We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Fort Nelson BC
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fort Nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Choice”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in many accommodations during our first trip along the Alaska Hwy and the Super 8 in Nelson proved to be the worst thus far. Our first room reeked of cigarette smoke and we demanded a change - to their credit we did receive a prompt change and apology. The next room still had a significant odor but we figured that was going to he expected. The bathroom seed clean but the overpowering smell of bleach made it unusable for the first several hours until the exhaust fan had run while were at dinner. The AC did not work and the wall unit made a loud noise
Without actually providing any cooling - we were awakened several times throughout the night due to this. Overall - I'd search or another hotel if you're forced to stay in Ft. Nelson; I DO NOT recommend staying at the Super 8.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z5776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsuper8FortNelson, Operation Manager at Super 8 Fort Nelson BC, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

I am truly sorry for your recent stay at the Brand of Super 8, We did our best to make you happy by giving you the free night when you stayed that night. We have reviewed our procedures and made appropriate changes to prevent this from occurring in the future.
I am so sorry for the inconvenience.

With Appriciation,

Lilia Agu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    81
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
64
48
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Super 8 is not a very good choice in the US but we still decided to try this because of the pool! We're glad we did! Everything is updated. Very clean, comfy beds, wifi worked, AC worked fine, easy check in/check out, laundry facilities, well-maintained pool/pool area, friendly staff. Only wish is to have a bigger to go coffeecup. Lol.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Cab0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After 12 hours of driving, we arrived at the Super 8 in Ft. Nelson. Our room was clean and everything worked. The breakfast was a combination of hot food and cold items, but was mediocre at best. The scrambled eggs were not good. The orange juice had run out, and was not replenished. The killer was the high price. $160/night for a very basic hotel in the barely-there town of Ft. Nelson? Sorry, poor value. Next trip to the Yukon/Alaska we'll splurge on the ferry and skip the lousy accommodations and worse food all along the Alaska Highway. I've driven the route many times, and in 2013, the entire highway sucked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johngenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed here in September and found the place clean, the staff friendly and had a good stay. It appears that the management or ownership has changed. The cleanliness has suffered as has staff attitude. Coming off the road we had garbage in our car. The cans outside were full and I told the desk clerk about it. The next morning they were still full. People were sitting outside smoking and drinking beer where you pull up to register. Not the best impression for arriving guests. The bright spot is the pool and water slide, but the drywall is cracking and looks unkept.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We booked this specific hotel because it had a pool and it was a nice break in our long trip to Alaska. However when we arrived the pool was closed for maintenance and had been for over a week. Had we been made aware of this prior to our arrival we would have saved the extra money we spent to have a pool and gone down the road to the Ramada!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mndyj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsuper8FortNelson, Operation Manager at Super 8 Fort Nelson BC, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your unpleasant experience as a guest of the Brand of Super 8. I appreciate the time that you took to bring this matter to our attention. I assure you that the matter will be looked into. For your inconvenience I am offering you a free night stay on your next visit to our Brand.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for your unpleasant stay and any inconvenience we may have caused you.

Sincerely,

Lilia Agu

Operation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had a confirmed reservation (C#: 55607235 ) at this hotel for the night but when we arrived at the hotel (after a full day of driving from Dawson Creek) the hotel did not have our reservation - they decided to block all on-line reservations from Wyndham, Rewards (their official reservation system) because they are full; The hotel did not make any effort to assist us in finding an alternative accommodation, and the nearest place on our is 525 km away (Watson Lake); the front desk claimed that the reservation system is selling rooms day after day that are not available and 3-6 customers are caught in our situation every day - and management is doing nothing about it. Stay away from this hotel and avoid the Wyndham reservation system.

Room Tip: Avoid Staying at this hotel - they do not care about their customers because they have people workin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsuper8FortNelson, Operation Manager at Super 8 Fort Nelson BC, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Please accept my sincere apology regarding your recent stay at the Brand of Super 8. Sir/Madam, what you experienced is not the standard we strive to uphold. I am offering a free nigh stay for you and your family at our facility. I assure you that we will provide you and your family with our very best on your return visit.

Respectfully yours,

Lilia Agu
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I was here during spring breakup so conditions might be crazier during the winter work frenzy that happens in this area. Great value. Clean and comfortable rooms with great staff. Rooms are large and look new. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Stay on side away from main drag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaBushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Inn & Suites
Woodlands Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Fort Nelson
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Inns & Suites Fort Nelson
0.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Fort Nelson
Ramada Limited Fort Nelson
#4 of 10 in Fort Nelson
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Inn and Suites
Sunrise Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Fort Nelson
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Nelson Hotel
Fort Nelson Hotel
#8 of 10 in Fort Nelson
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 - Fort Nelson
Motel 6 - Fort Nelson
#6 of 10 in Fort Nelson
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fort Nelson BC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fort Nelson BC

Property: Super 8 Fort Nelson BC
Address: 4503 50th Avenue South, Fort Nelson, British Columbia VOC 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Fort Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fort Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fort Nelson BC 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Fort Nelson BC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Fort Nelson
Super 8 Fort Nelson
Fort Nelson Super 8
Fort Nelson Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing