We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
420
20
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
20
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass of winevancouver islandwonderful hostsbeautiful landscapinghosts warren and vernafresh ingredientshumming birdsgourmet breakfastthe water's edgestayed longerlocal wildlifelovely homebed and breakfastquiet locationwonderful stayguest roomsold friends
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a great time at the Beachside Garden and the hosts Warren & Verna are very friendly and on top of a warm welcome provided a lot of advice on things to do and places to check out.
Yummmmmy cooked breakfast and delicious freshly made fruit juice served every morning!
There is a reason why this fantastic B&B is rated one of the 25 top places to stay in Canada!
Just one thing: do not intend to go there without a car!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are so happy that you had a great time with us, enjoyed our breakfasts, and had some wonderful time exploring various places and attractions on our beautiful Vancouver Island. There are so much to do and to see here. Unfortunately one would be very handicapped without a car.
We have enjoyed your delightful company. Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to endorse us with this fabulous review. It is very kind of you. We sincerely hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at Beachside Garden this spring and were very happy all around. The place is fully wheelchair accessible (not always easy to find), the location is beautiful (right on the water looking back at Ladysmith) and the hosts are very friendly.

Great spot if you want to watch the birds, explore the beach or just relax with a book.

Room Tip: One of the rooms was built to be fully accessible.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingWithWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

When we planned our B&B, we paid particular attention and built to enhance accessibility for people with mobility issues. We are so glad that this feature has served you well; and that you were very happy with your stay with us. We enjoyed your company. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great stop for a night or two as you travel around Vancouver Island. We wanted to stay here to visit the nearby Crow & Gate Pub (English-style country pub), and while that was great, we also had a fun time relaxing with the hosts at the B&B as well. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We certainly had a great time visiting with you as well. We are pleased that you found it quiet and peaceful here, and that your stay was excellent. Thank you so much for your very kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

With having two busy work schedules, we made our reservation last minute and we're so thankful a room was available. We ended up leaving our home late, caught dinner around 6pm, went to Chamainus Theater for an 8pm showing and so didn't get to the B&B till close to 11pm. We were greeted with big smiles and welcomed to their beautiful home. They went the extra mile; they had flowers and a card wishing us a Happy Anniversary. After an amazing sleep on an incredible bed, we were served hot coffee and seated outside to a beautiful view of the ocean and mountains where we were then served an amazing breakfast...we suggested they apply for Canada's Master Chef. We then were shown the grounds and had a lovely visit. We really wanted to stay an extra night but we needed to be home by Sunday.
If you need to relax...this is the place you need to be!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanislander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are honored that you had included us on your itinerary to celebrate your anniversary; and are truly happy that your day was perfect. We had a wonderful time visiting with you as well. Thank you so much for staying with us and for your fabulous review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Everything about this retreat is perfect: as you drive through beautiful southern Vancouver Island, you approach the Bed and Breakfast along a driveway bordered by a riot of colours and the most beautiful landscaping. You are then warmly greeted by Verna and Warren who will go out of their way to make your stay the best ever. From the gourmet breakfast and coffee waiting for you in the morning to the pleasant visit by the water in the gazebo with wine and beer, from the helpful directions and the extra attention, everything is taken care of. I almost cried having to leave this beautiful place. Thanks Warren and Verna................

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mieke557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

What a real treat it was to have you stayed with us. We had a great time visiting with you and having various delightful conversations. We are so happy that you have enjoyed yourselves here as well as exploring Vancouver Island. It was sad to say goodbye. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews