We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Port Colborne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel awesome staff”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament Nov.22-24, and all I can say is that is how a hotel should be run nothing but friendly accommodating staff. Yes we were a little loud and had a bunch of kids running around but the staff let us do our thing till 11 and then gave us a spot down in the lobby to continue our visit. We also had a team pot luck style dinner the sat night which they offered up a spot to accommodate us which was huge considering we were two hockey teams. Great hotel wonderful rooms and a great city, now only if the tournament was run that smoothly....lol

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    154
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
193
257
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We got to town around 11:30 and couldnt check in till 4pm so we went by to see if we were able to get in a wee bit earlier. Well they got us right in, after our long drive. (not sure if in peak you would get same treatment) We appreciated that very much.
The place is way above my expectations. Beautiful suites, nice grounds, and great breakfast.
We were there with a hockey team and they gave us a room to visit and hang out at night. Anything we needed they had for us. Staff were awesome.
I asked how much the rooms were in peak weekdays and was told roughly 300 a night. Would liove to go back in Summer, but really not in my price range. So glad we did get to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing water, and with a full stove, as you can then make your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here on a weekend getaway from the city. The hotel is right on the water, we had a lakeview studio and it was perfect. First thing you'll notice is that the front-desk staff are very friendly and helpful. We had some questions about the hiking trails and the staff member at the front desk spent ample time explaining how to access the different trails and gave us some brochures as well.

I loved the room - great view overlooking the lake, balcony with two chairs, kitchen in case you'd like to cook your own food. For dinner we just went to Boston Pizza down the street, and there are a few other restaurant options as well.

The breakfast was good - nice selection to choose from. There is complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, but I must say the house coffee was not very good. I tried it two days in a row and something is off about how it tastes.

The gym is really good - my husband worked out here and it definitely looks more modern and well kept than most hotel gyms I've seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatgirlyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Marriott never ceases to amaze me with the consistency of high levels of service. The Residence Inn in Gravenhurst is no exception. Prior to arrival, I called the General Manager and left a message with a specific room request. The GM personally called me back to discuss my request and was most helpful and pleasant.

Upon arrival, the staff was very welcoming and efficient. Our room was a very nice large 1-bedroom end-unit with a fireplace and overlooked the lake. At breakfast the first morning, Ann, a breakfast buffet staff person recognized us from a previous visit and remembered we appreciated larger breakfast bowls which she brought out without our asking.

Ann chatted with us and asked if we were up for a special occasion. We mentioned it was a wedding anniversary. When we returned to our room that evening, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and chocolates. That's Talent! What an ambassador!

Throughout the weekend we found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. They all took time to greet you with a smile and a friendly "hello".

Running an operation as efficiently as this takes great management, exceptional talent and super training. Good job Marriott Gravenhurst! We'll be back!

Room Tip: The end unit 1-bedrooms are very spacious. Most rooms have great views of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed there as part of a wedding party on Canadian Thanksgiving weekend, 2013. To pay over $200 as a special rate for the offseason is somewhat overpriced, hotel is nothing special. Had a ground floor room, no screen on window, anyone could have crawled in. The realy kicker is that I paid a room charge in cash upon leaving, but my credit card was charged. Upon phoning the hotel, the manager was insistent that no payment had been made, when the error was discovered the only explanation given, and I quote:"After reviewing the invoice its looks like the front desk agent charged your credit card instead of posting cash." Caveat emptor!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review- We appreciate your business. Thanksgiving weekend is one of our busiest weekends after the Labor day weekend, which includes a full hot and cold breakfast Buffet. The room that was occupied was a suite with a full kitchen.

All our hotel room windows have a maximum opening of 4” with a working lock. This is the standard protocol. It is virtually impossible for anyone to crawl with a 4” opening. I have investigated your room window. It is complaint with safety and security standards.

Our records indicate that you have called the manager on duty on October 31st to dispute a $ 1.13 phone call charge on your credit card and not a room charge. Manager on duty extended a refund of $ 1.13 back to your credit card immediately.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused while staying at the hotel. Rest assured, Marriott takes pride in managing guest safety, security and privacy with utmost importance.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel merits a big BRAVO. The location is outstanding, right on the Muskoka Warf next to the marine museum, across from the tour boat dock and within a short (15 min.) walk to several eateries, the tour boats and walking trails. Just a couple minutes by car to downtown and about 10 minutes off of Hwy. 11.

Room (studio suite) was great with full-size frig, two-burner stove, microwave, coffee, a full balcony and a big flat-screen TV with many cable channels. Hot buffet breakfast included. WOW. Staff was really helpful. Superb value. Would return in a second.

Room Tip: Lakeside has water view but most views are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuslinchGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Been here once and back again with the nice view overlooking the lake. This indeed is a nice treat, specially with a very affordable price during this season. And what a season to be at, fall leaves with nice crisp air surrounds you. The Marriott way welcomes you with a nice hot breakfast buffet. The room has a balcony with muskoka chairs -yes, muskoka and NOT Adirondack!!

Gravenhurst may be limited to shops and other sights but I suggest to visit the 3 surrounding towns to feel the Muskoka experience, towns namely: Bracebridge, Huntsville and most specially Port Carling where the other resort is located - J.W. Marriott Hotel.

I always enjoy these cities and hope that it stays clean, friendly and enjoyable.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the high level overlooking the lake and surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comp-aliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
21.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
18.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Address: 285 Steamship Bay Rd, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf is the newest of Muskoka hotels and is situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Muskoka. Our Gravenhurst hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Muskoka's most iconic destinations and attractions. When you stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka, you have Lake Muskoka's sea adventures, Muskoka shopping and dining, and beautiful Muskoka Wharf at your availability. You also have easy access to nearby Muskoka Boat & Heritage Center, Hardy Lake's hiking trails, Santa's Village, Muskoka Bay Club golfing, and more. Our all-suite hotel in Muskoka provides complimentary breakfast, high-speed Internet access, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Hotel Gravenhurst
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing