We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachside Garden B & B
Ranked #1 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Found Beachside through trip advisor while planning my honeymoon around the Island. Sounded good so we planned to stop in Ladysmith for a night. Wish we had stayed longer. The other reviews pretty much cover it. Personally I most enjoyed being welcomed with a cold bevy and spending a couple of hours sitting on the patio chatting with Warren and Verna. Such wonderful people and an outstanding view. We kept getting distracted by seals playing in the water right in front of us. When we arrived in our room we discovered they had left us a congratulatory card and gift. It's a bit of a drive off the highway, but absolutely worth it. We will definitely return.

Oh, and the restaurants W and V recommend are great too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xtreme_canucklehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We were honoured that you stayed with us for your honeymoon, allowing us the opportunity to share your joy. Glad you weren't disappointed as we totally enjoyed your company and visiting with you. We wish you lifetime of happiness and fulfilment together. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
78
270
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at this beach house. The moment we arrived there, our breath was taken away by the amazing view! The house is situated right on a private beach, not to mention its huge, well-landscaped garden. All rooms are beautifully furnished and sparkly clean. The breakfast was so delicious, you can really feel the effort the hosts put in preparing them. Verna gave me very helpful ideas as to the surrounding areas. Following her suggestions, we had a great visit to the areas nearby. One night stay is definitely not enough. The moment you get there, you simply want to relax and calm down your mind. Warren and Verna tried to meet all our requests: from BBQ to the boat. I have stayed at quite a few B&B on Vancouver Island, but the Beachside Garden B&B is definitely the BEST ONE! Come and try it yourself. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Yes, we agree with you that the view is not only spectacular, but very calming and soothing as well. We are very happy that you stayed with us, and had a fantastic time not only here with us, but with the various attractions in the area. Thank you so much for your very kind and generous review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Verna and Warren have created a spectacular dream home with gardens to rival Butchart. The three guest rooms, kitchenette and inside dining area are in a secured, private wing. The Peony Room, while not overly large, was well appointed with a comfortable bed and large bathroom, both of which were spotless. The hardwood floors, mouldings, and tasteful decorations gave the place an upscale but not pretentious feel. The outdoor dining area, beautiful yard, and gazebo are steps away from the water and perfect spots for breakfast, an afternoon break, or an evening chat with other guests and the hosts or by yourself. The breakfasts, prepared with great pride by Verna and Warren, were outstanding and better than anything you would get at a fancy restaurant. We had souffle-like raspberry French toast with lemon sauce and mushroom frittata. Though we had planned to stay just one night, after such a restful sleep, yummy breakfast and delightful company, we nearly begged to stay a second night. Warren and Verna were very helpful with recommendations for dinner, siteseeing, and ferry information as well as sharing their gardening expertise. After two days, they felt like close friends. This place is a 'must stay' if you visit Vancouver Island.

Room Tip: The Peony room is closest to the water and has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miramikeadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for this very flattering and comprehensive review. We are very happy that you stayed for a couple of nights so we got to know you much better. We totally enjoyed your delightful company, and are glad that everything worked out perfectly here for you. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our visit to this B&B exceded our expectations in every way to gracious hosts,lovely accomodations,beautiful gardens,and delicious breakfasts.Verna was able to give great recommondations on where to eat and activities in the area.I will definitely be returning and would highly recommend you include this B&B in your vacation plans,you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are so happy that your stay has exceeded your expectations; and you were perfect guests - so happy and so appreciative, one could not have asked for better. We had a wonderful time with you and we look forward to your return. Thank you so much for this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Bob and Verna have a beautiful home and beautiful gardens on a wonderful piece of land overlooking the water. They have thought of every detail that a traveler might desire and made sure they have it covered. Breakfasts are creative, hearty, delicious and presented beautifully. Bob and Verna made themselves readily available to help us navigate the area and made excellent suggestions for meals and activities. They are warm and accommodating and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms are comfortable and cozy and we enjoyed a great spacious bathroom. This beachfront hideaway was everything we could have wanted. (and you can easily access the beach and waterfront via a few steps down the yard).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kebjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are equally glad you found us as well! We totally enjoyed your company - warm, friendly and so considerate. We are truly happy that you had a lovely time at our B&B and the local area attractions and restaurants. We hope you'll come back to see us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Warren and Verna run a great operation. We were warmly greeted on our arrival and immediately offered a cold beverage (since it was a fairly warm day). Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. Being such a warm day we availed ourselves to some time in the water down on the beach. We had a refreshing swim while also getting to see some of the local sea life (crabs and starfish). Breakfast was served on the outside patio where we could watch a couple seals most likely looking to catch their own breakfast. This B & B may be a little off the beaten path, but is well worth the drive.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
It was really great having you, and we do like your bikes! So glad you had fun here - enjoying the swim and the sea life. Thank you so much for your very kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Warren and Verna are exceptional hosts. They are friendly and helpful in every way. We arrived by sailboat and Warren was waiting to help with moorage in front of Beachside Garden. This was our second visit and we enjoyed reconnecting with Warren and Verna and meeting new friends.

The facilities provide a casual setting with stunning waterside views. The rooms and breakfast meal are first class. All in all, our favorite B&B

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It was so nice seeing you again, reconnecting with you, and getting to know you better. Warren enjoyed the opportunity of visiting your lovely boat as well. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay here. Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
14.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,386 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
84 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
44.2 mi away
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.7 mi away
Blanket and Spoon
Blanket and Spoon
#3 of 8 in Ladysmith
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Garden B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Garden B & B

Property: Beachside Garden B & B
Address: 3788 Fearn Way, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1K7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachside Garden B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice 2014 Winner......Walk-on beach oceanfront luxury home with spectacular ocean view and an acre of exquisite ornamental garden, our B&B is custom built with your comfort in mind, and is wheelchair accessible. It is located in beautiful Yellow Point area, on the east side of Ladysmith Harbor. Elegantly decorated, each room has ocean view, queen bed, private en-suite, TV, air-conditioning and WiFi Internet. This is paradise for scuba-divers, kayakers, swimmers, sunbathers and gardeners. A place to relax and to rejuvenate. We pamper you with scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beachside Garden B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Garden B & B Ladysmith, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing