We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, but wouldn't return for the food”

The Dockside Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 45 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice view, but wouldn't return for the food”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant recently and I wasn't impressed. We picked this place because of the nice view overlooking the water, but the food was not great. We had fish and chips which were very greasy and the fries were right out of a bag. They should put a bit more effort into a fish dish; after all, it is a fishing community. Staff were friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eastcoasttraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    105
    63
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Good choice on the waterfront”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Sept 20
Dave and Garry of Van Tours of Halifax, NS, dropped us off here after canceling our lunch reservations at Rhubarbs which was too far off the circuit at noon time. Our group had no complaints about this elevated resto overlooking the beach and a large parking lot.
The fish 'n chips (haddock) for me and the steamers for my wife were more than adequate. Then there was the homemade blueberry pie and someone let me taste their lemon meringue pie, which was even better. There's a retail bake shop in the back. Drinking beer, we had motivational difficulty for our group to move on. An interesting exhibition of vintage 50s Chevrolets in the parking lot held my attention.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our dinner”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Nice restaurant overlook the harbor. Both my husband and I had the lobster dinner and enjoyed it's presentation

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alaska2009NewYorkNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pass on”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Most alternatives in town will be of better value than this dive. Though we would try a cheap quick spot, certainly regretted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastcoastbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good basic breakfast”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were looking for a place to have breakfast and the owner of where we were staying suggested the Dockside Restaurant. It was a good suggestion because we got a good, well-cooked breakfast at a good price with great views over the harbour. Good service from a friendly waitress and good basic food cooked well - just what we were looking for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sukiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dockside Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Dockside Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing