We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Bakery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Bakery

Old Town Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Ladysmith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fresh,and tasty. I buy raisin bread early in the morning to toast with my coffee. Birthday cakes are awesome and they have the worlds best cinnamon buns

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    29
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Canada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I am always in search for the best baking and pastries. I've been to a plethora of bakeries in Canada and this is one of the best!
Vancouver Island is a gem for bakeries but this definitely was the best! I would highly recommend it for lunch or a treat!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best bakery gem on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

OMG, what a wonderful bakery.. I still crave those darn cinnamon buns and the cream puffs. Get there early otherwise you may find some empty shelves.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cinnamon buns ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

You feel like a chewy gooey affordable big cinnamon bun? Then that's the place to go! My favorite is the chocolate pecan but really they are all good! I love their fresh breads too! Best cheese bread ever! So happy I live so close to this bakery!

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Find a Little Piece of Heaven in a Cinnamon Bun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am a self-described cinnamon bun connoisseur. And whenever I travel to some place new, if I see a local bakery, I stop in to see what they have. There is a caveat, however: if the bun costs in the neighbourhood of $5 or more, I pass. It is, after all, just a cinnamon bun - not a meal. And unfortunately, you cannot tell by appearance whether or not a cinnamon bun will be what you imagine it should be.

So we are returning to Victoria from a drive up the coast and decide to pull into each little town that we pass. I had never heard of Ladysmith, but now this name will live in my memory forever as the place that houses one of the best bakeries ever. And I say this based on just ONE cinnamon bun. It was so good that it made me think, how can they go wrong with anything else?

In my time, I have had doughy, dense, over-buttery and so-sweet-your-teeth-hurt type of cinnamon buns from bakeries. This one was PERFECT in texture, taste and sweetness. I got the one with almonds - which was a taste adventure in itself - and could not believe how good it was. Had I known, I very likely would have purchased a half dozen of the different varieties that they feature.

We are not likely to pass by this way often, so that's the sad part. I highly recommend anyone who is a cinnamon bun fanatic to come by and have one for me... oh, and it will only cost you $2.95.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boromach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town Bakery also viewed

Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
 
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
 
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Old Town Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing