We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday House Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday House Motel
Ranked #7 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
kelowna,bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Excellent over all,Manager excellent when arriving,overall service,basically no complaints,

Room cleaniness excellent,tv,furnishings great,deck clean view fantastic,
I would recommend for any family.
Overall good place to stay

Room Tip: very happy with ladysmith holiday house motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merv d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
8
5
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have never written a review before, I'm sorry if it is long-winded! This Christmas I was visiting family in the area so I read all the reviews and had someone check this hotel beforehand in person. This research seemed to confirm the good reviews: nice employees, very dated but clean rooms, and a decent price that included breakfast. We are not at all picky and liked the location so cancelled the marginally more expensive ($10/night) and modern chain hotel 20 min away. Unfortunately when we checked in we found there was no heat in the room. The old central boiler system was not providing heat but not wanting to be a bother we borrowed an electric heater from family (the owner offered one also). Over the three nights we had no heat except the electric and would have changed rooms but were under the impression it would start working. We tripped the breaker a couple of times (due to the added heater) and were without power until it was re-set centrally. Also there was no hot water one day. No breakfast 2 out of 3 days due to the holiday. Not their fault but not ours either so considering everything I kindly asked to discuss a possible discount on checkout, much as I would with any other hotel. I felt bad later for doing this as it obviously insulted the owner but I didn't deserve the response. He began to insult our party, stating we had done nothing but complain since we had arrived (not true - just inquired about the heat, as one of the party was a senior) and he told us he regretted giving us the special rate. He produced a bill for the hotel heating fuel and was visibly upset about the cost. He told us to stay elsewhere next time and quoted how much more we would pay (not true - we found similar prices on-line or walk-in rates). Although this was upsetting in the end I felt sorry for this elderly owner who is obviously in financial hardship trying to run an aging hotel. Perhaps I should be encouraging people to stay here to support his business, but if you do I suggest you do not ask for too much (anything?) or be prepared to get an unpleasant "lecture". I truly want to support local business but I can't risk staying here next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LivingCoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ladysmith hotels

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The rooms are a good size, come with all the amenities you need, and all decks have an ocean view. Old motel but very clean. Staff is extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. I've stayed at bigger hotels paying $150+ where the service was very poor and the rooms weren't as clean. Sometimes the smaller motels are more enjoyable. Spending more doesn't always mean you get more. I would definately stay again and recommend it to anyone looking to save a few bucks for a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville,nc
Level Contributor
318 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

not fancy, but clean and neat. hotel is on main route....so rather noisy from road traffic. Right across the street from the water and the park. Which had a music festival and fireworks the night I stayed. Cute little town with friendly people. The room had two beds with all the normal things, refrig etc. My rate was like $100. Just a spot to rest while traveling thru. Rate included breakfast at a coffee shop across the street which was good!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Would never stay here again. Just looked dirty. One of those places that you have to rip the bed apart to ensure you're not sleeping in someone elses filth. Very old needs updates and the price was ridiculous for what you get. Understandably one of the only hotels in Ladysmith so they obviously think they can charge whatever they like and not take care of the place. If you can help it do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LYVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hot, noisy room right on the Trans Canada Highway. True, a peek-a-boo view of the water, but who cares to sit on a balcony of peeling paint overlooking a high-speed motorway? Also, it smelled badly of cigarettes: "no-smoking room" means the ashtray is removed and put on the balcony with the plastic chairs and tables. Cigarette burn in the sheets, in fact. Couldn't ever get anyone on the front desk to answer the phone, couldn't get the password to log in to the internet as a result. Ancient television that actually worked, no DVD or movies of course. Gross bathroom complete with caked soap stuck on the old vinyl tubwall unit, hairdryer unit ripped off the wall and not replaced. The "best" part was arriving in the parking lot to a couple of questionable looking men using the lot wall for archery practice with metal arrows and a high-tech bow. Not very reassuring, although they turned out to be okay people once we talked to them. The breakfast included at the price was excellent, hosted at the "In the Beantime" coffee shop across the street. Ladysmith is a really great town, lots to see and do in terms of tourism in the area, and it is a lovely site. Too bad they cannot offer a better hotel, and it's really too bad they allowed a huge motorway to cut off the town's access to the beautiful beach park. It is not pleasant to "stroll" along the highway to get to the beach. We much prefer the town of Chemainus a few miles to the south as a result of the ruinous effect of the traffic on Ladysmith...the sound carries from the trans canada right up the hillside even onto the beautiful heritage high street, and folks are still ignoring speed limits in the town and roaring around. They need some traffic control...and a good hotel! Lots of B&B's, but they need a real hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We were two seniors on a scooter holiday and we had a wonderful time. The room at Holiday House was spotless, supplies abundant, hosts could not do enough for us. We plugged our scooters in just outside our door. The location was perfect for day trips even to Chemainus (bring your charger). Pacific Companion is a private type of handydart service that has very reasonable rate from Departure Bay Ferry to Ladysmith. There is a fantastic Thrift store and a whole townful of friendly people We would recommend Holiday House to all travellers. Thank you for a wonderful four days.

Thia from Vancouver

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollingcrone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
2.6 mi away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
13.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Beachside Garden B & B
Beachside Garden B & B
#1 of 8 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hillcrest Ave Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House Motel

Property: Holiday House Motel
Address: 540 Esplanade, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1A6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Motel Ladysmith, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing