We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote's Den Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coyote's Den Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Coyotes den is a lovely little B&B, Elaine is a wonderful host and makes you feel so welcome, she is a fountain of knowledge about the area and provides delicious breakfasts. \\\\\\\\\\\\\\elaine is also happy to lend detailed hiking maps and bear spray! The bed was comfy, lovely garedn and patio, you can self cater if you wish or nip down to Truffle pigs for a drink and a bite (we self catered). make sure you stock up before you arrive in Field as it really is a small village with no grocery shops to speak of, the small shop at the cafe sells a few bits but not much.
We loved our stay here and can't recommend it highly enough. Wonderfully peaceful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Coyote's Den had the feel of a homey cabin in the Rockies and Elaine was a most welcoming and gracious hostess. Our room, although small, was warm and comfortable while co-ordinating the use of the common bathroom worked very well as everyone was respectful of each other. We were fortunate to share the perfect "hiker's" breakfast, a selection of fresh healthy foods and warm croissants from the oven, with other guests from Belgium and Connecticut. It made for delightful conversation around the large kitchen table and a pleasant start to the day. Many thanks for the helpful advice about hiking and about hiking trails in Yoho, Elaine. One of the reasons we chose Elaine's home was because it was the only B&B in Field, there are several boarding houses. It offered very good value in a quaint little community that has few restaurant options. We find it hard to resist the mountains so we will be back and if there is a room at the Coyote's Den we would be happy to stay with Elaine again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wageni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here at the end of June. Unlike some B&B's, it is on the main floor of the house so that you do not wake to footsteps overhead. Our room was small but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. The house is far enough away from the tracks that you can sleep with the window open. The single bathroom is shared and there is a tub with a hand shower - no full shower. We prefer a private bath, but sharing the bath was much less of an issue than we thought it would be. The large living room, dining area and kitchen are all available for guests' use. Breakfast is generous and delicious. Along with bread, jams, cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit, we had a lovely quiche one morning and fresh baked croissants the next morning. Elaine is a charming and friendly host without being intrusive. She has lived in the area for many years and she is a great source of information. This is one of the most reasonable B&Bs in the area and I would stay here again. Elaine does ask for a minimum 2 nights booking but she will book a single night if there is one available so always ask. She is very prompt at replying to emails.

Room Tip: Although the larger room is connected to the bath, the rooms across the hall face away from the trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharine_220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is one of the more affordable B & Bs in Field, and is definitely a much more economic option than staying in Lake Louise. Overall our stay here was pretty good. Elaine was friendly and easy going, and made us a fantastic quiche in the morning. We also appreciated having a little access to the kitchen to heat up some leftovers.

The room was clean but pretty small, and had a sloping ceiling and wood panelling that made it feel even smaller. There was also only one bathroom between three guest rooms, which can amount to one bathroom between six people if there are other couples staying. Also be advised that the bathroom has a clawfoot tub with a hand sprayer rather than a normal shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was an absolute gem of a find and i booked it after reading reviews on Tripadvisor.
Field is a very pretty, quaint small town a short ride from Lake Louise which is probably the biggest attraction in the area.
Don't stay in Lake Louise in the big hotels, treat yourself to B&B heaven with a welcoming host Elaine.
Elaine works for the National Parks as a daytime job, and her home doubles as a B&B. Basically guests have the run of the ground floor, whilst Elaine lives in the basement when she has guests.
There are 3 bedrooms, one is a large bedroom with direct access to the shared bathroom, whilst the other two bedrooms are smaller accross the corridor. We were fortunate enough to have the larger bedroom for our two night stay, and we were the sole guests on the first night.
It's just like being at home, you have a living room with TV, numerous books to read along with Elaine's extensive knowledge of the parks. Use the kitchen if you want to cook your own food, no problem.
If you look closely at some of the other B&B's the basements have been converted for guests, whilst the owner's live in the main part of the house. Not here, you get the ground floor with views over Field, mountains etc. You come first.
It's a B&B so you get breakfast. This set us up for the day's hiking on our first morning.
Cereals, Coffee, Orange Juice, Croissants, Toast, Various Jams, Peanut butter, Meats, Cheeses, Fresh Fruit, Boiled Eggs. Fresh, tasty and much better than a lot of hotels i have stayed in.
When we stayed it was still dark when we started breakfast, as we ate you could watch the mountains appear in the distance as the dawn broke.
Its in a great location just behind a white church towards the back of the town.
Its quaint, its quirky, and the host is adorable, just like going home to stay with mum.

Another big advantage in staying in Field is the local restaurant called "Truffle Pigs", treat yourself to this as well,
Emerald Lake and Takkakaw Falls are nearby and well worth a visit for a few hours.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, the best room is the one attached to the bathroom, its much bigger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oggy7224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We chose the Coyote's Den Guesthouse from reading Trip Advisor and it lived up to the reviews. Elaine is a fabulous host as she made us, and all her other guests, feel very welcome. A very relaxing and sociable log cabin home. Elaine is very knowledgable about local hikes and the surrounding national parks - she gave us invaluable advice which improved our holiday. All guests are welcome cook in her kitchen, where breakfast was also served, so you need to be sociable while staying here. We met some lovely people - fellow guests and Elaine's friends and neighbours, We had a good-size double room (for 3 nights) with spectacular views across the valley. All rooms share a common bathroom but that was fine with us. We would love to return to Field someday and stay with Elaine again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had booked for two nights at the Coyote’s Den with my husband in June 2013 but we ended up staying three nights as we couldn’t get to Canmore because of the floods. I must say that if you are going to get stuck anywhere, Field (and the Coyote’s Den) is not a bad place to be.

The B&B has three bedrooms, access to the kitchen and living room and a shared bathroom; the owner lives downstairs and there is a very homely feel. Breakfasts were good – cereal, fruit, croissants etc.

We had the king size room which was very cosy and nicely decorated and had views across Field.

Field is a really good option for visiting Banff and Yoho national Parks, and Lake Louise as it’s much cheaper and has loads more character than Lake Louise village.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
13.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
12.1 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
2.9 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote's Den Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote's Den Guesthouse

Property: Coyote's Den Guesthouse
Address: 213 2nd Avenue | Box 136, Field,, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Coyote's Den Guesthouse Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing