We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect winter getaway from the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect winter getaway from the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I visited this resort January 31-February 2 2014 to escape the City and relax. The entire experience was amazing and we couldn't have asked for a better winter getaway. The facility is beautiful and very comfortable, and the staff are incredibly attentive, helpful, and friendly. On top of all that we took part in some of the winter recreation activities available including snowshoeing through the dense Muskoka forest and sitting by a winter campfire. Also re-lived some childhood memories by having some fresh maple taffy made by the staff. Can't wait to go back in the winter, and look forward to visiting the resort in the summer to see the other side of what Taboo has to offer. Thanks Taboo

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gonzoist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Gozoist, so glad our Taboo Muskoka team could make your couple getaway "amazing" and thanks for posting your comments for other TripAdvisor readers. I think everyone, at least in Canada, has some great memory of time spent gathered around the campfire. In addition to s'mores kits and the maple syrup season taffy, Taboo's seasonal campfire treats can include apple "bombs" and banana "boats."

Taboo is a year-round retreat. When you return in summer, we'd recommend checking out our guided canoe and kayak adventures on Lake Muskoka and the Hoc Roc river, as well as cool spots like the Eleanor Island bird sanctuary, or a boat tour to the weekly Gravenhurst Farmer's Market. There's also a dedicated couples' suite, with a fireplace, at our new Spa Taboo. Of course, we look forward to welcoming you - and all TripAdvisor members - for a visit (again) soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    124
    62
    43
    36
See reviews for
108
188
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were at Taboo over the easter weekend with our two girls. All in all we had good stay and enjoyed it. However when I review a hotel I usually like to do it in an organized manner so here goes!
Welcome: The valet staff were quite helpful and offered to empty out all our luggage from the van (no easy task!). We arrived there around 12 so were informed by the reception that our room was not ready and that we would have to wait and no guarantees that we would get a room before 4. Although there was technically nothing wrong with what they said and we got a room by 2pm, I do wish their initial response would have been a little warmer and more understanding since we had kids with us.We have travelled extensively in the Far east. An early check in is something that resorts and five star hotels are more than happy to do even if it means a room upgrade.
Room: The room was great. Premier lake view with a balcony. No complaints except maybe the same that others have had i.e. not enough seating - but I think they are already rectifying that. Bathroom and amenities were top notch. (Just a though, an electric kettle in addition to a coffeemaker would be good!)
Food: We ate at the Fireside Pub, Elements, Lounge and room service. Food was generally good. Elements was a bit expensive so Fireside was the choice most of the times. Wish they had more variety. Easter brunch was average.
Just a couple of points about Food and Beverage - Breakfast was superb but I wish they had kept chicken or beef sausages for so many of the people who do not eat pork. Also an omelette station is usually a given at resorts and hotels of this stature. Not much effort but it adds so much to a buffet breakfast. Second - We ordered room service once. Inspite of me stressing 'no bacon on the caesar' about 3 times, both the salads arrived with bacon on top. I thought that was pretty careless.
The staff at the restaurants and for room service were very friendly. Again no complaints. (Special mention: Our food got late once in the Lounge. They didn't charge us for it. Full marks for pleasing the client!)
Activities: Easter weekend had been planned well at the resort. The kids (and us) loved all the activities and we didn't even have to leave the resort since there was so much entertainment in house. The staff is doing a good job at this - just need to be a bit more organized! But hey the kids didn't notice and loved it all.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Taboo!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
amk76, thanks for choosing Taboo Muskoka for your family long weekend getaway and posting your detailed arrival-to-departure review for TripAdvisor readers. Wanted to let you and others know we do try to accommodate early check-ins whenever possible. However, with reduced inventory due guest room renovations (which will be done in May 2014) and a holiday sell-out we just couldn't this time. Also, you're right, more seating etc. is being added to our rooms as part of those updates.

We'll be serving a new breakfast menu in the Fireside this summer and launching a whole new expanded menu there next season, plus an all-new Boathouse (summer dining) menu now. Make sure to look for feature specials as well, like Taboo's current Sunday prime rib dinner offer with soup, salad, sides and coffee or tea, for $27.95.

Your feedback about sausage options and a regular omelette station has been shared with our Taboo Food & Beverage team. And your In Room Dining order miss was also reviewed, our apology.

Finally, pleasure to read "Easter weekend had been planned well...loved all the activities." Our Taboo Muskoka activities and adventures offering is something else our team is committed to constantly making more engaging and fun. We appreciate you recommending Taboo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Best service I have ever gotten. Best view I have ever seen. Food is excellent, and the rooms are some of the nicest I have ever seen. What more could anyone ask for. I have been at least 20 times for golf, skiing and relaxation. Everything is TOP NOTCH each and everytime. These guys do not miss a beat I am telling you. The management staff here at Taboo should be managing the Maple Leafs, that would get them another Stanley Cup!

Room Tip: Tip the staff, tip the staff and tip the staff. Dont be afraid to ask for anything, they are very he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane Campbell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon Z, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Shane C,

Thank you for the review, it was great to see you back at Taboo Muskoka! We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit once again. Unfortunately the cross-country skiing season is over but we are hoping to get the golf course open for you around May 10th, weather depending. We will of course let everyone know when the official opening date is. I will be sure to pass on your kind thoughts to the team. As for the Maple Leafs, I’m not sure even our Managers would be able to help! Thanks again for the review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brandon Z – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller973
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited the Taboo resort in winter which provides wonderful winter views, stayed for the weekend and left with mixed feelings. The property is gorgeous and the (frozen) lake views are spectacular.

The staff is super friendly and goes the extra mile to make guests feel comfortable. Winter activities (snow shoeing, cross country skiing and going out on snow mobiles are all a lot of fun).

The newly refurbished rooms (they seemed to be in the process of refurbishing all the rooms) are comfortable and spacious. Food is decent but maybe a bit over priced.

However, the resort does not quite know what it is. You can do a slick, minimalist retreat, even with many rooms (think W hotels) but everything needs to fit. The name, branding and some design elements seem to indicate that is what Taboo is all about. But minimalist chic is very hard to pull off and I am afraid to say, Taboo did not get really get it right.

The interior design is eclectic rather than minimalist and the hotel was something off a hybrid between a family resort and urban chic. A decent interior designer could do marvels in the public areas and it would not take much to get it right.

Room Tip: Ask for a lave view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello traveller973, and thanks for including Taboo Muskoka among your many TripAdvisor reviews. Appreciate you acknowledging our "super friendly" staff too. As for the design feedback,all Taboo guestrooms will be freshly renovated as of May 2014. And yes, you are right, it's always important to strike a balance - between the types of travellers that are attracted to your destination, style and comfort, simplicity and warmth etc. Our interior design, menus and overall offering continue to evolve and we'll certainly keep your comments in mind as we continue to strive to offer our guests an appealing modern meets Muskoka mix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were at Taboo during the Easter weekend in 2014. Beautiful location, great food and service was very good but at times we felt the greetings and conversations were a bit scripted. My husband and I have stressful management positions and travel extensively for recreation. We really enjoy friendly and relaxed environment when we travel. I really enjoy chatting with the staff about local activities and culture. We sort of missed that part at Taboo.
Compliments to the chef, food was delicious.
We were in the Premier Lakefront room. Room was spacious but lacked enough seating. There was only 1 chair.
My husband had a pedicure at the spa and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Premier lakefront room had the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello RMOntario, appreciate the Tripadvisor review and you posting so quickly after your Easter getaway. Glad you enjoyed "delicious" food, and that your husband was pleased by Spa Taboo. Same as we recently replied to Sandbanksgirl's review, wanted to let you and all readers know that additional seating, runner carpets etc. are en route for our Premier rooms and will be in place with the next couple of weeks (mid-May 2014.) Your comment about interactions with our staff has also been passed on to our entire management team. We are right in the middle of our peak training season and many of our seasonal team members are just joining for the summer. Being genuine, informative and engaging is very important to all of us. So, that's definitely something we'll pinpoint. Again, thanks for choosing to spend your leisure time together at Taboo Muskoka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Spetacular view,great accomodations and fantastic service.
The rooms are spotless clean and modern.
The food is very good.
Tons of trails.
Smores on the winter with our kids was great.
In the winter you can do ice skating as well.
The fitness center has a lot of equiments.Good ones(life fitness)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Julio H, Thanks very much for your TripAdvisor review of Taboo Muskoka. So glad to read you enjoyed our nature trails and recently updated fitness centre along with our modern accommodations. Finally, just a reminder note for anyone who is thinking of ice skating next winter, to bring your own skates, or you'll have to but some locally. Cross country ski and snowshoe use is however included with every Taboo stay, along with mountain bikes, canoes and kayaks etc. in summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I just spent an amazing weekend at Taboo. We have fairly high standards, and they were almost all surpassed. The lake views from the rooms are second-to-none, everything is modern and gleaming, the beds are so comfortable, the food in the Elements dining room was truly spectacular, the service was above and beyond, and we had the best massages of our lives at the spa; we could go on and on. There is really no place like Taboo in the area, and I would definitely classify it as a "luxury" resort. We would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, it's that good.

Here's the "but" (a small complaint)... the newly renovated rooms. They look beautiful, and everything is tasteful and very modern, but they are kind of cold. We'd spent a night at Taboo several years ago and I remember our room as one of the most comfortable I'd ever stayed in. Now, with the bare white walls, the grey laminate floors (with no rugs) the dark, austere cabinetry, and no seating other than one desk chair and the bed, the room had a cold, echo-y feel to it. Sorry, designers, but something is missing. Even adding a comfy, cushy arm chair in one corner and a rug would make all the difference.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandbanksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon Z, Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Sandbanksgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our Management Team here at Taboo Muskoka have recognized the need to add some additional pieces to our rooms and have made a commitment to adding runner carpets, arm chairs and seating. Some of which have already been installed. We expect these upgrades to be completed within the next month and are confident you and the rest our guests will be pleased with these additional features. Also, it is great to hear the service you received was “above and beyond”, and appreciate the recommendations. I will be sure to pass along your thoughts to our staff. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Brandon Z - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
20.3 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
16.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taboo Muskoka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Property: Taboo Muskoka Resort
Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Taboo Muskoka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing