We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
449 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Muskoka visit”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Loved having kitchen in room for mini dinner with daughter
Very well equipped kitchen
Daughter loved pool and our room
Overlooked lake which was nice
Found staff very helpful to assist in directions to area sights
Very comfortable beds
Will return next year

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DRHIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    155
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
198
262
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
289 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is our second stay at this particular Marriott. Needless to say, it may be our last. We cancelled our last night in Toronto, in the mindset that we would enjoy a nice, quiet evening on Lake Muskoka and stay at the residence inn. We specifically requested a quiet room, considering elevators, wedding parties etc. at this hotel. Upon check-in the young lady swore it was the quietest room. We checked in on the main floor and room was clean, spacious. Pool was clean, not too clorinated. They were helpful with dining selection etc. However, we barely got 2 hours of sleep that night thanks to the continuous pipes draining every toilet, shower or whatever from floors above. Apparently, one of the major routes for their plumbing system was right adjacent to our bedroom. We had our morning coffee and kindly advised the woman upon check-out of this issue. She did not even acknowledge it and said they "would look into it". Nice common line for over 350$ a night. Stay elsewhere. Not impressed how they treat their clients and especially when paying this amount for a nightly stay and considering our specific request for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIGtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of our summer holiday. We had a Studio Room, overlooking the lake, which we shared with our two youngsters. The room was a good size, well presented & clean. The addition of the small kitchen was a bonus and well equipped. We "self-catered" one evening and I found there were plenty of utensils for a basic meal.
The balcony overlooking the lake was a great spot to sit with a coffee in the morning, or , a glass of wine in the evening.
The pool was a good size and there is a nice area to sit outside by the fire pit.
The laundry room was a very welcome addition half way through the holiday. All machines are coin operated and detergent available to purchase at reception.
Breakfast is a buffet style with hot and cold choices. All of which were very nice. The breakfast area does get very busy after 08,00.
It's location is great for getting around the Muskoka area and easily within walking distance of Gravenhurst. There are a few places nearby for lunches, dinners and snacks including a very nice icecream place.
Staff were great. Helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJC6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kagawong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This will be the first negative review I have done on tripadvisor but I was disappointed in this hotel & its advertisement.

This hotel is clean, located in a nice setting on the lake. The staff are very pleasant. The suite we rented would serve a couple quite well & would be pleasant experience. The suite is comparable to a suite in a Comfort Inn or Marriott's Fairfield Inn line, with the added bonus of a kitchen & a balcony. The living area furniture is of lower quality than we have experienced in a Choice Hotel suite or in a Fairfield Inn. This unit in this hotel, however, is sold at significantly higher price point.

As a party of 4 (2 seniors, 1 adult & 1 8year old child) we stayed in a king bed suite for the nights of Aug 9 & 10. We had hoped to book 2 rooms in the only other hotel in Gravenhurst, the Howard Johnson, but it was fully booked for those nights, as were the Choice Hotels in nearby Bracebridge. We expected some inconvenience with 4 people in a suite but the hotel advertises these units as sleeping 4, in a king bed & a sofa bed.

As a unit to accommodate a party of 4 this unit fails miserably. The mattress & springs in the sofa bed are of such poor quality that none of us could sleep there. The mattress is very thin over widely spaced springs, resembling something one could only expect to find in the lowest price furniture chains. Our granddaughter slept with us in the king bed while her mother slept on the sofa itself.

Marriott advertises this hotel as a "residence inn". Indeed the hotel devotes a good deal of space to a sales office during normal business hours. Here again the unit we rented falls short.

The kitchen includes an L shaped counter with a residential size sink, a dishwasher & a 2 element cook-top. It also includes a full size refrigerator & a large microwave oven. There is no regular oven. The unit, therefore, provides only for reheating of prepared meals and/or very basic cooking. A significant failing as a residence kitchen is the location of the cook-top, on a small L of the kitchen counter & obstructed, in this layout, by the fridge for use by a right handed cook. The unit is very poorly equipped for cooking & dining with 4 place settings of dinnerware & cutlery. The cooking equipment is similarly limited.

The bedroom shares an issue with many newer hotel room designs. The bathroom sink is in the bedroom itself, not in the separate bathroom. This design is tolerable in a hotel room for a short stay. It is not suitable for a residence unit. Most couples are people with different sleep patterns & this design means that the early riser disturbs the later riser.

Room Tip: As a hotel suite our unit is very good. As accommodations for 4 it fails miserably. SA a residence i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Muskoka Wharf.

Thank you for your recognition on the overall cleanliness, location and the hotel associates.

Hotel offers studio rooms, One bed room suites and two bed room suites. Studio and one bed room suites consist of a king or a queen bed with a queen size sofa bed. Maximum Occupancy is four people. Squire footage is 424 sqft.– 525 sqft. All hotel suites feature full kitchens, separate living, working and sleeping areas. Each suite boasts warm earth-tone decor with natural lighting, granite counter tops and stainless steel full kitchen appliances and cooking utensils including pots, pans, kitchen knives, food peelers etc... luxury bedding-crisp linen, thicker mattresses, custom comforters and fluffier pillows. Each suite offers silverware for occupants in the suite. Studio room will have a cook top and two bed room suites will offer a full oven.

Residence Inn hotel rooms are designed for longer stay experience. We have many customers who appreciate full kitchen facilities and our hot and cold complimentary breakfast while staying at the hotel.

You have mentioned that the hotel devotes a good deal of space to a sales office during the business hours. My apologies I do not understand what you meant by this. I would like to discuss this further or about your resent experience at the hotel. Please feel free to contact me.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

gravenhurst is pretty small, with only a few hotels. beautiful location. nice staff. breakfast provided, and was quite nice. rooms were large with kitchen facilities. no bar or restaurant, but plenty nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KieranKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Muskoka Wharf. We appreciate your business.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and appreciated our complimentary full hot and cold breakfast and the large room.

Residence Inn by Marriott is a select service and extended stay hotel in the Marriott portfolio.

Extended stay and select service hotels do not typically offer food and beverage services other than our hot and cold breakfast buffet also, on Mondays Tuesdays and every other Wednesdays the hotel offers a complimentary evening social with Hors d'oeuvres from 6:00pm to 7:30pm. You can purchase wine or beer at this time.

Evening social is very popular amongst our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week which gave us a good feel for the place.

The studio queen room we stayed in was excellent for two. The accommodation was well thought out and looked great (albeit with some minor signs of wear and tear on the chairs). Our room overlooked the lake which was idea l.The in room kitchen was fine and all the room fittings were of high standard.

Staff that we interacted with were uniformly pleasant, polite and efficient- a great combination!

The irritations? In our room Wi-Fi was patchy to say the least. We were told it was because too many people were using the system. Personally it looked like a weak signal; either way it was substandard

But the real irritation was breakfast. The food id's basic but fine, but the hotel is desperately short of seating capacity.

In a hotel that is otherwise civilized it is a shame that you either have to queue for tables or take your own breakfast to your room. This is a known problem as the hotel has "warnings" in the elevators detailing potential wait times.

Paying what we did I find the breakfast arrangements unacceptable.

Would we go again? Maybe for a single night until they sort out the breakfast logjam.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angl0Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Muskoka Wharf as your chosen summer destination. We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful view from the room and interactions with hotel associates were pleasant.

Thank you for letting us know about the internet connection at the hotel. Internet is provided on complimentary basis to all our in-house guests. Hotel completed a major internet upgrade in June. We have communicated your concern to our internet provider to look into this further.

Hotel provides a full hot and cold buffet breakfast at no cost to all our guests. The breakfast is open from 6:30am to 9:30am on weekdays and from 7:00am to 10:00am on weekends. Our seating capacity is 80 at any given time. On busy summer weekends, we set-up extra tables in our banquet area for another 25 people. We have recognized some of our valued guests like to enjoy the breakfast between 8:30am to 9:45am. The signs are posted on the elevators to invite guests to enjoy their breakfast early to avoid the busy breakfast times.

We have recognized that many of our guests have appreciated this notice and arrived at breakfast a bit early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during the civic long weekend. The hotel was fully booked. We booked the studio room. It was huge and way beyond our expectation of a studio. A kitchen with fridge and microwave, and the fridge has ice making ability, and cook top. Pretty much you can do a full meal with the kitchen. The hotel also offer grocery shopping service in the morning and charge the groceries into hotel bill.

The bed was very comfortable. We also had a roomy balcony with two chairs facing a trail behind hotel. Although hotel was fully booked, but the service was still great. We make a few request during the stay and the staff bring the stuff we requested within 10 mins. The pool is a big pool compares to other three star hotels.

Breakfast was busy but lots of choices and was complimantary. Walking distance to trails, restaurants, docks and museums. We saw a few dogs stayed in the hotel and they allow you to bring your own pets. The hotel common areas and the rooms are very clean despite the pet policy. The only thing I don't like about this hotel was its price. But you get what you pay for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rits P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
21.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
314 reviews
18.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
171 reviews
15.4 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
217 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Address: 285 Steamship Bay Rd, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf is the newest of Muskoka hotels and is situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Muskoka. Our Gravenhurst hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Muskoka's most iconic destinations and attractions. When you stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka, you have Lake Muskoka's sea adventures, Muskoka shopping and dining, and beautiful Muskoka Wharf at your availability. You also have easy access to nearby Muskoka Boat & Heritage Center, Hardy Lake's hiking trails, Santa's Village, Muskoka Bay Club golfing, and more. Our all-suite hotel in Muskoka provides complimentary breakfast, high-speed Internet access, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Hotel Gravenhurst
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing