We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this property numerous times. The location is awesome. The facility is newer and well-maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms we've stayed in are spacious and well appointed. The decorating is "modern" and sleek. Buffet breakfast is always great. It's right on the wharf in gravenhurst overlooking the bay. Lovely place. We are returning again this Fall (2012).

Room Tip: Worth getting a bay-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

It is one of the best rooms I have ever been fortunate enough to stay in. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a great suite and a great value . Beautiful room. 100 percent excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markustaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

...as a Brit, I’m not very familiar with the ‘residence’ concept of this hotel, having only experienced it once before, so had a mixed expectation, and hence formed a mixed view.

Beautiful location right on the lake shore, and a large room (in the UK this would be a suite) with a very peaceful view over the spectacular lake and surrounds. As I was attending a conference I had no need of the comprehensively equipped kitchen which would obviously suit people vacationing here (except the coffee machine, of course) and thought “what a nice place to be, aren’t I lucky?”

However I was a bit disconcerted by the approach to breakfast, which one ate from cardboard plates, using plastic utensils. Nothing wrong with the food, it just seemed at odds with the rooms and the general quality of the hotel.

I’m sure this is all quite normal, but it was a new experience for me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

It's about time there was a good hotel in Gravenhurst. The Marriott is a blessing. We travelled by train (no longer possible as of the end of Sept.) and if you are travelling light you can walk from the station, which still serves busses, in about 20 minutes. The Muskoka Steamships are just a few minutes along the harbour. Just about everyone drives there and there is ample parking.

I strongly recommend a water view, available for a surcharge. I had the smallest room, a studio, and it was quite big with a fully equipped kitchen. Our friends booked a suite with fireplace and that was quite large. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are a few close by. We had a take-away and enjoyed it in our room and balcony. Limited supplies of food, including frozen dinners, are available in the lobby and could come in handy in an emergency. A complimentary breakfast buffet is served: it's not much but it is as promised on the Website. It offers one hot item. The staff are uniformly friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms and suites on the east side have a great view of the Muskoka Steamships. It was exciting to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

we stayed at Residence Inn for one night only trying to get away from Toronto for the weekend and relax a bit in the country side.

This residence inn offers standard Marriott residence Inn amenities: pool, whirlpool, full breakfast, and seperat eliving area for 1 bedroom rooms.

1. Pools and whirlpool: standard north east layout, small size but good for young kids to play around. Whirlpoo isnot very big and offers a aview to parking lot + bay

2. Outdoor lounge area: There is a BBQ and a few deck sets facing parking lot right next to the inddor pool, but due to bad weather, we woudl not use it.

3. Room layout: They vary quite a bit. Our first room faced a garden view but did not have stove so I requested a room change. Also, to access bathroom, you need to go through master bedroom. The new room was better layout because bathroom can be shared rather than asking the kids go through our bedroom in order to have access to the restrooms. So watch out for the centrally located rooms. Corner layout is more conventional. (If you need kitchen oven and share bathroom, make sur ethey assign you a right room.)

4. Fireplace: is a great bonus. Especially when it is rainin out there!

5. TVs: I thought they are too small for the living room. Kind of expect a larger set.

6. Breakfast: Full break fast with saussages and full trimmings. It was quite good.

7. Staff: Standard staff and did not find them exceptional friendly or great in customer service. Throught they were just there doing their job and did not have a "welcome" feeling! Perhaps it is Thanksgiving weekend they they wanted to be home?

8: Natural scene: Theer is a great hiking path righ off the hotel surrounds the look out with benches and gazebos. Great for family with elementary school aged kids. Kids really enjoyed the walk and the scene. Typical Canadian "flat" lake landscape. Beautiful maple leave changing scene.

9. Stores: There are a few stores around the warf andrestaurants. Good morning and afternoon walk. Kids especially enjoyed the toy store that specialize in educatoinal toys.

Room Tip: Ask for the room configuration: If you only have one bedroom and need to share bathroom, ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyage_familial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Great hotel, with friendly staff and spotless, bright foyer and hallways. Rooms bright, clean and spacious'
Good value for money. Close to Seguin boat cruise docks and dockside restaurants. Easy location from which to tour the Muskoka area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Con O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Hotel is nice, located right on the water and they have plenty of parking. Our room 218 had a nice view of the water and the balcony was a good size. We had one of the smaller rooms but it was still a good size. It had a kitchen area, living space (pullout couch) and a large closet. The room was definitely designed for longer stays.The breakfast is included in the room and was actually impressive, they offered a full Canadian breakfast.

We did not see any spiders and thank god because I would have lost my mind.

Although the hotel is new, clean and really has no faults the price of $185 a night is just too expensive for Gravenhurst, the only problem is there is not much selection in terms of other places to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel can be difficult to find after exciting the highway. So stay straight (through downtown) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTimeCDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
21.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
20.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
607 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
341 reviews
18.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
306 reviews
9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Address: 285 Steamship Bay Rd, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range: £101 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf is the newest of Muskoka hotels and is situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Muskoka. Our Gravenhurst hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Muskoka's most iconic destinations and attractions. When you stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka, you have Lake Muskoka's sea adventures, Muskoka shopping and dining, and beautiful Muskoka Wharf at your availability. You also have easy access to nearby Muskoka Boat & Heritage Center, Hardy Lake's hiking trails, Santa's Village, Muskoka Bay Club golfing, and more. Our all-suite hotel in Muskoka provides complimentary breakfast, high-speed Internet access, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Hotel Gravenhurst
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing