We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited the Lake, a great find.”
Review of Emerald Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Lake Lodge
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Visited the Lake, a great find.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Emerald Lake was beautiful. Accidently took a wrong turn to Fields, when we were wanting to go
to the Ice Fields. What a great surprise to find this beautiful place. You can walk along the shoreline. And the lodging looked wonderful. Want to return and try this place.

Room Tip: NIce place to visit even if you don't lodge there.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RatingsfromMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    460
    251
    154
    77
See reviews for
367
1,043
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at the lounge right next to the reception desk. The food and wine were fantastic. We shared the seared scallops to start, the caribou medallions and elk striploin and it was all very good. The location is very beautiful of course and the rooms were quite lovely with a wood burning fireplace. The only thing I would change is the sprayer in the sink seems to just go in every direction and it was hard to wash your hands and face. As well the mattresses were not very comfortable at all, and considering the price of the room and food, location etc. I would think they'd invest in some proper beds. So we had sore backs the next day but all in all, other than that it was really quite lovely. The staff was very friendly and helpful and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyabesdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, however we are sorry to hear you found your mattress to be uncomfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Beautiful scenery, plenty of outdoor activities, and quiet at night. Everyone leaves this area after five unless you are staying here to make for a quiet evening. The rooms are rustic but clean and they all have a real fireplace to enjoy. The restaurant was good and all the people there were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Perched by an emerald green lake, surrounded by spectacular mountains, this is a stunning location with strenuous & easy hiking options from your cabin door. We were a bit concerned by some of the negative reviews here but found the service friendly and helpful, loved the room & the food was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrouchEndTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights and found the lodge quite comfortable. The lake and the hikes we took were the stars of the time we spent there. The setting is so beautiful it's hard to find fault with the lodge. Having stayed at Moraine Lake Lodge for 3 nights before we arrived at Emerald Lake probably spoiled us. The room, bed and views were excellent. We had one breakfast and one dinner at the lodge restaurant and found them quite nice. We liked the rustic nature of the lodge. The wifi in the main lodge was sketchy and none in the rooms or cabins. We did have quite a bit of footstep noise from the room above us so had I been aware of that possibility I would have asked for an upper room.

Room Tip: Upstairs probably would have been quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phylly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very disappointing esp. given some of the positive reviews. The setting is stunning, the lodge and rooms however are quite shabby. For the cost per room, it was very dated, the carpet was lifting and the room hot and stuffy.Without air conditioning they should have ceiling fans. no wifi in the rooms and spotty in the lodge. I would suggest going to the lake as a tourist for the day to boat or hike and finding accomodation elsewhere.

Staff also seemed indifferent to our presence. The lodge and rooms are listed as non-smoking, however, there was an ashtray on our balcony. The room is supposed to overlook the lake, however, it only looked upon the roofs of the cabins below.

We were booked for two nights but cancelled the second, adding an extra night to our next stop in Revelstoke (which was wonderful at half the price).

Room Tip: Don't....come for the day and stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. I can assure you we are continually working on upgrading our guests rooms. As for the issues with staff, I assure you that is not the standard for service we strive for.
If you would like to discuss any of these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Emerald Lake Lodge Manager - ellmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronx
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Emerald Lake is stunning, deep blue-green, iridescent, framed by dramatic jagged, evergreen-shrouded peaks. Lots of tourists, but thankfully they tend to stay at the entry to the hotel, which is sited on a peninsula accessed across a narrow wooden bridge. The lodge is made up of a central building, charmingly woody with a wraparound porch, lobby, sitting rooms and restaurants, and about 25 cabins, most with four rooms in each.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, with ample, simple bathrooms, a nice wood burning fireplace, and a porch. Ours overlooked the lake - a more serene, scenic place you could not ask for. The service was excellent, with knowledgeable desk staff.

We ate lunch at the informal grille at the entrance to the resort - it was busy and the staff was distracted. Our dinners and breakfasts at the main lodge were better - the food was great as was the service. Though all the food was extremely expensive; the bite was lessened for us as we came to realize how difficult it is to get foodstuffs there, trucked in from Banff a few hours away.

Room Tip: facing the lake!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
15.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
14.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
15.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
21.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Lake Lodge

Property: Emerald Lake Lodge
Address: Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Lake Hotel Field
Emerald Lake Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing