We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb and friendly campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb and friendly campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have experienced a few campsites in my time but none as friendly and welcoming as Ian and his family run campsite. Very clean bunkouse accommodation and excellent amenities meant that the 10 of us had a fantastic time. Nothing was too much trouble and the ability to have an open campfire made the weekend as we all sat around it enjoying just chatting and drinking. Thank you Ian for your hopsitality, I am sure we will be visiting again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neildo388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    39
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
76
34
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I organised a corporate team building event based at the Campsite for a team of 13 people. The bunkhouse (Ivy Lodge) was simple but adequate for us, although, you need to be comfortable sharing a room with your work colleagues. We utilised a meeting room in a large barn and it was an unusual be fun place for our team meetings. There was a projector and large screen which worked well and was adequate for our informal discussions. We organised Clay Pigeon shooting (on-site) and Coasteering as team events and they were really excellent and fun. Everybody joined in and thouroughly enjoyed the activities even if some people were a little nervous at first. They also organised a fantastic BBQ with fresh lobsters (alive in the bucket), crabs and fish which was perfect for an evening meal and social event. We had open fires outside the lodge in the evening which was very atmospheric. Cooked breakfasts were delivered to order in the morning and could be eaten inside or outside on the tables provided. The toilets and showers were large and clean and of a good standard. The staff were great and provided an excellent service in a very relaxed manner. They checked with us at all times to ensure we had everything we needed and even gave some of us a lift to a nearby pub! The location is beautiful and there is a lot to do in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location, view and facilities. Unfortunately, noisey fellow campers ruined our evening there so that we actually left early as we planned on staying 2 nights. There are no postings about quiet hours and no one is there to help control the noise from other drunk campers. You can hear them screaming when you are on the coastal path as well, which is close but not that close! Maybe the bunks are nicer than the camping area? It wasn't even busy when we were there on a Thursday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaniesuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bmarsh, Manager at Celtic Camping, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for you feedback Melaniesuzanne, it is very important to us. Firstly can we offer our apologies for any disturbance during your stay at Celtic Camping. I think we are as disappointed as you are that your stay was less than perfect. At the time of your stay we had a number of year 8/9 school groups staying in the bunkhouses on residential activity programmes and just a few campers in the field. I am scratching my head on who it could have been.

I was out on site myself many times during the day and evenings touring on the quad bike....I was actually trying to find the campers that had inadvertently camped in our clay shoot area, but that is another story !

We do not post signs around the site, we are just not one of those sites....

I think the biggest thing is that we are here to help. If there are issues during a stay, we would be delighted to address whatever it is while the client is here when we can make a difference. If a quiet word with the noisy party yourself was not appropriate, we would happily control the situation for you,. If not at the time, certainly the next day....had we known. I was here. It is such a shame that you chose to go early. We would have refunded any fees, but more importantly could have address the problem.

Once again we are very sorry for the disturbance, this is not a regular occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Camped here with a small group of friends and absolutely loved it. The staff were fantastic, incredibly welcoming and couldn't do more for us. The shower and toilet facilities were great, with lots of space in the field to camp where we enjoyed being able to have a campfire. A stunning location; would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 782lauraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed two nights after travelling down from Glasgow for family wedding nearby .The large bunkhouse was perfect as it met all our requirements .Large family group of19 ranging in ages from 86 to 12.The accommodation was clean and the toilet and showers where of a high standard .Very relaxing and friendly .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 251Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby, everyone was so friendly and welcoming, especially Jack the dog! The little bunkhouse was perfect for our needs, clean, tidy and very comfy beds, there was plenty of space so that friends could join us the following evening. Set in stunning views and a cracking breakfast to help with the hangover the next morning, will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the bed and breakfast option whether you're camping or bunkhousing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely place, lovely people, beautiful location, and dog friendly! We WILL be returning! We stayed there after a wedding down the road and then found that you can get married there too, I think we have found our venue..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiDimmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
4.2 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.8 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.8 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caerhys Farm
Caerhys Farm
#1 of 1 in Berea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramsey House
Ramsey House
#2 of 21 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Camping

Property: Celtic Camping
Address: Pwll-Caerog Farm, | St Davids, Berea, St Davids SA62 6DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids > Berea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER OF BEST CAMPSITE - Pembrokeshire Tourism Awards 2013Celtic Camping and bunkhouse accommodation, St Davids, offers flexible bunkhouse & Dormitory accommodation alongside a spacious camp site 500m from the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. Ideally situated on the working farm of Pwll Caerog 4 miles north of St Davids, close to Aberieddy and the blue lagoon and Porthgain in the heart the National park. Celtic Camping is extremely welcoming to individuals, small groups and large groups for camping and or Bunkhouse accommodation. Call today to discuss your holiday booking, education adventure break or even exclusive use of the 250 acre site for large groups either camping or in our private 250 bed dormitory facility. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Celtic Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Camping Berea, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing