We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallops and peanut soup”
Review of Magnolia's Grill

Magnolia's Grill
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Scallops and peanut soup”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were early in the season and it was very cool outside yet the inside was stifling warm and stuffy. We ate on the deck.

The service was very good. As per TA advise, we tried the peanut soup which was very unique. I enjoyed trying something new but probably wouldn't order it again....think warm, melted peanut butter. On the other hand the scallops, were probably the best I have ever had!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNIEPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    111
    42
    25
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best Key Lime Pie”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

As a visitor from Florida, you would seem to think the rule may be that the further you go from the keys, the better the Key Lime Pie gets. Magnolia's key lime pie has been exceptional for years, and the rest of our lunch did not disappoint! The burger was incredible as well. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zalomar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best food.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This quiet bistro is unassuming , but once you sit down and have the personal service and taste the delicious food - you're set! Wonderful, the best scallops according to my husband and they make every effort to make sure your meal is perfect. Not a touristy "bus stop", obviously a local favorite, and ours!
Recommended by our sailboat captain.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant in a lovely small town”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We saw the tripadvisor sign and we went into the grill. The wait staff was attentive, and easily explained the menu. The food was nicely presented. The scallops were very good, fresh, and prepared neatly, and presented very nicely.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Magnolia is a small restaurant across the street from Smugglers Cove Inn. We went there on our last night in Lunenburg, and wished we had gone sooner The food was fantastic and more inventive than most of the other restaurants in town.
Small menu but specials.
great place

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia's Grill also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Magnolia's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing