We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant stay - summer of 2011”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coyote's Den Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We paid $135 for the night, very good value for the area-- Lake Louise, only half an hour away, had hotels rooms starting around $200 range. If you require room service, TV, internet, pools, etc., stay in Lake Louise. For everyone else, I highly recommend this B&B in Field.
The hostess, Elaine, speaks both English and French and is quite friendly. After we walked around Field and visited a cemetery up the road, Elaine was able to answer our questions about local history.
The living room had lots of books with gorgeous nature photography and magazines.
Shared bathroom, which we didn't mind. I asked some very nice Danish guests in Elaine's kitchen, if they needed the bathroom before I had my bath.
Healthy and tasty breakfast-- different kinds of cheese, for example. The very good and fun Truffle Pig is is a few minutes on foot. Cherchez La Vache no longer exists, there's a coffee shop there now.
Bedrooms are smallish (we're used to this), but very pretty and cozy. No TV in the rooms, which was fine by us. I didn't hear any trains at night, but maybe the comfy bed and the mountain air put me in a deep sleep!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viviane2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I decided to stay in Field rather than Lake Louise and it was the best decision we ever made. Field is a very small town and finding our B&B was very easy. Our hostess was very friendly and knowledgeable and breakfast was ready for us when we got up in the mornings. The Room was clean and bright and spacious. The bathroom looked updated with a huge soaker tub! This is a great place as a platform to visit other locations nearby. We highly recommend this B&B and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Very quiet and peaceful setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in June, 2011 for a day trip to Lake O'Hara.

Elaine was warm, welcoming and a lovely host. She made us a delicious breakfast, and is very accommodating with regards to timing (we had an early shuttle booked to Lake O'Hara, and this was no problem at all for her). The guests have free range of the kitchen, which is excellent when staying in such a tiny town as Field with limited dining options.

I found the house itself a little odd, with the strange coloured carpets that weren't laid properly, and the bath with the hand held showerhead (i.e. it sits at bath level, so you either sit under the showerhead or put it back in the holder while you stand up and soap/shampoo yourself etc). Also the light switch covers were a little kooky! (not in a bad way at all, just interesting). The bed was fairly uncomfortable, and the walls very thin. So not a lot of privacy, given the shared bathroom.

A fair place to stay, but every second house in Field seems to be a B&B, so I probably would just stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenzen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

As you probably have discovered, prices rise with the elevation along the Trans Canada. Lodging is cheaper in Golden than it is in Field. Field is a really tiny town with a cafe/mini grocery and a pricey restaurant. It has one hotel, a highly-rated hostel (Fireweed) and a number of B&Bs. The Coyote's Den is a few blocks up from the busy railway tracks. This allows for great views, and quieter times. It's a five minute walk down to the cafe, just to give you an idea.

You really don't need any time to explore Field, but it is very close to Yoho and some great hiking. That said, we attended the weekly historical society walk about town and it was wonderful. The volunteer pointed out the various buildings that are part of the town's history and really helped us to appreciate it.

Ok, onto the B&B. As you know, the Coyote's Den website is limited. The photo there does not do it justice and it doesn't go into too much detail. I made arrangements on the phone with Elaine. We also exchanged emails and she was very responsive. She's warm, friendly, professional and fun.

The charge when we were there was $125 per night per room. We needed 2 rooms as we have 2 kids--we could not find accommodation that would fit the 4 of us in one room (the hostel was booked.) The $125 per night included breakfast. She told us that the breakfast was continental and I expected a plastic-wrapped muffin and the usual so-so fare. It was soooo much better than that.

She has excellent coffee, teas, plenty of orange juice. High quality yogurt, fresh fruit like melons, cherries, blueberries, which were in season when we were there, a homemade healthy nut/fruit loaf, corn flakes and a nice granola, toast, hot croissants and jam, a cheese plate. Get the picture? It's nice. A cut above. All in her lovely kitchen with views of the mountains that surround Field. I suppose you could cook up your own egg or make porridge if you wanted to.

Her living room and kitchen are open to guests all the time are and most welcoming. I cozied up on the sofa and felt so relaxed and at peace. There was plenty of room in these public spaces to hang out. She has lots of cookbooks, guidebooks, magazines and so on. Elaine uses her downstairs and the guests basically have the run of the upstairs. The decor is lodge-like with lots of wood, and not overdone. Not cutesy, very tasteful.

There are 3 guest rooms along a short hallway. Note: everyone shares the same bathroom (toilet, sink, large soaker tub with hand-held shower). This would be the one and only downside to Coyote's Den. If you're ok with sharing and you have agreeable people to share with, it's really not an issue. One night we did (have great housemates)--and we asked each other if it was ok to take a shower now, etc. On the second night, one of the people hogged the bathroom and was kind of selfish about it. We took a nice bath hot bath and I washed down the tub after for the next guest. Elaine gave me supplies. She provides family-size soaps and shampoo.

The rooms themselves were ok-sized--with plenty of room around the beds and a dresser, but not huge. They also have a closet. Linens were high quality and the bed was perfect with reading lights on both sides. This was a very comfortable place to stay.

We packed up for a backpacking trip in Elaine's living room. She gave us warm encouragement and never made us feel awkward about spreading our stuff out all over the place. We, and another couple, cooked dinner in her kitchen. Elaine has everything you could possibly need for cooking; just make sure to bring your food as Field doesn't have a big grocery store.

There's wifi (ask for the password) though it was in and out while we were there. Not her fault; the supplier was having issues. She also has a big TV and plenty of parking.

In summary, I strongly recommend the Coyote's Den B&B if you're ok with sharing a bathroom. Everything about this B&B is topnotch.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
4  Thank WugMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Wow! My husbad and I stated at Coyotes Den Guesthouse on vacation. It was the best part of the whole trip!! The hosts were the most niceest people you will ever meet! Elaine the main host is so nice! She is a great cook! Her breakasts were amazing! Tegan, the other host, was so very friendly and so easy to talk to and get to know! Both hosts were so helpful on where we should go and what should we do. The one downfall is the shared bathroom, but it's so big it makes up for it! I love the feel of comfort there, the living rookie so cozy and so are the rooms! I would definitly recomend it to everyone!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helpin-HAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This B&B was fantastic - really nice kitchen and living area, great breakfast, and Elaine is a superb host. You won't get too much privacy here (there is a shared bathroom and the walls between the three bedrooms aren't fully soundproof!) but we didn't mind at all. We would stay again!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PamT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michèle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
21.8 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
13.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,442 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
75 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
0 mi away
Yoho Guesthouse
Yoho Guesthouse
#5 of 6 in Field
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote's Den Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote's Den Guesthouse

Address: 213 2nd Avenue | Box 136, Field,, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Coyote's Den Guesthouse Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing