We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ice fishing weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Lots of space for water fights (sleeps 12) Sandy beach for sand castles, beach volleyball & horseshoes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
67 reviews
The best gossip... er.. giggles are shared in the hot tub
Lots of space for water fights (sleeps 12)
Sandy beach for sand castles, beach volleyball & horseshoes
Dock, sandy beach & pro volleyball net surrounded by forest & lake
Outdoor fire pit for sharing marshmallows, s'mores and ghost stories
Canoe, paddle boat & rowboats included - even great-grandma loved a good paddle (circa 1920)
Vintage games room with skee ball & more
Let off some steam in the lakeside barrel sauna
Catch lunch fishing with friends right off the end of the dock
Share the sunshine & good times with family & friends
Enjoy a drink by one of the two log fireplaces any time of the year
Wrap around deck with stair edging (no banisters to block the view)
Share a meal at the locally handmade harvest dining table
Living room #1 (forest-side) with a log fireplace, cathedral ceiling & skylights
Living room #2 (lakeside) with log fireplace and patio doors to the deck
Bright, lakeside kitchen with lots of room to dance, er, cook (super bright during the day)
The 'loonie bin' bedroom : queen size bed, skylight, en suite bathroom and hangin' space
The 'afternoon riser' bedroom : two twin beds (top tip: push 'em together to share)
The 'cabin' bedroom : queen size (too many bedrooms to show 'em all, stalk our website for more)
Lakeside hot tub open all year round!
Lakeside barrel sauna in the snow - wohooooo
Hot dogs in front of the fireplace (pets are welcome free of charge - bring 'em along :)
Enjoy family ice-hockey on the frozen lake
Throw a crazy snowpeople building competition
Frolic in the fall leaves (did we mention we're open all year round? lol)
Ahhhhh, go on, y'know ya wanna :)
Our looney, uh, friendly family would love to welcome you - see ya soon :)
Our logo, featuring Philomena the flying pig (and her tattoo :)
Winter wonderland
Lakeside hot tub, open all year 'round
Barrel sauna, open all year 'round
Here she is!
Fall colours from the dock
Back yard :)
Fab fishing!
Firepit frolicking!
Awwww
Queen bedroom with cathedral ceilings
Hang out space overlooking the lake
Twin bedroom (top tip: push 'em together to make a double)
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom (top tip: push 'em together to make a double)
Twin bedroom
Bunk bedroom
Bunk bedroom with tall cathedral ceilings
Queen bedroom
Queen bedroom, quirky closet
2 acres of lakeside loveliness
Pets welcome any time of year :)
Pets welcome any time of year :)
Vintage games room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Forest-side living room #1
Forest-side living room #1
Dining room
Wall of vintage tin signs
Lakeside living room #2
Lakeside living room #2
Two log burning fireplaces
Rainbows & unicorns (well, maybe not the unicorns part, lol)
2 acres to romp in!
Beautiful, bright night skies
Life is bigger :)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cory S
1 review
“Ice fishing weekend ”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Had an amazing time at Trenanthia cottage on Sparrow Lake. Cottage was clean and spacious, fireplaces were burning and Laura was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Awww, thanks so much Cory. Gotta love when that fire's burning :) We look forward to having you and the gang back up next year! -- Laura & the cottage posse"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel B
1 review
“Wonderful winter getaway”
Reviewed 26 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Wow... what a beautiful cottage that kept growing as we walked through it. With only 2 of us visiting Trenanthia, we lost each other a few times lol. A warm fire ripping in both fireplaces and fresh baked cookies awaiting our arrival.. yummo! We took advantage of the lakefront & went snowshoeing on the lake checking out all the ice fishing huts out there.. fun! What a better way to end the evening than sitting in the hot tub & sauna (which was our favourite) on a cold snowy night .The cupboards in the kitchen were labelled which made it super easy looking for something. It really felt like we were staying at a friends cottage, was very warm, inviting & had everything there you needed. Laura was such a pleasure to talk to & help us out along the way to make it perfect..Thanks :) Can't wait to go back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Awww, thanks so much for the kind words. I’m partial to the hot tub & sauna too, lol. We’re so grateful for lovely guests like you and look forward to having ya up here again soon :) -- Laura & the whole cottage crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie1414...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sadly not worth the price at all”
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in July 2017

We were so looking forward to a fabulous family get away, we stayed at the 2nd cottage as the original was not available.
Upon arrival this is what we found...
-not able to use hot tub first night as the guest before us had conatminated it and it had to be drained
-both mats in the large bedroom bathroom smelled of vomit
-broken blinds in the sunroom
-many-many disgusting stains on carpets
-stains on walls
-both sliding door screens torn
-hockey game broken
-not a single pool cue with a tip, many also missing the ends
-broken bed frame
-volley ball net-no volleyball
-crumpled tissue in corner of bedroom with blood on it
When we reported it, the offer was made to come and fix things, we declined as we did not want repairs going on while we were staying there.
The lake was super weedy, not sandy at all. Not ideal for swimming.
All in all a big disappointment,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Hiya Julie - Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review & comments. It’s super important to us to hear the good, the bad and the ugly - though thankfully rarely the latter. Every once and awhile, we have folks up here who are simply not as kind, caring and considerate towards the cottage as most of our guests. Sadly, it was exactly that sort of group who were staying (and damaging!) the cottage immediately before your visit. Our sincerest apologies that you didn’t get to see ‘er in full form! We love being able to share our little piece of Muskoka paradise with others and we feel terrible that those previous guests had such a large impact on your getaway. Thank you for acknowledging that we offered to stay behind to fully remedy these issues and yet, it’s totally understandable that you & yours wanted to get into full vacation mode with no further interruptions. We’ve taken steps to prevent these type of guests from renting our family-owned & loved cottage in the future and, if you ever do consider, we’d love to have you and yours back up to see what she’s really made of :) -- Laura the rest of the cottage posse
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody J
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Cottage was perfect for a getaway. Clean, spacious and room for everyone. They even went the extra mile and brought in a playpen for my daughter. Has all the appliances needed and the games room was so fun!

We will definitely be renting again. Laura was so amazing to book with, very fast response time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Wonderful, Jody! Thanks so much for the kind words & love for the cottage while you were here - very kind of ya. My job is sweetened by lovely people like you! Looking forward to having you and yours back up again soon :) -- Laura & the whole cottage family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maranda V
1 review
“12/10! Incredible vacation.”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was my third time booking a week away at Trenanthia cottage and I had nothing short of an exceptional time. The house has a lot of space and is always kept in pristine condition. You really can't beat the views, privacy, games room and memories. The place has so much character and I can't wait to go back. Communication with Laura is always quick, positive and super helpful! 12/10 rating, no doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R
1 review
“Great time had by all”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The cottage is spacious and beautiful and super cozy. Laura and her team were SO helpful and friendly the entire time I was planning the trip- more helpful than any one of the other dozen people I was emailing about cottages. If you're looking for an affordable cottage getaway with plenty of space and lots to do, look no further!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway!”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cottage is as warm as Laura.. :) Eventhough we didnt meet she is an extremely caring person.The cottage is beautiful.Nothing we felt was missing.The lake view was breathtaking in fall.Would visit here again most definitely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing