We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this B&B!”
Review of The Inn on Bay

The Inn on Bay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn on Bay
Ranked #3 of 10 Gravenhurst B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“We love this B&B!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We made our annual trip to The Muskokas and stayed, once again, at The Inn on Bay - our fourth visit. It is a lovely B&B with very nice rooms, great breakfasts, and of course, wonderful hosts. It is situated within walking distance of Muskoka Wharf and the main street of Gravenhurst. Our only regret is that we missed seeing Jen, Tyler and their children but had the pleasure of meeting Susan and John (and Sookie!) this time around. We look forward to returning in 2014! David and Barbara

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King City, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed at the Inn for a couple days in November and it was great! A quiet little weekend away from the city and our hosts were fantastic.. I would send friends and go again myself without hesitation..

Room Tip: The suit with its own semi-private bathroom is likely to be different then you might think off the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Clean, comfortable and a delicious breakfast. The location is great and very central for exploring any Muskoka lake. The rooms are all spacious, quiet and have their own washrooms. A great spot for anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keirvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Midway between Bala and Bracebridge, the Inn on the Bay, Gravenhurst is very well situated for travel in the Muskoka area. We stayed in the Muskoka suite and found it to be very private and comfortable. It has a wonderful, bright, private sun porch and a very comfy king sized bed. The ensuite bathrom boasts a lovely free standing clawfoot bath tub. You have access to tea, coffee, and wonderful home made cookies throughout the day plus the use of a small fridge, microwave, wine and water glasses, plates and cutlery. Breakfast is excellent, served in the former living room of this graceful century home which apparently once belonged to a local lumber baron, Jen is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We spoke to another couple who stay at he Inn on the Bay at least once a year. The other suites appeared to be not quite as spacious but equally comfy and clean. Each suite has its own private bathroom but one requires guests to go across the hall. High speed wireless internet is available, free and fast. We loved Inn on the Bay and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

At the very last minute, I called to make a reservation at the Inn on Bay only to find out that the owners were leaving for the weekend, understandably, as it was the month of July. Instead of being turned around, my partner and I were offered the place up to ourselves for the weekend. The owners rented us the biggest room at the lowest rate since they weren't going to be available for us during our stay however, they had stocked the fridge with loads of fresh fruit and had even prepared the coffee pot for us for the next morning (the little details...).

The place was so charming - the solarium attached to the Muskoka Suite was divine but nothing could top the beautiful clawfoot bathtub in the bathroom.

My only disapointment was not being able to meet the owners.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in the Muskoka room (4 adults, one night). The B&B owner (Jen) was extremely helpful and accommodative of our late arrival. The room had a huge bed and plenty of space, with a smaller side-room (a kind of a sun room) with a sofa-bed. The sofa-bed was very comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The breakfast was great too; and we hope we can come back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We love this B&B and the innkeeper, Jen. We stayed in the Muskoka suite, it's very large and spacious with a European King sized bed and an adjoining sitting room complete with a television and electric fireplace. We stayed here Super Bowl Sunday, so having a television made my husband especially happy. The entire inn is beautiful, tastefully decorated and is designed for comfort. The inn is a short walk to both the town and the wharf. Jen is a very gracious hostess who was accommodating to our needs as well as friendly and welcoming. I can't say enough about Jen and her Inn; if you have the opportunity to visit Gravenhurst, stay at the Inn on Bay, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grand Muskoka Suite, it's the largest suite in the inn with a separate sun room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
21.6 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
314 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
38 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Bay

Property: The Inn on Bay
Address: 291 Bay St, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn On Bay in Gravenhurst offers boutique inn accommodation in the Muskoka region! Enjoy a short walk to the Muskoka wharf, steamship cruises, Heritage Museum, downtown Gravenhurst, Gull Lake & Bethune House. A Georgian-style retreat featuring casual elegance, Muskoka style. Hot breakfast served daily, wireless high speed internet, en-suite bathrooms, guest computer terminal, sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Bay Gravenhurst, Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing