We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well maintnenced chalet on lake Muskoka!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“well maintnenced chalet on lake Muskoka!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I would like to start off by saying that I have been to a lot of marriott hotels in my past, but none beats this one. we stayed three days during the March break, and found it very clean and comfortly furnished, although i do have to admit, the beds where very hard and firm. The room was allways stalked with fresh towels, linen, toiletries,and more. Our room even had a kitchenette that was well equipted with spoons, forks, knives, microwave, stove, ice box, dishwasher, and table. Even though it was cold (+7) we still enjoyed the view off our belcony as we where facing the water (water was frozen over), at the front of the hotel, 3rd floor, above the lobby. the area Gravenhurst is absolutley breathtaking. The town is cute and has many historic looking cottages lining the main street getting in to Gravenhurst. The rocky setting, snow covered cottages, and snowmobile acess all set the mood. the second day we where there we decided to go taboganing, so we asked the receptionest at the desk. she pointed out a really good (or so she says) hilly park in Bracebridge. we ended up not finding the park so instead ended up coming across a vacant parking lot with a big snow bank. That was enough for the kids. we also enjoyed the large pool in the hotel and ofcorse the HOT TUB! breakfast was complementry and was pretty basic eggs, sausages, waffels, toast, cereal... ect. all in all we enjoyed our stay and will definantly go bach in the summer when Lake Muskoka is actually VISIBLE.

Room Tip: recomend lake view, on front of hotel, on higher level because it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    162
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
210
276
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We decided to stay here after a day of tubing at Snow Valley. It's about an hour away, but we wanted to stay somewhere different, and we are so glad we did.

We checked in and found out we were upgraded to a Lakeview Suite. It's winter, but still offered a pretty view. We also had a handwritten note waiting for us because we are Marriott Rewards members. What a nice touch. The front desk staff were so friendly and warm. And it felt genuine. The girl that checked us in is originally from Germany. I'm only noting this because I didn't get her name and wanted to commend her for her outstanding service.

We went into our room and were instantly impressed. We had a one-bedroom King suite. It was huge. We had a full kitchen complete with full oven. Great sitting area and a fireplace. The bedroom is a little ways off the living area, which really helps with noise levels if you have a night owl wanting to watch TV (which we did). The bedroom was huge. Tons of room. We had 3 closets in our room. I really wish we were staying more than one night.

The pool area was quite big, too. Larger pool than many hotels and also had a hot tub. Needed that after a day of tubing.

Breakfast was great. Lots of variety and everything was replenished quickly. Once again, I can't say enough how friendly the staff was.

You will not regret staying here. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

It's a nice clean place, near an outdoor skating rink. Love the idea they have a kitchen, however disappointed that our room didn't have an oven even though it states all rooms have full kitchens. So a lot of the food I brought for the family didn't get used.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate your business.

Studio Suites offer a kitchen including full sized fridge, dishwasher, microwave and range top with full plates/glasses and cutlery.

Our hotel offers ovens in our two bedroom suites and stove-top in the smaller room types. I do apologize if this information was not communicated prior to your booking.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback. It gives us the opportunity to make corrections where needed.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Ewart, ON
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Five of us shared two rooms for one night during a five night snowmobiling tour. The rooms were large, comfortable and well appointed. The included breakfast quite good. The "snowmobiling" rate was very attractive. The staff were professional but friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAP705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a mid-winter get-away over the Family Day weekend and we were very pleased.
We had a one-bedroom queen studio overlooking the lake. Our room was very comfortable and clean. There were plenty of towels, the bed was very comfortable and everything was in working order. When we checked in, I was given an envelope with my name on it. When we got into the room and I opened it, it was a hand-written welcome because I'm a Marriott rewards member! I've never had that level of service!
The breakfast was good and plentiful, even though the hotel was full. They had eggs, sausage, waffles, french toast, hash browns, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc.
The only minor inconvenience was parking. The hotel was filled with snowmobilers who took 2 and 3 parking spots...one for their truck, one for their trailer and in some cases a third for their snowmobile. With all the snow piled up as well, it made parking a bit tight, but we were always able to find a spot.
All in all, I was very impressed with this location and the staff. It was a great winter get-away!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoorsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to create a great guest experience and nice to hear when we have succeeded. We hope to see you on a future visit to Muskoka.

Thank you so much,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just spent 4 nights there. Impressed and so thankful, last time I was in the area the options were not great. This is a 5 year old hotel, great decor, free wifi, pool, hot tub, complimentafy breakfast. Rooms are thoroughly decorated and attention paid to details. The tv is on a swivel, can watch in bed if you like, or from the couch. Kitchen is very modern and well equipped, everything except an oven, which the girl on the desk explained upon checking in, apologized profusely for and offered to assist if there was something I needed baked during my stay! Seriously! Iwas starting to feel like I had fallen through a wormhole into another dimension.
I found ALL the staff to be very helpful, super friendly and all about making your stay easy. I was surprised to find info in the room that they will even grocery shop for you, just leave a list (no extra charge)!
I really liked how unobtrusive the housekeeping were, loved the sign for the door-that you don't need anything-how many times have I had the room door opened-just checking-despite the "do not disturb".In a suite as comfy as this it's quite possible that you are taking care of yourself, don't need anything and are mindful of the environmental costs of hotel life.
Breakfast was good, lots of choice, healthy or carboholic! The only thing people might see as a drawback is that there is no full time restaurant or bar here-However: there is a Boston Pizza adjacent, lots within a 2 minute drive and there are featured nights in the lobby: hamburger night, chili night, etc., help yourself, bottles of wine out, etc.
Snowmobilers paradise, they were parked right beside me and come right off the lake! Great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
21.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
322 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
290 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Address: 285 Steamship Bay Rd, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf is the newest of Muskoka hotels and is situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Muskoka. Our Gravenhurst hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Muskoka's most iconic destinations and attractions. When you stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka, you have Lake Muskoka's sea adventures, Muskoka shopping and dining, and beautiful Muskoka Wharf at your availability. You also have easy access to nearby Muskoka Boat & Heritage Center, Hardy Lake's hiking trails, Santa's Village, Muskoka Bay Club golfing, and more. Our all-suite hotel in Muskoka provides complimentary breakfast, high-speed Internet access, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Hotel Gravenhurst
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing