We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality and wonderful visit!”
Review of Spinnaker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spinnaker Inn
Ranked #16 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

After delivering a sailboat to Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, the owner recommended I stay in Lunenburg at the Spinnaker Inn and called Christina, the Innkeeper to make reservations for me. Originally, I planned to stay for just two nights; however, after checking in, I decided to remain for four nights in this small inn located on the waterfront in the heart of Lunenburg. My stay was delightful and I plan to return next year with my wife to let her experience the hospitality of the Spinnaker Inn and Lunenburg. Amenities include coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the room, a large comfortable bed, WiFi access, great sightseeing advice, a great shower, a desk and chairs for relaxing, a central location with a nice view of the waterfront and a location with many nice restaurants a short walk from the inn. Although I didn't compare costs, the room price was quite reasonable. The Spinnaker Inn ranks very high on my list of favorite places I have stayed over the last 50 years!

Room Tip: Call Christina, the Innkeeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMBaltimore_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2011

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We love it when our guests have been recommended by past guests. It is always a pleasure when a guest arrives for a night and stays longer. Lunenburg is a wonderful town to explore and Lwe do have many lovely restaurants, shops and galleries to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Inn on your next trip to Nova Scotia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2010

My husband, myself and our two little girls had a wonderful time here! We really got to spend some quality time together. Whether it was watching the Santa Clause parade, girls "swimming" in the whirlpool or hanging out on the King size bed (best bed I've ever slept in), it was wonderful! Can't wait to visit again....maybe just hubby and I this time :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Lovely time had in the Inn. Parking free down the street, bonus. Breakfast at Scuttlebucks across the street, great bacon and eggs! Didn't mind the stairs at all, good workout after all the lovely sea food in town. Roar of the wind and ocean puts you to sleep at night. Spotless accomodations, linens to die for, chats with Bev "priceless"
all in all a grand experience will certainly try and get back again..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruffknaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We stayed two nights in this lovely place and were charmed completely! The building has been restored quite nicely, the rooms very comfortable and attractive. It would be a lovely spot for a romantic getaway, although that's not what we were there for. Great location right in town. The owner Chrissy is so nice and friendly. Very helpful. We all liked her very much
The suites have two levels, with the bathroom on the top level, which is a bit of an issue for someone who has difficulty with stairs. In fact that would be the only issue with this inn, it would not be suitable at all for anyone who has difficulty with climbing stairs. There are quite a few of them! Other than that, it is a perfect and charming little inn, which I would recommend happily.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsnewtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

...beautifully restored Inn right in Lunenburg. Friendly service and comfortable room with a lovely view. No breakfast included, but a great rate nonetheless!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChappyChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spinnakerinn, Owner at Spinnaker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2010

The Spinnaker is an historic Inn circa 1865 hence our access is only by stairs but we are always on hand for carrying luggage to the upper floors. We have lovely one level rooms with views too on the first floor. Our large king split level suites are ideal for long staying guests who wish to prepare light breakfast and lunches in our fully equipped kitchenettes. Free on street parking is available. Please ask at check in. We are ideally located to visit all the sights in Lunenburg and have an excellent bistro cafe with waterfront deck. We are featured in Treasures of Nova Scotia, The Moon Guide and have enjoyed welcoming guests for the past 10 years please come celebrate our 10th anniversary this year in 2010 .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

This little inn has been nicely restored and is conveniently located near the waterfront area of Lunenburg, close to tourist attractions and several restaurants. We stayed in room two which was nicely appointed .... full kitchen, sitting area, and lovely bath with a jacuzzi tub and shower. Chrissy was a gracious and helpful hostess. Two negatives about this property. First, there is only on street metered parking or a public pay lot several blocks away. Second, we would not recommend this property for elderly or physically disabled people. Rooms are on the second floor with access only via a long steep stairway. Additionally, Room 2 is a split level with the kitchen sitting area on the second floor but the bedroom/bath is actually on the third floor accessed by a second steep stairway. Toting luggage is a definite issue even for the physically fit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamainatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water Sprite Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Arbor View Inn
Arbor View Inn
#26 of 26 in Lunenburg
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Inn

Address: 126 Montague St., Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: £64 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spinnaker Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spinnaker Inn is a 4 room Inn located above the popular Salt Shaker Deli on Montague Street in Lunenburg. Located just one block up from the waterfront, all rooms been recently upgraded, have spectacular harbour views, private baths and coffee service. Rooms 2 & 4 are split level units, with kitchenette & pull out sofa on the lower level and a spacious king room with soaker tubs and separate showers on the second level. Room 1 is a small but sweet room with queen size bed and the best view in town. Room 3 has a king size bed, mini fridge and full bath. Like most accommodations in this Unesco town, we do not have a parking lot so the option is street parking or the town's waterfront lot. We are located on the second level and there is no elevator, so those with mobility issues should consider booking elsewhere. Check in is located at the Salt Shaker and there is someone there to help you with your needs from 10am - 9pm. Breakfast is not included. We are open year round ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Spinnaker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing