We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hospitality, breakfast and thoughtful finishing touches were wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1775 Solomon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Janet and George, the hosts, make you feel
very much at home. The home's atmosphere is restful. Janet serves delicious homemade breakfasts. There is so much attention to detail and they provide lots of guidance for the best visit ever.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisagh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed at this B&B for one night and I really enjoyed it. The location is great: just about three blocks away for the historic waterfront and 5 minute drive away from a quiet harbour shore. Janet and George were very friendly, welcoming, offered help with everything I needed and and even drove me around the city and to some scenic places nearby. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, the room (queen bed room) very tastefully decorated. If you are looking for that cozy "old house" feeling plus excellent service, you will like it here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed here recently with my teenaged daughter. It's a great location and beautiful house. Janet really went the extra mile; it felt like we were visiting friends we just hadn't met before. She makes sure she's knowledgeable about the whole area and, as others have noted, makes a fantastic breakfast. It is also fun staying in a house that has been restored to 18th century style.

Room Tip: It's a quiet town; all of the rooms would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slkdsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We had the good fortune to stay recently at this delightful bed and breakfast. We were in the Solomon Room which was furnished beautifully with antiques and had an ensuite. Don't ask me how one would update the wiring and plumbing in such an old historic home! The room could not have been more perfect and Joanne had thought of everything that a guest may need. Breakfast in the wonderful dining room was delicious and hearty...her french toast divine.
We highly recommend this charming bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The Solomon Room was perfect with the ensuite. It faced the street across from a park and was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed at the Solomon House for a few days during a recent tour of Nova Scotia. We found the home to be charming. The home is tastefully decorated with period pieces. The room was well furnished and very comfortable. While the bathroom was on the small side it was more than adequate. The real attraction of the B&B however is the host, Janet. Janet is like a personal tour guide. She knew all about the are, where were the best beaches, galleries, sights and attractions. Our trip was enhanced by taking her advice. A great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

What a find!!! My husband and I were looking for a getaway to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and we found the perfect spot at Solomon House B and B in Lunenbrug Nova Scotia. What wonder hospitality and Janet knows everything about the area. We were there during the Folk Harbour Festival..what a treat!!! Hours and hours of great live music..and workshops for those interested. Or you can just go to Lunenburg and enjoy the charming town. Fleur de Sel restaurant was the perfect spot to celebrate our anniversary. What a great chef!!!
We'll be back

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We began our trip with two nights at The Solomon House and it was the perfect first step to our trip to Nova Scotia. Our room was beautfully decorated with a very comfortable bed, a private bathroom with a claw-foot tub with every imaginable lotion and soap available for our use. But little known to us, Janet is known throughout Lunenburg for her famous breakfasts. Fresh from the oven strawberry and raspberry scones, local jellies, jams and fruits, delicious french toast, coddled eggs with tarragon and it goes on and on. And the table was decorated with antiques that she has found throughout the South Shore region. And toss the guide book to the side. Janet sent us on our way with her own detalied map of what to do, where to go, eat, play, etc., none of which were listed in any guidebook (Lonely Planet, Fodors, Moon, Frommers). She is one of the finest hosts we have ever encountred and our next three days on the South Shore were perfect because of her guidance. This place is much more than a B & B. Our only regret - we only stayed two nights. This part of the provence definitely needs more time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginialakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#2 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Sprite Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1775 Solomon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1775 Solomon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 69 Townsend Street | PO Box 681, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £50 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
1775 Solomon House Bed And Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing