We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I HIGHLY recommend Hawley Place B & B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I HIGHLY recommend Hawley Place B & B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were greeted on our arrival with glasses of homemade lemonade. That definitely got us off on the right foot. Our room (China Rose) was very spacious and had its own en suite bath. I chose it because it has a king size bed, and it is not always easy to find B & Bs with king sized beds. The owners had books and movies and games galore. There was not a single nicety they had overlooked. We enjoyed sitting in the chairs on the porch, reading and taking in the beauty of the garden and the hummingbirds. The Transfer Beach Park was a very short distance from their home, and we enjoyed time spent there, as well. We were directed to a fine restaurant for dinner, and as visitors to the island, I can guarantee we would never have found it on our own. What a lovely meal and evening! Ed and Rhonda were gracious hosts in every sense of the word. And breakfast..........it was outstanding!! My mouth is watering just remembering that scrumptious cheese souffle. I am a "foodie", and I would stay at Hawley B & B for the breakfast alone, never mind that it has everything else to offer. And did I mention the reasonable rate and its convenient, easy-to-find location just off the island highway? My only regret is that we had scheduled only one night's stay with them. Thank you, Rhonda and Ed!! I surely hope to see you again.

Room Tip: China Rose for a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Really fantastic one night stay in this lovely Victorian style home located very close to Ladysmith Town Center. It is walking distance to many amenities and just a short hop off the highway. The house itself is gorgeous, lovely period decor and antique furnishings. Beds are extremely comfy and abundance of pillows. The beauty products supplied were of high quality. I loved the fresh flowers in every room! The hosts make an effort to ensure you get the most out of your island visit. They provide you with maps, tourist brochures, resturant recommendations. There is even a weather forecast so you can plan your trip! The hosts, Rhonda and Ed, were absolutely fantastic and very accomadating. The food was amazing... cheese souffle was too die for! bacon and asparagus, heavenly! A wonderful break from the big city and I highly recommend this to anyone travelling to the Ladysmith area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icedkachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

When I think of what makes a B&B experience enjoyable for me, I think of a welcoming place that provides a comfy down home feel, with clean, homey appointments and rooms, and good fare in the morning to share with congenial hosts. The Hawley Place B&B tucked just off the Island Hwy in Ladysmith is just that and more. The house appears to be a grand Victorian home, but is actually relatively recent in construction. The gardens, house, and decor are inviting and make you want to grab a book and settle in for a good read. The bed-rooms are all themed, spacious, and each has its own full bathroom - a definite plus in the B&B world! Breakfast in the morning was simple hearty, yet elegant fare - cheese souffle with ham, juice, yogurt and plenty of coffee. All of this is offered by Ed and Rhonda whose warm hospitality makes you want to stick around for kitchen conversations for half the day. This is a definite find to add to any holiday, any time of the year. They even do small and intimate weddings and have the perfect gardens for a small party.

Room Tip: For a romantic evening - select the China Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This B&B is run by two of the nicest people you will ever meet. They make you feel right at home, and supply anything that you could possibly need during your stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable and cleen. The breakfast was one of the best that I have ever had. My stay was so wonderful that I would suggest to anyone staying in Victoria, to drive the little way and sleep here as apposed to the over priced, crowded hotels in the city. Don't miss out on this gem of a place.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which one you stay in, they will all be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassidy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our 1st Anniversary, and we can't wait to go back! As we enjoy travelling and experiencing new places, we can say firmly that we will be repeat guests. Not a detail was missed and their charming personalities were seen. I might add that the blueberry muffins and German crepes were outstanding....something my husband will never forget. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursinglpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
108 Mile Ranch, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Ed and Rhonda, have not forgotten a single detail with this gorgeous B&B. The place is spotless and the grounds are perfectly groomed. The rooms each have their own bathroom. The beds are very comfortable and have every luxury that one would expect in a high end hotel room. The breakfast in the morning is sooo yummy. Rhonda is a very good chef. Ed makes a pretty good cup of coffee too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greengreen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at the Hawley Place B & B and Ed & Rhonda are exceptional hosts. Beautiful breakfasts, lovely room and great hospitality - who can ask for anything more :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolcanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
4.0 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
14.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beachside Garden B & B
Beachside Garden B & B
#1 of 8 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Page Point Inn & Marina
Page Point Inn & Marina
#5 of 8 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blanket and Spoon
Blanket and Spoon
#2 of 8 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 Hawley Pl, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1X9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME to clean, comfort, luxury in our beautiful Victorian replica home and guest rooms with private en-suites. Close to the ocean, Transfer Beach, Holland Creek hiking trails, shopping, theatre, family and fine dining. Free wifi, complimentary soft drinks and front porch rockers and garden to relax in. Pretty Ladysmith is your central island destination for many day trips taking you south to wineries, Duncan known as city of totems, Chemainus murals, Historic Ladysmith, Cedar and Yellowpoint Artisans, Coombs (Goats on the Roof) and Cathedral Grove (old tree forest). We are part of the Cowichan valley, come stay and explore the best part of the island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawley Place Bed And Breakfast Ladysmith, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing