We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable guest house”
Review of Yoho Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoho Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in the lower level 1-bedroom suite. Although it's partially below ground, there is a window in every room except the bathroom, so it still seems bright and cheerful. The kitchen has a good selection of pots, pans and other cookware, coffee, sugar, and even some containers for storing leftovers, and a full-size refrigerator and range. The bed was comfortable, shower worked well, and there's plenty of closet space. With wi-fi and a tv, it was like a home away from home. The location is convenient for visits to Emerald Lake, Lake Louise, Golden, and the northern part of Kootenay National Park. Do plan on bringing most of your groceries with you, since there are only two places in Field with a VERY limited selection of items. The only thing we had to buy when we arrived was milk, and there was a pretty big price difference between the two stores (Siding Cafe and Yoho Brothers).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the 1-bedroom suite in the lower level. It was perfect. The suite was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a good shower and the kitchen was stocked with the basics like coffee, tea, salt and pepper, sugar and oil and dish detergent. It offered us the option of cooking all our meals.

It also has wi-fi which was great!

Based on other reviews we took their advice and stopped at a supermarket in Calgary on our way from the airport into Field. The closest supermarket is in Golden about 60 km west of Field which really isn't that far - we went there one afternoon to pick up some extra supplies.

The location is perfect for exploring Yoho National Park and is close to Emerald Lake, Lake O'Hara and only about 15 minutes to Lake Louise. The visitor's centre is right off the highway at the entrance into town which is terrific for getting trail maps etc.

Ron was great to deal with. We highly recommend Yoho Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have stayed twice now at Yoho Accommodation. Both times, we booked the 2 connecting units for our group of 4 which allowed bit more privacy than many of the 2 bedrooms/1 bathroom units in the area. The upstairs unit is a bit larger and has comfortable beds (1 queen and 1 single). The kitchen allows to cook a full meal - but like another review said, make sure you bring your food in before arriving in Field as the choice is limited at the general store. The basement unit is a bit smaller, but very adequate for a couple, with a smaller but also complete kitchen. The place is clean and provides some basic stock such as coffee, tea, sugar, salt, pepper, oil, etc. It also has WIFI access which is great.
Huguette & David, Calgary
Ron and Hélène are great hosts. While they live next door, they respect your privacy and you hardly notice that they are there except if you need anything.

This is indeed a wonderful option to some of those expensive hotels, motels in Banff and Lake Louise. Yet Field is 27 km away from Lalke Louise and close to many of the popular tourist sites. Field also offers a great restaurant, the Truffle Pig - so if cooking is not your thing, you have options. I highly recommend Yoho GUesthouse and we will be back there for sure on our next trip to the Rockies. Thanks Ron & Hélène.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernmonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in the larger suite, while on our way to Jasper. The suite is clean and comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen, cosy lounge and good sized bedroom with a decent bed. A small patio backs off the lounge, no views but a nice relaxing space. The guesthouse is located within walking distance of the few shops, restaurant and many walking trails, since Field is a small place. The owner was friendly and welcoming, and the suite has satellite tv and wireless Internet, also quite a lot of informational books about the area. Considering the price, we thought this much more worthwhile than taking a bed and breakfast, though be warned to stock up on food before you get to Field as there is only a very limited grocery store. Field is a lovely small town close to all the great sights in Yoho and Lake Louise, and staying at this Guesthouse made our stay comfortable and flexible.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MippyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in late September. The lower suite was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot! We could prepare our own breakfast, pack a lunch for the trail and eat a simple dinner in the evening if we chose to. We were minutes away from the Lake O'Hara bus and the Spiral Tunnels. Ron was very helpful and friendly. We took Ron's advice and made sure we had groceries before coming to Field. This was a perfect location for our hiking trips and we would recommend this to our fellow hikers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radjhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here in July 2010 and it was great! We stayed in the one bedroom on the lower level and it was nice to have a kitchen and living room. The place was clean, nice furniture in the bedroom. Pictures on their website are a true representation of the place. It has satellite TV with many channels but with all the natural surroundings we didn't really use it. This was a quiet and nice place to stay. Close to all of the major highlights of the area. Our two night stay wasn't enough!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daisyclv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at Yoho Guest House for eight nights in Field, right in the centre of Yoho National Park. Ron was a very good host and pulled out all stops to try and ensure that we could have wireless internet access which was not initially working in our upstairs unit. The unit was spacious and had all the cooking facilities which was very useful as we cooked our own meals most nights. We sampled the Truffle Pig and The Siding restaurants which were both very good. The location is an excellent base for exploring Yoho NP and is close to Lake Louise, Emerald Lake, Lake O'Hara, the Spiral Tunnels, Taccacaw Falls etc. We did lots of hikes in the Park and had fantastic weather. Field is a very interesting town and we went on the free Monday night historic tour of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
0 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,442 reviews
0 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0 mi away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,125 reviews
0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoho Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho Guesthouse

Address: Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range: £135 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yoho Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho Guesthouse Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing