We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome location! Great owners”
other travellers have booked this property
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Lots of space for water fights (sleeps 12) Sandy beach for sand castles, beach volleyball & horseshoes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
73 reviews
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Lots of space for water fights (sleeps 12)
Sandy beach for sand castles, beach volleyball & horseshoes
Dock, sandy beach & pro volleyball net surrounded by forest & lake
Outdoor fire pit for sharing marshmallows, s'mores and ghost stories
Canoe, paddle boat & rowboats included - even great-grandma loved a good paddle (circa 1920)
Vintage games room with skee ball & more
Let off some steam in the lakeside barrel sauna
Catch lunch fishing with friends right off the end of the dock
Share the sunshine & good times with family & friends
Enjoy a drink by one of the two log fireplaces any time of the year
Wrap around deck with stair edging (no banisters to block the view)
Share a meal at the locally handmade harvest dining table
Living room #1 (forest-side) with a log fireplace, cathedral ceiling & skylights
Living room #2 (lakeside) with log fireplace and patio doors to the deck
Bright, lakeside kitchen with lots of room to dance, er, cook (super bright during the day)
The 'loonie bin' bedroom : queen size bed, skylight, en suite bathroom and hangin' space
The 'afternoon riser' bedroom : two twin beds (top tip: push 'em together to share)
The 'cabin' bedroom : queen size (too many bedrooms to show 'em all, stalk our website for more)
Lakeside hot tub open all year round!
Lakeside barrel sauna in the snow - wohooooo
Hot dogs in front of the fireplace (pets are welcome free of charge - bring 'em along :)
Enjoy family ice-hockey on the frozen lake
Throw a crazy snowpeople building competition
Frolic in the fall leaves (did we mention we're open all year round? lol)
Ahhhhh, go on, y'know ya wanna :)
Our looney, uh, friendly family would love to welcome you - see ya soon :)
Our logo, featuring Philomena the flying pig (and her tattoo :)
Winter wonderland
Lakeside hot tub, open all year 'round
Barrel sauna, open all year 'round
Here she is!
Fall colours from the dock
Back yard :)
Fab fishing!
Firepit frolicking!
Awwww
Queen bedroom with cathedral ceilings
Hang out space overlooking the lake
Twin bedroom (top tip: push 'em together to make a double)
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom (top tip: push 'em together to make a double)
Twin bedroom
Bunk bedroom
Bunk bedroom with tall cathedral ceilings
Queen bedroom
Queen bedroom, quirky closet
2 acres of lakeside loveliness
Pets welcome any time of year :)
Pets welcome any time of year :)
Vintage games room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Forest-side living room #1
Forest-side living room #1
Dining room
Wall of vintage tin signs
Lakeside living room #2
Lakeside living room #2
Two log burning fireplaces
Rainbows & unicorns (well, maybe not the unicorns part, lol)
2 acres to romp in!
Beautiful, bright night skies
Life is bigger :)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dfamily56...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Awesome location! Great owners”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Awesomeness:

- The location is unbeatable. Situated between Orillia and Gravenhurst, the cottage is in a quiet portion of the bay. It was perfect for large groups/pets and for boating, swimming and fishing off the dock. If you want to go into town to get food/supplies/worms, Gravenhurst is only a 20 mins drive north (Cdn Tire, Sobeys, restaurants). So you have the best of both worlds.

- The owners are very kind, friendly and humourous. They kept excellent communication throughout the booking process. During a power outage at the cottage, Lorna even came to visit to check out the issue while bringing us extra flashlights. Tip: tap water is pulled directly from the lake via a pump. If the power ever goes out, you will also lose water pressure so there's no toilet flushing or washing water.

- Kitchen is well stocked with utensils, plates, cups and basic cooking supplies.

- Plenty of bedrooms, washrooms and common area space. Large deck and cottage chairs for roasting marshmallows.

- Great selection of board games and surprisingly there are electronics (DVD player, DVDs, Nintendo Wii) too if you're so inclined. We played pictionary and laughed until our stomachs hurt.

- Good facilities: canoe, row boat and paddle boat available for use. Adult-sized life jackets are also on-site. Never used the sauna or hot tub but they are available for use as well.

- Beautiful view of starry nights on clear days

Only cons we could think of:

- We had to use one-ply toilet paper :)

- Two window/door air conditioning units (one downstairs, one upstairs in master bedroom) make for some hot nights in the other rooms on warm days. On the positive side, there were lots of fans available. Tip: if you cross breeze them correctly, you can get some cooler air flowing.

- Wi-fi was a tad un-stable - though that's kinda what you expect in cottage country. But more accurately, the wireless signal itself is constant. But the router loses connection with the internet quite often. Tip: turn power off router, wait 2 mins, then turn it back on to reset the internet connection. That'll be good for another 30 mins or so.

- Requirement to clean the cottage after a enjoyable week was a real bummer :) We woke early and spent a good 4-5 hours cleaning before checkout time make sure the cottage was in better shape than we left it. Tips: start early and be organized (there's a binder on the table which contains the checklist).

- A big turtle (who might live under the dock) ate one of our fishes that we were going to have for dinner.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Hey hey,

Thanks so much for all the feedback D, and for taking the time to write it. We’re gonna pull some cottage country strings and see what we can do to improve even more.

You folks rocked, so hope to see ya up here again soon!

All the best, Rachel and the rest of us at the cottage :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service, scammers”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was falsely advertised. Very rude people after booking is done. I arrived a bit early because I thought traffic was going to be really bad to get there and I was told to leave and come back at 4pm and not a minute before that.

There is no pool table or dart board/game room. The water comes directly from the lake and they do not provide any appropriate water. They took over $300 from my security deposit for rearranging the patio chairs that we left arranged around the fire pit. The bbq was dirty when we got it and yet we were charged for them cleaning it. The back cover of the DVD remote was not there when we rented it but yet we are being charged for it. They had to rake some pebbles from the sand in one small corner where the toddlers where playing and we got charged for it. We were charged for ridiculous stuff and yet we had vacuumed the whole house, swiped down everything and they have a cleaning crew after people leave and yet we are being charged for this. They charge so much for this cottage and they can’t do the basic cleaning, so not right!! Would not recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Being charged a ridiculous amount of money for basic house cleaning after we left.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Gosh, that hurts. We put a lot of love & care into the cottage and her guests - both the current guests and the next folks coming in after ya. We welcome guests to enjoy themselves to the max while also being respectful of the space and to leave her in good shape so the next group can enjoy their own vacation.

I’m bummed that your concerns may have sullied your vacation this summer. And sad that we weren't able to discuss it all on the phone as I'd hoped. I wish you the best in your future cottage getaways though M!

(Oh, and yeah, the games room is a brand new addition - wohooo! - wasn’t there when you stayed.)

All the best,
Rachel and the rest of us at the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marci N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Beyond Expectaions”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had an absolutely fantastic time!
I went with a group of 6 (and 1 cat) for a week in June and there wasn't a dull moment.

Reasons you should stay here:

-the before, during, and after vacation communications (any questions I had about anything) were fantastic, great response time and I always felt like I mattered, I wasn't just another customer being shuffled in and out so they can get paid (as cheesy as that sounds)
-beautiful cottage, large and spacious, enough room for everyone
-beautiful view, right on a lake :)
-sand patch for beach volleyball and castle building
-hot tub
-sauna
-row boat
-canoe
-paddle boat
-hammock
-outdoor and indoor games provided (volleyball, badminton, horse shoes, board games, a wii!)
-we went in the warm weather but the lake looks like it would be skate-able in the winter time
-fire pit and comes with marshmallow roasting sticks!!
-animal friendly (we brought a cat and she loved it there)
-firewood was delivered right to the front door!
-they made us cupcakes for when we arrived :) they were delicious
-fishing log so you can see what other people caught fishing, and show off if you catch anything fishing

Stuff that was just okay:

-All the water was from the lake and ran on a septic system so the water wasn't safe to drink from tap (a little yellowish) and you couldn't overwhelm it by having two showers at the same time, or running the dishwasher and shower at the same time.
But this was easily managed and I didn't go out into the middle of the woods for supreme showers! We had warm showers and that was enough for us! :) It did not affect our fantastic experience

-The cottage is located on a little alcove that opens up to the lake, you can sort of tell when looking at pictures, and the alcove you're on is very weedy. It is possible to swim in (we did) as long as you don't mind the weeds. This is also avoidable by taking the row boat out to the opening in the alcove because there isn't any weed once you get past there (which we also did)!

Overall it was one of the best experiences of my life, a fantastic cottage with fantastic people and I don't think you would be wasting your time or money spending a week, or a weekend, or however long at Trenanthia Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Now you're making me blush. We've been tickled pink reading your comments all trying to take credit for making your trip special. Your guest book entry was epic and might just need to get framed... although we do apologize if in fact there was a zombie armageddon during your vacation.

Thank you for sharing your experience and for showing our cottage so much love. And maybe we'll see you again after exams this winter :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danana S
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best private getaway up north!”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Trenanthia Cottage is beautiful! I went with 11 of my friends for my birthday to get away from the city. There was more than enough space for all of us even when eating meals together! We didn't get bothered by anyone stopping by and checking on us all the time, just when we first got there we were greeted by the property manager to see if we had any questions and he brought me a cake!! It was so nice and not expected! The cottage itself is gorgeous and there are tons of things to do outdoors even in the winter. Unfortunately the hot tub was not working but it didn't even matter with the beautiful barrel sauna that is right by the lake. We did ice fishing, cross country skiing on the lake, snowman building and we even found time to complete a massive puzzle. Great space for having drinks with friends while relaxing by the fire. All the bedrooms were extremely clean and comfortable, again TONS of space! The whole cottage is very well taken care of. It's extremely private which is a huge plus when your traveling with 11 people, you don't want to worry about noise complaints. I would 100% recommend this place and would definitely come again! My only suggestion is to bring lots of water as the water from the taps is from the lake, the property manager and the people i contacted through email before arriving at the cottage were incredibly nice and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master bedroom, gorgeous!
Liked least: not being able to use the water
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2015
So happy we could help with making your birthday memories :) We love to hear that folk enjoy themselves at the cottage and love to see it too, the pictures you sent us were fabulous, thank you. We would love to welcome you back anytime, thank you for your appreciation and for taking such good care of the cottage :) ~L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD0067
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spontaneous City Escape”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Laura and her team are right on top of everything.

Their cottage is a fabulous location for a winter getaway weekend. Far enough from the city and close enough for groceries etc.

The cottage is large with two working fireplaces that makes for easy change of environment and everything is in great condition.

The outdoor sauna is a nice touch too!

Would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2014
Thank you so much, we are so happy you enjoyed a great snowy getaway at the cottage :) We wish you the very merriest and jolliest of festive fun, Cheers! L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Reviewed 11 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
suffolk. Uk
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Nov 2013
Aw thanks for taking a moment to write this review, we really appreciate it. You'd be welcome back with open arms any time and it was our pleasure to host your family's celebrations :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing