We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish, great fries” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The South Shore Fish Shack

The South Shore Fish Shack
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great fish, great fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The service was great, welcoming and quick considering the line up. We had battered fish with poutine. The fish was nice and light (not in calories unfortunately!) and the fries were some of the best that I have had. The only thing I would say is that the sauce on the poutine tasted a little watered down. However all in all I would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bkmmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    74
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went here three times in our four days in Lunenburg and just loved it. The fish and chips are, to my mind, the absolute best ever. The batter is just light enough and is made with some of the good Propeller beer that they sell. The fish pieces are enormous, so 2 pieces of fish with the fries is more than enough. The fries are awesome too - fresh and crispy and soft and the same time. Ridiculous. The fish and chips also come with this really great dill tartar sauce as well as a bit of almost sauerkraut style coleslaw. The only thing I didn't like here was the lobster sandwich - it was a lot of shredded lobster as opposed to chunks and I didn't care for that.

The views from the two outside decks (there is a lower deck and even though the line can be long there is plenty of seating) are perfection and I can't imagine anything nicer than eating fish and chips, with a good beer, over looking the beautiful Lunenburg harbor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Looking For Fresh Seafood ....Look no more !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you are ever in the little Town of Lunenburg ...you need to stop at the FISH SHACK . It has the best fresh fish in the area ...Seating outside & in . Very reasonably priced . Please give it a try :-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 902Sharbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Fish and chips excellent according to my hysband (English) I had a lobster roll excellent lots of lobster. Not fancy just really good food and a great view to top it off

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnb239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips other than home made”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well visiting my best friend in Bridgewater we decided to go to Lunenburg for lunch. I am not really a fish eater but when I can walk into a place and not smell the fish I am willing to give it a try. We placed our order and they give you a lobster that lights up when your order is ready and you pick it up. I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful this meal was.The fries where home made and the fish was lightly battered so you had more of the fish plus it was well portioned. We sat out on the lower deck with a glass of wine and our dinner plus a view of the harbor and the Bluenose Golf Course. If you are in Lunenburg give this place a try and the view is to dye for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wintertravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The South Shore Fish Shack also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to The South Shore Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing