We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick break from the city”
Review of Yellow Point Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ladysmith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow Point Lodge
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This year my mother came to visit me and after visiting with friends and shopping she really needed a break from the city. So we looked around and found Yellowpoint Lodge. We had no idea how lucky we were to get a last minute booking but it became abundantly clear as soon as we got there. The lodge is gorgeous and has so much character, the staff are so friendly and helpful. The clientele is definitely older and they don't allow children under 14 but it makes for a very relaxing time. We didn't realise at first that the price included all your meals and because my mother can't have gluten we were a bit worried about that. We needn't have worried, we let the staff know and they were so accommodating. The food was wonderful for me and my mother. We stayed in the barracks on the first night and the staff emphasized us how rustic it was to the point where we were a bit hesitant. But they were lovely, a part of the wall swings right out and the ocean is all you see from bed. It is a very basic room and the bathrooms are shared but the bed are comfortable, the view is unparalleled and I loved it. We went kayaking (no extra cost), sat in chairs looking over the ocean, played scrabble, drank wine, walked the trails, sat by the fire. It really was such a wonderful time, and I can see why people go back every year. Although we were new faces, and there weren't many, everyone made us feel very welcome and at home. I can't say enough good things about Yellow Point Lodge, it's the perfect way to enjoy the west coast.

Room Tip: Depending on your style of travel they have rooms that suit everyone from the barracks (shared bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

For the past twenty years, my partner and I have been spending two or three days at Yellow Point Lodge. It is an oasis in any life, hectic or not. On our recent visit, I was reminded of the beauty of the Salish Sea (Straits of Georgia) and the incredible unique ecosystem that has been preserved at the lodge. The lodge was founded by a logging contractor who recognized the beauty of the coastline and Arbutus / Douglas Fir forest. He build a beautiful log lodge and series of simple cabins along the shoreline. In the fifties it became a popular get-a-way for the adventurous elite of Vancouver and Victoria. The lodge burned down in the mid-eighties and was rebuilt with mostly volunteer help from the people who loved the place.

The main lodge is a spectacular log building with large windows overlooking the water, overstuffed couches perfect for reading, naps, or chat and a huge fireplace that wouldn't look out of place in a medieval castle.

The food is served in a large communal dining room and can be described as perfect comfort food. Nothing fancy but wholesome and tasty.

In the main lodge, television, laptops, and cell phones are banned making it a place where reading, naps, cards, board games, and crossword puzzles dominate. For those more energetic, there are bikes and kayaks available as well as a decent tennis court and outdoor tide-filled pool.

I love the place and will be back next year and the year after.

Aside from the ban on devices, pets and children aren't welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacko3394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Our memorable times at Yellow Point began more than twenty years ago and we still are drawn back time and again. Where else can you eat, relax, and be as active as you want to, while enjoying West Coast beauty from the shore, kayak, canoe, or from a most amazing lodge... all for one reasonable price. There is good reason it is almost impossible to get a new booking if you haven't been coming on a regular basis.

Room Tip: There is a type of room for every taste and budget, you just have to read up on which would be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seoulcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We got the same weekend every year and the quality never changes. It is great value that includes accommodation, food (3 meals, snacks, wine and cheese on sat night) and all activities included. This year we kayaked, used the bikes on the trails, walked, saw whales, sea lions, otters and deer, played ping pong and spent hours reading and working on puzzles. We prefer our rustic beach cabin with a wood stove and the whole front that opens up to be 15 feet away from the lapping waves. They have all different levels of accommodation from basic lodge rooms to fancier cabins with all the amenities (ours doesn't have running water so we nip to lodge for that). People reserve the same accommodation every year so if you want to go, about a month before you plan to be in the area, call the Lodge see what cancellations have occurred and what accommodation might be available for your dates. And be prepared for a vacation as relaxed or as busy as you want.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

....you will never be disappointed! We returned after an absence of 4 years (we lost our 'spot' in January, and that meant we couldn't find an opening at a unit we preferred until this year), and were happy to discover that nothing ever changes there - same food, same service, same everything! If you really enjoy a combination of true privacy (no telephone, no television, no canned music, no internet) and true social interaction (guests eat all meals at communal tables, where the conversation is almost always stimulating and inclusive), and if you don't mind things a bit on the rustic (but comfortable) side, then you will come back year after year (as so many of us do). We have always preferred the cabins over the lodge rooms, and have always stayed in winter (so haven't been able to stay in either the hanging-over-the-beach beach cabins or the tiny one-room meadow cabins, offering no amenities other than a bed and a lamp, as they're not available in winter months). The cabins can be a bit remote - our favourite, Pilates, is the furthest out and occupies a point setting with a sublime view and utter privacy - but we enjoy the sometimes dark and stormy walks to the Lodge for our meals. We stroll the grounds, read, do crossword puzzles, play Scrabble in the Lodge's great room, lounge in the beach-side hot tub, take the occasional outdoor shower, and really enjoy being away from the usual. The food is not great, but there's more than enough of it (breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus 3 snack times), and if you get tired of real home-cooking, you can bike (bicycles are provided), hike or drive to the most wonderful pub in BC - The Crow & Gate, about 4 miles away. We're glad we returned, and have pre-booked for the same time next year. Highly recommended, as long as you're good with foregoing spa silliness/gourmet cuisine/tech anything!

Room Tip: People who stay at Yellowpoint tend to divide themselves into different groups: summer beach barrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelling_Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have been going to Yellow Point Lodge for many years, I really am not sure how long. We used to go on the May long weekend. We made friends and were always happy to seem them every year. I didn't realize what I was giving up when we decided to go to Europe one year and I gave up my May Long Weekend. What I mean is, it is difficult to get in. Once there you are able to book the following year.

Yellow Point is unique. You need to simply experience it to understand.

For a very reasonable rate your lodging, three meals, snacks, use of kayaks, bikes, salt water swimming pool, hiking trails, outdoor tree shower, tennis courts, small gym provided for the ex owner of Olympic Gym in Vancouver, Mike Hamil, hot tub, (am I missing anything) oh yes, lodge with chess, backgammon, endless book, darts, board games, ping pong, etc etc are incl.

I love Yellow Point Lodge, the staff are wonderful, the owner gets involved (throws a dance party usually on a Saturday night), the guests are great.

Recommend for sure.

Room Tip: I personally like the rustic beach cabins and think they are the best, but they are VERY rustic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngieK-SSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have been going to Yellow Point Lodge for 5 years now... and we just spent our honeymoon there. This gives us a reason to return year after year and celebrate! We have always stayed in the Lodge, but next time we are going to venture out into a beach front cabin... they are incredible!

The food is great, the staff and owners are even better. Music flows with classical during the day in the Lodge and a little acoustic performances on the Friday and Saturday nights if there are musicians staying that weekend! A great place to just leave all the devices and share in some lovely conversations with interesting people.

Room Tip: Look online... they have everything from barracks with no frills to cabins with all the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeenerMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
4.6 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
91 reviews
12.3 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,541 reviews
6.9 mi away
Castle Cove Inn
Castle Cove Inn
#8 of 10 in Chemainus
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Hillcrest Ave Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Blanket and Spoon
Blanket and Spoon
#4 of 8 in Ladysmith
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Point Lodge

Address: 3700 Yellow Point Rd, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1E8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range: £52 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Yellow Point Hotel Ladysmith
Yellow Point Lodge Ladysmith, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing