We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nova Scotia Trip”
Review of Rum Runner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rum Runner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nova Scotia Trip”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our room had a lovely harbor view from the balcony and was a very spacious and clean. It was a perfect location for exploring the colorful town of Lunenburg and provided easy access for exploring other sights along South Shore. The only negative--it could use a bit of updating.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carma2457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    79
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
131
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LaRiviere MB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Beautiful setting, lovely room. No hot water...seriously how is one supposed to shower????When we checked in, there was one single serve coffee in the basket with the coffee maker. In a room with a king bed. One...really. More were provided when asked, but should have been there...We loved the sun porch, but no hot water, and no response to dialing for assist, made this our least favorite in a 15 day Maritime tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueraykozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOURCOICE, Owner at Rum Runner Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear customer, I am very sorry about your experience in my hotel. Unfortunately, we had technical issues during your stay but they did get repaired at 8.00 pm after we received an emergency call from another customer. You might have called during this conversation. The hotel was without hot water for a maximum of 3 hours and we responded as quickly as possible. I apologize that you had not enough coffee in your room. You received 4 extra poaches of coffee after bringing this to the attention of the front desk. Once again, I apologize for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel was clean, spacious, warm and tidy - a perfect "base" to explore the South Shore from! My only two issues was that we were not informed that the restaurant on site would be closed during our stay... However, we appreciate that it was the end of the season and many hotels/restaurants close for the winter. Overall, this hotel served its purpose!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascain, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had booked at the Rum Runner Inn after reading reviews on TA which are usually reliable but were quite disappointed this time and did not share the same positive experience as other reviewers.
First gripe, WIFI did not work at all and we rely a lot on the internet to prepare our trip as we drive along and to keep in touch with the family in Europe. When I asked the receptionist about it she advised me very politely that they knew about this, that they had had a technician coming and that they could do nothing about it. Sorry. But of course there is something they can do about it : invest in a decent system and, at the least, inform customers beforehand of this situation so that said customer can consider if it is a problem for him or not.
We did not react on the spot but went back to the receptionist and after discussion she offered a $25 discount which, in my opinion, she should have proposed on our arrival. We had a similar experience 10 days ago on Cape Breton when as we arrived at a hotel the receptionist told us right away that the TV was faulty, apologized and offered a discount right away.
Second gripe, although the hotel works in conjunction with a restaurant which belongs to the same family, they do not serve breakfast. I know this is hard to believe but it's true. Instead they give you a $3 voucher to get breakfast in another restaurant 5 minutes down the street. In that place, if you order a full breakfast, they charge you coffee on top ! Again hard to believe but true. Seeing that, we decided to vote with our feet and had a great dinner in another restaurant on the harbour with the best possible view.
The room in itself was barely ok with a very noisy air conditioner, a view on the building next door, a bathroom door which doesn't close and a very old TV.
The staff in this location is very polite but do not know what a smile or a warm welcome is and they behave as if running a hotel is like having a 9:00 to 5:00 job in an office behind closed doors. (they indeed arrive at 9:00 and leave at 5:00)
The economic equation is not better. Before the wifi discount, our rate was $125 when the night before we got a $135 (senior) rate, superb breakfast and smiles included, at the Cambridge Suites in downtown Halifax which is one of the best places in that town.
So we definitely cannot recommend this hotel.
Another remark which does not concern that hotel but might interest readers : the overhyped city of Lunenburg continues to charge parking in the middle of october. Although the town is completely empty and dead, they still call this high season !

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 for the reasons indicated in my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpchoisne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOURCOICE, Owner at Rum Runner Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Please allow me the opportunity to introduce myself; my name is Eva Ziegler and I am the Owner/General Manager of the Rum Runner Inn in Lunenburg, NS. First and foremost I want to sincerely apologize for the troubles you had with our wifi service during your stay. We strive to provide top quality service to our guests in all areas and on this occasion we did not exceed your basic expectations.

It is unfortunate that your visit was right in the middle of our conversion to a more reliable high speed, fibre op wireless internet provider. Now that the new equipment has been installed we feel confident that this situation has been rectified and that it will not inconvenience our guests in the future.

Again, my sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced while we were upgrading our wifi system. I hope that you will give us another chance if you are ever visiting the Lunenburg area again.

Best wishes,

Eva Ziegler
Owner/Manager
Rum Runner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were lucky enough to get rooms for the night here. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room although tiny was spotless and newly finished with everything we needed. Pack light if you have to climb stairs to the 2nd floor. The breakfast voucher for the Scuttlebutt restaurant was great and breakfast exceeded our expectations. The location cannot be better as you are right downtown and can walk everywhere. Parking was on street which could pose an issue but we were there on a Friday evening and no meters were being checked over the weekend. The bed we had was only a double but comfortable and we would gladly have stayed again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour if you can. Our room faced the street which was fine but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrettsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Rum Runner Inn for our 30th wedding anniversary trip and it was the perfect spot. Activities in Lunenburg, a quick ride to Mahone Bay and the weather was spectacular. The views from our room, the restaurant, and just walking around the town were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark2Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgie
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Clean room and friendly staff. The room was quite small and there is no breakfast possibilty in the building. The restaurant is excellent. Good food and a great view over the harbour. Try also some desserts !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Runner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Runner Inn

Property: Rum Runner Inn
Address: 66 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Runner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting incredible panoramic views of the historic waterfront, the Rum Runner Inn, Restaurant & Lounge offers the premier hotel and dining experience in Lunenburg. Our guests are our passion and we ensure each and every one has a phenomenal experience. The Bluenose II recently returned to sailing after a major rebuild. We, in Lunenburg are very proud that this project took place at the Lunenburg Shipyard, the same site of construction of the original Bluenose in the year 1921. The Rum Runner Inn, Restaurant & Lounge is located in the building where the sails for the original Bluenose were manufactured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rum Runner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rum Runner Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing