We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor pleasures in quaint village”
Review of Brigantine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brigantine Inn
Ranked #14 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent two nights at the end of July in this little harbor inn, after a long overnight flight from California. The lodgings are in the center of this small town, overlooking the harbor. Saturday evening festival music wafted through our window and urged us toward a long evening stroll around town. Accommodations were adequate, but not luxurious. It fit our needs exactly. The bed was great (firm without being too firm) and adjoining bathroom facilities were clean and functioning. Dinner in the downstairs restaurant bar provided a welcomed solution for our first evening with standard pub fare and great service. This inn includes many stairs, so pack light since there are no elevators.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pictograms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Amanda was a huge help with our stay! very professional and very accommodating! The atmosphere is amazing and the view is awesome! If you want a place to stay where the staff will help you in any way, this is the place for you! You will enjoy your stay and look forward to your next visit! Check out the Grand Banker pub downstairs...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

overlooks beautiful Lunenburg harbour. room is spacious. bathroom is ordinary, adequate. Inn has no elevator. There is no reception person or desk. rather, you have to go downstairs to the bar/restaurant to check in there and pay your bill. This could be a problem if you are schlepping your suitcase downstairs to check in and then having to go to the main floor and then schlepp upstairs. Ask for one of the three rooms on the main floor.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Today I stayed at the Brigantine Inn, Lunenburg Nova Scotia, and I am extremely satisfied. A very nice house with two bedrooms, one bath, and a full kitchen and living room. Very professionally cleaned and prepared for my visit, my stay was very comfortable with no problems. A very nice Ocean view can be seen, with many restaurants just a minutes walk away. A short car ride can take you to multiple very interesting and nice attractions. Also included in our stay was a very nice internet connection, wired and wireless, on top of a very surprising wifi which can be found all around town. However, the one "problem" I experienced was the lack of a "real" air conditioning unit, but fans in every room and window-mounted units quickly worked just as fine after a couple minutes, but for the very low price we paid, this is nothing to complain about.Furthermore, no reserved parking is included with our stay, but after a bit of scavenging, a spot can easily be found nearby. If anyone wants a very nice comfy place to stay while in, or near Lunenburg, this is the perfect spot. The price is right, the included services are perfect, and there is really nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here the night before my wedding and night of my wedding- I was born and grew up in Lunenburg so I felt silly spending a fortune to stay there. Brigantine Inn had some of the best prices for the location within town. It's right downtown, close to the waterfront, and perfect for walking around. Room was very clean, and perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Brigantine Inn occupies one of the waterfront buildings that stretches up the steep hillside across from the harbor in the historic center of Lunenburg. Approached from the road above the waterfront, the Inn looks unappealing. But what a surprise it was when we got to our room. We were assigned 'The Bluenose Room', on the third floor ( one flight up from the street entrance ).
The room had no less than six windows overlooking the waterfront, across the harbor and out to sea in the distance; a fabulous view. The room was considerably larger than I had expected, and well furnished with queen-size fourposter bed, along with matching bedside tables equipped with good reading lights, a matching desk and chair, a full size sofa, a wing chair and a large, flat-screen tv.
There was a scale model of the famous Canadian fishing schooner Bluenose in the room, along with a framed description of Bluenose 1 and Bluenose 2, known to all Canadians.
Bluenose 2 would be tied up at dockside, across from the Brigantine Inn, when not at sea, but when we were in Lunenburg, she was in dry-dock, appearing much bigger than she seems when in the water.
We stayed at several other hotels during our visit to Nova Scotia and the other 'Maritime Provinces', but none matched the comfort and the magnificent location and waterfront vistas we had at the Brigantine Inn.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the waterfront- in particular, the Bluenose room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeafarerRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in the annex (room 8) to brigantine inn, which is essentially like renting your own house in the middle of the town. Located one block from the water front the views were amazing and having a whole house (two bedrooms, 1 bath, a living room/kitchen) to yourself at the price and convenience of staying at a hotel was fantastic. The staff at yhe grand banker restaurant (where they run the front desk from when the hotel isn't busy) was extremely friendly and helpful. The niceity/inconvenience is they only offer light housekeeping. If expecting a hotel this is a let down, if expecting a house the housekeeping is a blessing. Only suggestion I would have for the owners would be to provide 1 parking stall in the back of the property rather than relying on metered city street parking. The administrative offices of the hotel are on the main floor of this house with a separate entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yycfamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dockside Inn & Restaurant
The Dockside Inn & Restaurant
#23 of 26 in Lunenburg
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigantine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigantine Inn

Address: 82 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brigantine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brigantine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigantine Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing