We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Tremendous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Bay

The Inn on Bay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn on Bay
Ranked #4 of 9 Gravenhurst B&B and Inns
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Tremendous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

My partner and I spent 2 lovely nights at the Inn on Bay in July. Jen and Tyler (and their sweet little baby girl!) were lovely hosts! Jen was full of tips and stories and she was beyond charming and welcoming. Her french toast was to die for and the homemade cookies available throughout the day were yummy. Our room was very clean and well appointed, with a ceiling fan and an air conditioner. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we slept like babies! We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cocosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed for just one night and got the elmview suite. My hubby slept like a baby. Loved the Victorian home and the tub added an even more Victorian touch. Would have loved it more if it was ensuite. Breakfast was very good and lots of healthy choices. We enjoyed the conversations with Jen. She made sure everything was taken cared of. would definitely recommend to friends. Very clean and spotless.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alena_724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qutoharp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed at the Inn on Bay when we were attending a wedding in the Gravenhurst area. The suite was lovely, the bed comfortable and the atmosphere of the Inn very welcoming. Jen and Tyler were great hosts and Jen went out of her way to make sure that our food allergies were taken into consideration. Friends of ours stayed at the Inn as well. We all enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who is spending time in Gravenhurst.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank autoharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

My fiancee and I stayed in the Algonquin Suite (main floor) at the Inn on Bay in Gravenhurst while we were there for a weekend getaway.

The room was lovely and featured a luxurious king-sized bed, fireplace, flat screen TV and DVD player, and a great bathroom. Everything was very clean. The only less-than-stellar aspect of the room's decor was that the white carpet was showing some wear-and-tear and should be replaced, but it was clean. The only other (slight) downside was that the room was lacking ceiling fans, which made it pretty stuffy in the 40-degree heat. The proprietor did tell us that two had been purchased for the room though, and that they would be installed at some point.

I was worried that there would be a lot of ambient noise in the room since it's on the main level, but it was completely quiet.

The breakfasts were amazing. I was served the best french toast I've ever eaten, and there was a lot of variety offered (fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, cereal, toast, plus the hot breakfast of they day).

For a stay in Gravenhurst, the location couldn't be better. It's a two-minute walk to the shops and boutiques on the main drag, and just as short a walking distance to the stellar North Restaurant. A two-minute drive to the wharf and quick access to the highway!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copycait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnBay, Owner at The Inn on Bay, responded to this review, 8 September 2009
Shortly after this guest stayed at the Inn, air conditioning units were installed in all of our suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed at the Inn on Bay for a full two weeks while doing some work near Gravenhurst. It was perfect. The rooms are beautiful -- understated and comfortable with nice designer touches. The breakfast is amazing, home baked goodies every morning, along with pancakes, french toast, omelettes, etc. Jen and Tyler are great hosts who do everything possible to make sure you feel at home. We will recommend this place to anyone we know traveling in the area, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, On
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Just returned from a Muskoka wedding and felt compelled to share my thoughts on such a wonderful B&B experience at The Inn on Bay. My wife and I have travelled extensively doing B&B's both in Canada and Europe (Italy, Austria, Greece). This was our first attempt with a newborn. The owners went above and beyond to accomodate us and our baby (first floor suite, hot water for bottles, fridge nearby). The older Victorian home is tastefully decorated and the high ceiling rooms elegantly appointed with king bed, flat screen and sitting area (handy for late-night feedings). The private entrance was appreciated and the breakfasts top-notch in the separate dining area.
We were able to easily walk (with a stroller) both down to the warf and up to the main street in Gravenhurst.
Overall, I'd say that this B&B is at or near the top of our list and we would not hesitate to book here again when in Gravenhurst. It was a great value and convenience for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim47Dorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

My husband and I were able to get a few days off together in our busy schedule and we were looking for somewhere to get away.

It had been several years since either of us were in Gravenhurst so I searched the internet for a place to stay, originally we were thinking of a hotel but I wanted somewhere that had character and charm so I began looking for an Inn or B&B and I stumbled across the website for The Inn on Bay.

We had never stayed in an Inn before and did not know what to expect, and we were very pleased with what we got.

We were greeted by Tyler when we arrived and he made us feel welcome and at ease.

We stayed in the Algonquin Suite which was great. After having dinner at the nearby Muskoka Wharf we snuggled on the couch in front of the flat screen television in our suite and had a great night’s sleep in our king sized bed. The ensuite bathroom was bright and spacious and the tub was great for a nice soak.

For breakfast we sat in a sunroom off to the side of the main dining room that overlooked the back garden, Jen was a wonderful hostess and we stuffed ourselves on fruit salad, omlettes and coffee.

We are very glad that we found The Inn on Bay, we would not have gotten the service and surroundings that they offer in a hotel and we are already looking forward to staying there again.

We are definitely recommending The Inn on Bay to all of our friends and family.

Elizabeth Brown
Barrie Ontario

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizzo_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
21.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Bay

Property: The Inn on Bay
Address: 291 Bay St, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn On Bay in Gravenhurst offers boutique inn accommodation in the Muskoka region! Enjoy a short walk to the Muskoka wharf, steamship cruises, Heritage Museum, downtown Gravenhurst, Gull Lake & Bethune House. A Georgian-style retreat featuring casual elegance, Muskoka style. Hot breakfast served daily, wireless high speed internet, en-suite bathrooms, guest computer terminal, sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn on Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Bay Gravenhurst, Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing