We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richness Of India - Exquisite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Richness Of India - Exquisite!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I can't say enough about the Hawley Place Bed & Breakfast, the location near the water for its peace and quiet, the luxury of the three guest suites on the top floor (beautiful linens, rooms with sitting area and electric fireplace, TV and your own separate bathroom) and for the beautiful breakfast made and served in the dining room with lovely antique tea cups by the hosts - Rhonda and Ed Shirley. You also have a private sunken living room to meet and greet other guests if you so desire. The lawn would be perfect for a wedding with its fish pond and gazebo. Local small children refer to this place as "the castle" because of its charming exterior with wrap around deck and turret that can be reached from the Richness of India guest suite. Seeing is believing!

I can't wait to return and use Hawley Place as my home base to spend more time hiking the Holland Creek Trials and visiting the towns in and around Ladysmith - Chemainus with its murals, Duncan with its totem poles and Yellowpoint with its famous Crow & Gate English Pub!

Room Tip: The guest rooms are theme rooms with three to choose from -- all are lovely. See the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hawley Place, Ladysmith is the first b&b we stayed at when we came to Vancouver Island this September. We were met at the front door of this delightful home by our gracious hosts, Ed and Rhonda. We stayed in the the Richness of India room which is so comfortable and cozy. When I had made the reservations, Rhonda and I were chatting and I mentioned I had made Nanaimo bars years ago and I was looking forward to having real Nanaimo bars from Nanaimo. Well...when we arrived at this b&b, Rhonda had made bars...they were waiting for us and they were rich and yummy! Ed and Rhonda made and served our delicious breakfasts each morning. As we spent each morning chatting with them and they let us know where we should be going in the area and things to do and see, like Goats on Roof in Coombs! I picked up a Goats on Roof apron there...so cute! Thank you, Rhonda and Ed, for the warm welcome and most excellent hospitality. Bonnie and Charlie, Portland OR

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B - C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Of all the B and B's we've stayed in the last 26 years, this is now on our top 3 list. Rhonda and Ed are warm, considerate and thoughtful hosts (funny, too). Staying at their B & B was like visiting friends, but none of our friends would make sumptuous breakfasts like Rhonda! You don't have worry about any dietary substitutions, Rhonda has it covered. We stayed in the China Rose room, very lovely, big and super clean, super comfy king size bed Every little detail was thought of for your stay--the usual toiletries, beverages, iron, etc., plus, in the plush parlour, there were always freshly baked goodies for you to nibble on, in case you ever got hungry (not too likely after the filling breakfast, but great for a late afternoon or evening snack). We loved our stay and chats with our hosts. Next time we visit that part of the island, this is where we'll be.
Angela and Gary

Room Tip: We chose the China Rose room, which I think is the biggest, though we did sneak a peek in the Safari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Without doing too much researching, we picked Hawley Place B&B in Ladysmith, simply because it's located near Nanaimo and everywhere else we would like to explore in Vancouver Island. But once we arrived there, we felt like itself shall be listed as one of the top attractions that everyone shall definitely visit. As we entered our Africa Safari Room, we were amazed by every single inanimate object that Rhonda and Ed brought to life. Every element in here is a wow-factor. If you haven't been to Nanaimo or Ladysmith, I'd definitely recommend this place for your stay. You'd be impressed by how much thoughts Rhonda and Ed put into Hawley Place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Rhonda and Ed were the perfect hosts - kind, thoughtful, gracious, generous and good humoured. The food was "to die for" and in our case made lots of substitutions to deal with gluten intolerance and other dietary needs. In every instance they went the extra mile. They played an important part in a very successful family gathering. It was so perfect we look forward to our next visit. Peter and Deborah

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Saanich, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hawley Place. Our children (who have stayed there a number of times) gave us a Gift Certificate for a nights stay. Just coming up the driveway to this Bed and Breakfast was amazing. Our hosts, Rhonda and Ed welcomed us in taking us up to the China Room, which was large and cozy at the same time. There is so much thought and detail put into each room in the house.
Rhonda and Ed were very informative on the whole area with lots of ideas on what to do and see while were there.
Our night was so relaxing and to then wake up to the perfect breakfast..fresh fruit, cheese scouffle, asparagus, back bacon and much more...topped it off.
Our thanks again and to our children!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in the China Rose Room, with a good size seating area and comfortable king size bed. The owners left us chocolates, energy bars, tea, coffee, candies, fresh cream and milk for our coffee, and cold drinks. There was a flat screen TV, VCR/DVD and videos, fresh flowers, private en suite with hair dryers, WiFi computer and a library of books, magazines, and tourist brochures. For breakfast, we had cheese and onion soufflé, grilled asparagus and peppers, fruit salad, a parfait of yogurt with granola and berries, a choice of scone, muffin or cinnabun, coffee and a variety of juices. Whew! We did not leave hungry. Loved this place and will definiteley go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
14.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,423 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hillcrest Ave Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus
3.8 mi away
Castle Cove Inn
Castle Cove Inn
#8 of 10 in Chemainus
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 Hawley Pl, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1X9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME to clean, comfort, luxury in our beautiful Victorian replica home and guest rooms with private en-suites. Close to the ocean, Transfer Beach, Holland Creek hiking trails, shopping, theatre, family and fine dining. Free wifi, complimentary soft drinks and front porch rockers and garden to relax in. Pretty Ladysmith is your central island destination for many day trips taking you south to wineries, Duncan known as city of totems, Chemainus murals, Historic Ladysmith, Cedar and Yellowpoint Artisans, Coombs (Goats on the Roof) and Cathedral Grove (old tree forest). We are part of the Cowichan valley, come stay and explore the best part of the island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawley Place Bed And Breakfast Ladysmith, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing