We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Inn”
Review of The Inn on Bay

The Inn on Bay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn on Bay
Ranked #2 of 10 Gravenhurst B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Charming Inn”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We love this B&B and the innkeeper, Jen. We stayed in the Muskoka suite, it's very large and spacious with a European King sized bed and an adjoining sitting room complete with a television and electric fireplace. We stayed here Super Bowl Sunday, so having a television made my husband especially happy. The entire inn is beautiful, tastefully decorated and is designed for comfort. The inn is a short walk to both the town and the wharf. Jen is a very gracious hostess who was accommodating to our needs as well as friendly and welcoming. I can't say enough about Jen and her Inn; if you have the opportunity to visit Gravenhurst, stay at the Inn on Bay, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grand Muskoka Suite, it's the largest suite in the inn with a separate sun room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This is a wonderful place. The rooms are beautifully dedcorated. The breakfast that Jen prepares is one of the best I have ever had. Jen is very pleasant and really cares about the comfort and happiness of her guests. We stayed for 2 nights. During the day we drove through Algonquin park and the Muskokas to view the great fall colors.
Highly recommended !

Room Tip: I prefer to stay in the rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IpreferInns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My partner and I spent 2 lovely nights at the Inn on Bay in July. Jen and Tyler (and their sweet little baby girl!) were lovely hosts! Jen was full of tips and stories and she was beyond charming and welcoming. Her french toast was to die for and the homemade cookies available throughout the day were yummy. Our room was very clean and well appointed, with a ceiling fan and an air conditioner. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we slept like babies! We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cocosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed for just one night and got the elmview suite. My hubby slept like a baby. Loved the Victorian home and the tub added an even more Victorian touch. Would have loved it more if it was ensuite. Breakfast was very good and lots of healthy choices. We enjoyed the conversations with Jen. She made sure everything was taken cared of. would definitely recommend to friends. Very clean and spotless.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alena_724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qutoharp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed at the Inn on Bay when we were attending a wedding in the Gravenhurst area. The suite was lovely, the bed comfortable and the atmosphere of the Inn very welcoming. Jen and Tyler were great hosts and Jen went out of her way to make sure that our food allergies were taken into consideration. Friends of ours stayed at the Inn as well. We all enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who is spending time in Gravenhurst.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank autoharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto ON
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

My fiancee and I stayed in the Algonquin Suite (main floor) at the Inn on Bay in Gravenhurst while we were there for a weekend getaway.

The room was lovely and featured a luxurious king-sized bed, fireplace, flat screen TV and DVD player, and a great bathroom. Everything was very clean. The only less-than-stellar aspect of the room's decor was that the white carpet was showing some wear-and-tear and should be replaced, but it was clean. The only other (slight) downside was that the room was lacking ceiling fans, which made it pretty stuffy in the 40-degree heat. The proprietor did tell us that two had been purchased for the room though, and that they would be installed at some point.

I was worried that there would be a lot of ambient noise in the room since it's on the main level, but it was completely quiet.

The breakfasts were amazing. I was served the best french toast I've ever eaten, and there was a lot of variety offered (fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, cereal, toast, plus the hot breakfast of they day).

For a stay in Gravenhurst, the location couldn't be better. It's a two-minute walk to the shops and boutiques on the main drag, and just as short a walking distance to the stellar North Restaurant. A two-minute drive to the wharf and quick access to the highway!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copycait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnBay, Owner at The Inn on Bay, responded to this review, 8 September 2009
Shortly after this guest stayed at the Inn, air conditioning units were installed in all of our suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed at the Inn on Bay for a full two weeks while doing some work near Gravenhurst. It was perfect. The rooms are beautiful -- understated and comfortable with nice designer touches. The breakfast is amazing, home baked goodies every morning, along with pancakes, french toast, omelettes, etc. Jen and Tyler are great hosts who do everything possible to make sure you feel at home. We will recommend this place to anyone we know traveling in the area, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
21.6 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
5.2 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
24 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Bay

Property: The Inn on Bay
Address: 291 Bay St, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn On Bay in Gravenhurst offers boutique inn accommodation in the Muskoka region! Enjoy a short walk to the Muskoka wharf, steamship cruises, Heritage Museum, downtown Gravenhurst, Gull Lake & Bethune House. A Georgian-style retreat featuring casual elegance, Muskoka style. Hot breakfast served daily, wireless high speed internet, en-suite bathrooms, guest computer terminal, sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Bay Gravenhurst, Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing