We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my best B&B experiences ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashlea House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashlea House B&B
Ranked #3 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my best B&B experiences ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A friend and I stayed with John and Lynn and they made us feel right at home. The house is beautiful and is in the perfect location! It's a 3 minute walk into town through a small park. Our room was clean, cozy, and comfortable with a great view of the waterfront. Breakfast was wonderful and was served "family style" where we were able to visit with two other couples that were there. Our friendly and helpful hosts gave us lots of great tips of what to see and do not only in Lunenburg, but other places to see in the area. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjennings21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
204
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

John and Linda were such a welcoming couple, who made you feel at home in this immaculate b&b. Bedrooms were spacious and beds comfortable. Was very impressed with how clean everything was. Gorgeous gardens and decks to relax on. Lots of laughs and great conversation. Breakfast was absolutely amazing. Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We picked this B&B from a travel guide while on our way to Lunenburg; no reviews to read; just the description to guide us. We were delightfully surprised at the outside appearance of the house & yard. As we were shown & viewed the rest of the spacious home, our excitement & pleasure increased. John & Linda are friendly, helpful, welcoming, hospitable hosts. Their home is updated to modern standards while keeping the delightful heritage ambiance. Their breakfast included traditional, local foods; tastefully prepared with care & in abundance. We highly recommend staying at Ashlea House. We were disappointed that our travel plans restricted us from staying more than 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent two delightful days in Lunenburg, enhanced by the comfort and hospitality at Ashlea House. A lovingly restored Victorian home, just a short stroll through a park to the town, and operated so well by John and Lynn. Breakfast each morning was delicious and imaginative, more than enough for the most hearty appetite. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ownermgtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Gorgeous, charming house with wonderful hosts !
On our trip to Nova Scotia we stayed at other B&B’s, none of them even came close to Ashlea House. It's a B&B dream come true. The house is drop dead beautiful, inside and out.
Lynn and John, the owners made us feel at home. Our charming bedroom had a wonderful view of the port and ocean.
As for breakfast - What a surprise was waiting for us ! Good thing we woke up hungry.
We enjoyed sitting at the huge table and talking with the other guests. Nothing about breakfast was mundane. The delicious omelette with sauteed veggies, the locally made sausages, Lynn’s wonderful potato scones (she graciously shared their recipe with us) and the many other dishes that kept being served, so that I can’t remember them all, were all homemade, locally grown and of course absurdly delicious. As Lynn said, they saved us money with their breakfast because we definitely had to skip lunch since we were still so full.
Our stay with John and Lynn was definitely one of the highlights of our visit to Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night. This B&B is top notch in every category; great location, gorgeous house, large rooms, tremendous breakfast and truly wonderful host & hostess. The house itself is truly jaw-dropping. Almost worth the trip to Lunenburg all by itself. John & Lynn are doing everything right and are truly gracious hosts. Breakfast here (at an enormous dining room table) is a delight, with a ton of great food and great conversation. Why would anybody go anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lajavamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lynne + John made us feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we stepped through the front door of their lovely home. They went out of their way to make sure we had all we needed and to cater for my difficult dietary requirements in their amazing breakfast spread. Their local knowledge and recommendations were really useful. Definitely one to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petiteoiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlea House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlea House B&B

Property: Ashlea House B&B
Address: 42 Falkland, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlea House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to enjoy Lunenburg's cherished Ashlea House, a registered historic house restored to its original grandeur. Perfectly situated; a short five minute stroll along the historic harbour into the core of Old Town Lunenburg. Enjoy your day and then retire to Lunenburg’s only B&B/Inn to boast so many common areas: first floor parlours, Victorian Gazebo, sitting areas in "Martha's Garden," an authentic Widow's Walk and a third-floor lounge & outside deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashlea House B&B Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing