We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smugglers Cove Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rum Runner Inn(Lunenburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Topmast Motel(Lunenburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homeport Motel(Lunenburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Motel(Bridgewater)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgewater Hotel(Bridgewater)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
162
141
35
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
141
35
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desksmall balconyattached restaurantnova scotiastreet parkingthird flooroff seasonquaint hotelexcellent locationair conditionerthe main streetfull kitchenwould definitely stay here againspent one nightin townmini fridgenice room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed on a Saturday night in late July 2010. The room was very beautiful, and clean too. The bathroom was nice. The one problem I had was that their reservation computer had an error when booking the room - that's fine, people (and things) make mistakes. However, the staff were very rude when explaining it to me, and when presenting options of which other rooms were available. It almost seemed like they were trying to make it look like my fault. Other than this, I had a great stay, and the staff were nice on all other occasions. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotth38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We flew into Halifax and drove through Peggy's Cove, stopping for one night in Lunenburg. Lunenburg is a beautiful little town with small shops, a bookstore, and several restaurants, B&Bs and Inns. We really enjoyed our stay at Smuggler's. The room was large and the bed comfortable. We had a "harbour view", which wasn't a full view, but we could see the water. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. We ate breakfast at the restaurant next door, which was very good. We walked the harbour area and went to the Fishery Museum. The museum doesn't look all the impressive from the outside, but inside it has a wealth of information on the fishing industry. We were able to tour several boats docked outside. Lunenburg is a great town to visit; very charming and for us, quiet. The day we were there (Sunday, July 4th), the town was pretty silent with little traffic. Unfortunately, we were told that since the ferry has shut down, tourism for Lunenburg has really taken a hit. I would recommend visiting Lunenburg to see a charming fishing village, and staying at Smuggler's is a great place to have access to all the sights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I recently spent one night at the Smugglers Cove Inn and could not wait to get home to write this to tell everyone about my amazing experience!! I travelled with my husband (he was up on business) and 6 month old daughter. We arrived at 9am after a 6 hour drive and much to my delight we were able to check in right away so i could get our daughter situated!!!! shortly after the front desk lady came by to make sure we were ok and offer some extra towels for our baby. We were also able to check out late b/c hubby was working past lunch and i had no where to go with the baby. I am so greatful to the wonderful staff for making it a great little vacation.

Rooms were a decent size and very well kept and the common areas were spotless!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We arrived from the west coast at 10.30 am on a busy weekend expecting to be turned away until the afternoon. Not only did the staff invite us to check into our rooms immediately, they upgrated us to a suite free of charge. The room was spacious and very clean, the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The Smugglers Cove Inn is in the heart of the town, close to shopping and dining, yet it feels private and calm. The staff was wonderful at anticipating our every need and could not have been nicer every time we passed through the lobby. We were even allowed to a late check out (2.00) and since our flight didn’t leave until 10.00 pm, the hotel desk people locked after our bags, and printed our boarding passes. We will definitely stay here again. The suite was big enough for a couple of kids too if you’re traveling with family. This was one of these rare weekends when everything just seemed to be going our way and the Smugglers Cove Inn played a big part in making it special. The employees really seem to like their jobs and know how to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vancouver44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We stayed at Smugglers Cove Inn the second time. The apartment style room is simply fantastic with its hudge veranda and a great kitchenette. This place seems to be very new, even if it is already in the fifth year of operation. The elevator was a big help for my husband. We loved the friendly front desk clerks which were always very helpful and knowledgable about the area. There is a little store within the inn, which offers an outstanding breakfast. It is delicious. We cruised with the Bluenose and the Eastern Star, which was the most exciting experience in my life. We love this inn and we love Lunenburg.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chloe200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews