharf and all the downtown shops. There is also a restaurant right next door that serves a great breakfast -

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jillerjett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I would highly recommend this Inn. It was very clean, comfortable, peaceful, fantastic location, the service was wonderful and the restaurant downstairs was excellent, and had a local acoustic musician playing in the evening. Lunenburg is very picturesque and is a great place to visit, lots of nice restaurants and nice shopping for local crafts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yonder b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Property: Smugglers Cove Inn
Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing