We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax in beauty”
Review of Yellow Point Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ladysmith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow Point Lodge
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relax in beauty”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Yellow point lodge is not the place to go to if you want to lose weight. But if you are looking for a place of great natural beauty and peace this is it! Situated on Vancouver island coast nearLadysmith, in woodland rich with arbutus trees, beside the shore line looking towards Salt Spring island. The accomodation is rustic ,but very Comfortable. Most rooms or cottages have wonderful views. Meals are Included in the room rates; the cooking is excellent and more than adequate; served at round tables seating 10. No computers or phones, lots of walking biking trails, in summer a pool filled with the ocean water and warmed by the sun. What more come you ask for? A great place to unwind. Then there are the people you meet! Many come back year after year, at the same time so they get to know some Of the guests well. BUT booking can be difficult because guests book a year ahead. So be warned, !oh yes! The staff are excellent and very friendly.

Room Tip: Be flexible when booking and book well ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have been guest for the past 6 years and each year it becomes more relaxing. We appreciate the beauty and the the disconnect from TV, Newspaper, computers, phones.. Only soak in the beauties of Nature. Talk with about 100 other guests, hike fabulous trails, eat great food and regather ones energy !

Room Tip: Book several years in advance or take your chances.. Once you get a reservation you KEEP the reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty65SeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This year my mother came to visit me and after visiting with friends and shopping she really needed a break from the city. So we looked around and found Yellowpoint Lodge. We had no idea how lucky we were to get a last minute booking but it became abundantly clear as soon as we got there. The lodge is gorgeous and has so much character, the staff are so friendly and helpful. The clientele is definitely older and they don't allow children under 14 but it makes for a very relaxing time. We didn't realise at first that the price included all your meals and because my mother can't have gluten we were a bit worried about that. We needn't have worried, we let the staff know and they were so accommodating. The food was wonderful for me and my mother. We stayed in the barracks on the first night and the staff emphasized us how rustic it was to the point where we were a bit hesitant. But they were lovely, a part of the wall swings right out and the ocean is all you see from bed. It is a very basic room and the bathrooms are shared but the bed are comfortable, the view is unparalleled and I loved it. We went kayaking (no extra cost), sat in chairs looking over the ocean, played scrabble, drank wine, walked the trails, sat by the fire. It really was such a wonderful time, and I can see why people go back every year. Although we were new faces, and there weren't many, everyone made us feel very welcome and at home. I can't say enough good things about Yellow Point Lodge, it's the perfect way to enjoy the west coast.

Room Tip: Depending on your style of travel they have rooms that suit everyone from the barracks (shared bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

For the past twenty years, my partner and I have been spending two or three days at Yellow Point Lodge. It is an oasis in any life, hectic or not. On our recent visit, I was reminded of the beauty of the Salish Sea (Straits of Georgia) and the incredible unique ecosystem that has been preserved at the lodge. The lodge was founded by a logging contractor who recognized the beauty of the coastline and Arbutus / Douglas Fir forest. He build a beautiful log lodge and series of simple cabins along the shoreline. In the fifties it became a popular get-a-way for the adventurous elite of Vancouver and Victoria. The lodge burned down in the mid-eighties and was rebuilt with mostly volunteer help from the people who loved the place.

The main lodge is a spectacular log building with large windows overlooking the water, overstuffed couches perfect for reading, naps, or chat and a huge fireplace that wouldn't look out of place in a medieval castle.

The food is served in a large communal dining room and can be described as perfect comfort food. Nothing fancy but wholesome and tasty.

In the main lodge, television, laptops, and cell phones are banned making it a place where reading, naps, cards, board games, and crossword puzzles dominate. For those more energetic, there are bikes and kayaks available as well as a decent tennis court and outdoor tide-filled pool.

I love the place and will be back next year and the year after.

Aside from the ban on devices, pets and children aren't welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko3394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Our memorable times at Yellow Point began more than twenty years ago and we still are drawn back time and again. Where else can you eat, relax, and be as active as you want to, while enjoying West Coast beauty from the shore, kayak, canoe, or from a most amazing lodge... all for one reasonable price. There is good reason it is almost impossible to get a new booking if you haven't been coming on a regular basis.

Room Tip: There is a type of room for every taste and budget, you just have to read up on which would be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seoulcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We got the same weekend every year and the quality never changes. It is great value that includes accommodation, food (3 meals, snacks, wine and cheese on sat night) and all activities included. This year we kayaked, used the bikes on the trails, walked, saw whales, sea lions, otters and deer, played ping pong and spent hours reading and working on puzzles. We prefer our rustic beach cabin with a wood stove and the whole front that opens up to be 15 feet away from the lapping waves. They have all different levels of accommodation from basic lodge rooms to fancier cabins with all the amenities (ours doesn't have running water so we nip to lodge for that). People reserve the same accommodation every year so if you want to go, about a month before you plan to be in the area, call the Lodge see what cancellations have occurred and what accommodation might be available for your dates. And be prepared for a vacation as relaxed or as busy as you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

....you will never be disappointed! We returned after an absence of 4 years (we lost our 'spot' in January, and that meant we couldn't find an opening at a unit we preferred until this year), and were happy to discover that nothing ever changes there - same food, same service, same everything! If you really enjoy a combination of true privacy (no telephone, no television, no canned music, no internet) and true social interaction (guests eat all meals at communal tables, where the conversation is almost always stimulating and inclusive), and if you don't mind things a bit on the rustic (but comfortable) side, then you will come back year after year (as so many of us do). We have always preferred the cabins over the lodge rooms, and have always stayed in winter (so haven't been able to stay in either the hanging-over-the-beach beach cabins or the tiny one-room meadow cabins, offering no amenities other than a bed and a lamp, as they're not available in winter months). The cabins can be a bit remote - our favourite, Pilates, is the furthest out and occupies a point setting with a sublime view and utter privacy - but we enjoy the sometimes dark and stormy walks to the Lodge for our meals. We stroll the grounds, read, do crossword puzzles, play Scrabble in the Lodge's great room, lounge in the beach-side hot tub, take the occasional outdoor shower, and really enjoy being away from the usual. The food is not great, but there's more than enough of it (breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus 3 snack times), and if you get tired of real home-cooking, you can bike (bicycles are provided), hike or drive to the most wonderful pub in BC - The Crow & Gate, about 4 miles away. We're glad we returned, and have pre-booked for the same time next year. Highly recommended, as long as you're good with foregoing spa silliness/gourmet cuisine/tech anything!

Room Tip: People who stay at Yellowpoint tend to divide themselves into different groups: summer beach barrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelling_Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
4.6 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
12.3 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
97.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
98.1 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
3.5 mi away
Beachside Garden B & B
Beachside Garden B & B
#1 of 8 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Point Lodge

Property: Yellow Point Lodge
Address: 3700 Yellow Point Rd, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1E8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Yellow Point Hotel Ladysmith
Yellow Point Lodge Ladysmith, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing