We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunenburg Leisure”
Review of Ashlea House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashlea House B&B
Ranked #3 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunenburg Leisure”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Not enough can be said about the house or the innkeepers that can truly capture the experience. John and Lynn love where they have chosen to settle, to entertain, to inform, to counsel and to share. The breakfast was as exceptional as the pair that prepared and served it.

Lunenburg is one place that should not be missed in the area and Ashlea House is as special as its surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    26
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
219
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We set out to lunenburg as part of an anniversary trip and chose this b+b for the great reviews as well as what seems to be the perfect location: near to but not in the main touristy area. This b+b did not disappoint. Lovely historic home with beautiful gardens and a comfortable side gazebo addition. This is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening or to take your coffee in the morning. Lynn settled us in, telling us some of the history of the home and their experiences with it. Lovely place to poke around with many nooks and crannies to enjoy with a book or to look at the bits and pieces about. Fun cupola on the roof with a bench and binoculars to view the harbour.

Our room was fine. Comfortable. The only point to mention is this room (part of the family suite) overlooks a main street where much traffic passes through. This makes a fair amount of noise into the evening and in the morning. Choose a different room if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast is plentiful with many many tasty items to choose from. My special dietary requirement was quietly accommodated. John and Lynn entertained the table-full of guests and facilitated dialogue across the table and allowed less extroverted guests to sit quietly and observe if desired.

Lynn made dinner recommendations which we appreciated as it helped us avoid the tourist trap locations that do not offer the best that the local talent has to offer.

Schooner the dog was present and appreciated as we are dog people.

We recommend this location and the hosts, Lynn and Dave without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenFredBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having never have tried a b&b before I think my husband and I both agreed that it was one of our most memorable vacations. John and Lynn are the most wonderful hosts, the home is stunning, the gourmet breakfast is to die for, and the fun is on the house! Even the location is wonderful as you can easily walk to the uptown area and local restaurants, and pubs (which John and Lynn are happy to recommend) You should definitely give it a try!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicemcaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Gorgeous old Victorian mansion. We were on the top floor - well worth the extra $$. Quiet, charming. Breakfast was extraordinary - truly fantastic, while our hosts pointed out the local "must-sees". Fabulous porch where we enjoyed a bottle of wine pre-dinner. I don't usually like B&Bs but this was better than most hotels we have stayed in and certainly one of the top two in our 11 days trip. Loved it - we should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Top floor with the Queen bed straight ahead at the top of the stairs - a bit extra $$$ but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We never write review for these sorts of things, but my husband & I had such a fabulous stay here that we just had to tell others about it! The owners are great - they are so friendly and are ready to tell you all you want to know about Lunenburg. The breakfast was amazing! The rooms were clean and beautiful.
Ashlea House was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We just returned from an amazing one night at the Ashlea House. Located in beautiful Lunenburg, we had the privilege of staying in this clean, lovely Victorian home. John and Lynn are warm, friendly and gracious hosts. We had a great breakfast. Our room was very clean and with great atmosphere

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandro r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Ashlea House, in the heart of Lunenberg, was the perfect home-base for our three-days of relaxing, dining, and adventuring. Its beautifully appointed adjoining parlors offered a quiet spot to sip delicious pre-breakfast coffee, read a bit, and then chat with other guests gathering for breakfast. Ahhh, the breakfasts! Hosts John and Lynn prepared delicious dishes of amazing variety and entertained us with lively stories on the history of Ashlea House and life in Nova Scotia. They gave us excellent dinner recommendations, tips on things to see in Lunenburg and ideas for places to go in the surrounding area. Coming home to the warm and quiet atmosphere of Ashlea House was a perfect way to end our busy days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denton0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 26 in Lunenburg
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#5 of 26 in Lunenburg
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlea House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlea House B&B

Property: Ashlea House B&B
Address: 42 Falkland, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlea House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to enjoy Lunenburg's cherished Ashlea House, a registered historic house restored to its original grandeur. Perfectly situated; a short five minute stroll along the historic harbour into the core of Old Town Lunenburg. Enjoy your day and then retire to Lunenburg’s only B&B/Inn to boast so many common areas: first floor parlours, Victorian Gazebo, sitting areas in "Martha's Garden," an authentic Widow's Walk and a third-floor lounge & outside deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashlea House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlea House B&B Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing